Risk Placement Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Risk Placement Services Reviews

Updated Aug 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 55 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Joel Cavaness
22 Ratings
Pros
  • "RPS will always invest in employees who want to better themselves(in 6 reviews)

  • "They allow a work from home day during the week(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 3 reviews)

  • "No growth, no raises, not enough staff, no training, system slow and freezes, no moral, employees are unhappy and dissatisfied(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriter 

    I have been working at Risk Placement Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    100% work from home opportunity, great team atmosphere

    Cons

    No Cons to report at this time

    Advice to Management

    I don't have any advise to management at this time.

    Risk Placement Services2019-08-17
  2. "Accounting moving to India"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Accounts Payable Specialist in Rolling Meadows, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Risk Placement Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Not Micro-managed Flexible hours Work from home benefits

    Cons

    Company does not care about its employees

    Advice to Management

    Profit before people not good work ethics

    Risk Placement Services2019-08-06
  3. "Looks good from far but internal strife in middle management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Risk Placement Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The salary was good here. Not enough to stay.

    Cons

    Little to no training, inexperienced or ineffective management or lack of buy in from management at profit centers, unfulfilled promises from hiring manager, unclear goals, no measurements, lack of communication, competing against your own company. Benefits were less than stellar

    Advice to Management

    Restructure to a more team oriented atmosphere. With ownership of goals.

    Risk Placement Services2019-06-03
  4. "Former employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Applications Specialist in Roswell, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Risk Placement Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Allows 100% work from home. Provides anything you need to set up the home office.

    Cons

    Way too much politics. I felt like.

    Risk Placement Services2019-03-29
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Looking to leave, as most of us are"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriter in Lexington-Fayette, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Risk Placement Services full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    the coworkers are pretty nice

    Cons

    management, direction, pay, lack of leadership, favoritism, unprofessional language

    Risk Placement Services2019-02-10
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Underwriting Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Risk Placement Services full-time

    Pros

    Caring and kind management, flexible

    Cons

    Low salaries for high stress job

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiding colleges graduates and sending them up the ladder who leave after a couple years and promote the long term experienced employees who are more than capable.

    Risk Placement Services2018-12-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Room for growth, greta compensation, great leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Broker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Risk Placement Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    SO much opportunity for growth, movement, and $$$

    Cons

    There must be a commitment to your work and you have to be willing to work late some nights

    Risk Placement Services2018-12-10
  8. "Commercial Underwriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Risk Placement Services full-time

    Pros

    Compensation, flexibility and markets available

    Cons

    Too much competition within the company

    Risk Placement Services2018-12-04
  9. "Great Culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Commercial Underwriter in Fort Lauderdale, FL

    I have been working at Risk Placement Services full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great culture. Worldwide presence. Recognized for it's ethics.

    Cons

    Corporate grown pains sometimes hinders ideas

    Risk Placement Services2018-08-21
  10. "General Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Risk Placement Services part-time

    Pros

    RPS has fantastic communication with employees and provides a well-rounded internship program for young professionals looking to enter the insurance industry.

    Cons

    Cant think of many Cons since I only worked here for two months. I do wish there were more RPS offices in the northeast as headquarters is in Chicago, though these are minuscule complaints.

    Advice to Management

    I am in no position to give any advice to management. The employee portal is extremely easy to use when logging hours worked, and deposits into bank acct is very easy.

    Risk Placement Services2018-08-16
Found 55 reviews