Ritz-Carlton Concierge Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Concierge

Ritz-Carlton Concierge Reviews

Updated Aug 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
54%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Ritz-Carlton President and COO Hervé Humler
Hervé Humler
25 Ratings
  1. "Concierge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Concierge in Tysons Corner, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ritz-Carlton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to start a career in hospitality.

    Cons

    Advancement can be very political

    Advice to Management

    None

    Ritz-Carlton2018-01-17
  2. "Good People - Not the best job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Concierge 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ritz-Carlton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people that you work with are amazing and most guest are really great.

    Cons

    -Pay not the best - Stingy tippers - Inconsistent scheduling - Management does not care about you (You are a number to them)

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees well and actually listen to the employee promise

    Ritz-Carlton2019-08-12
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Reached my dream just to have it crushed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Event Concierge in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ritz-Carlton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Felt like family from day one. Regardless which property I worked at consistency in policies and procedures was for the most part seamless.

    Cons

    Promotion from within is lacking or it takes jumping through a bunch of hoops and getting past a lot of hurdles to break through the supervisor to manager ceiling. I was overlooked for a management position 4 times even though I was basically already performing all of the duties of the role! Leadership isn’t always transparent about the goings-on at the property but that (like any hotel) depends on the management style of the leadership.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop overlooking qualified and eligible current employees for open opportunities. Enliven the Employee Promise and put a little more trust in your current staff and help develop those that want to grow.

    Ritz-Carlton2019-05-11
  4. "Wonderful Stepping Stone Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SPA Concierge in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ritz-Carlton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great connections with employees and guests, spa perks, awesome travel employee rates, Free lunch or dinner on shift, fun environment to work in

    Cons

    I really can't think of anything

    Ritz-Carlton2019-04-09
  5. "Great company, not the 5 star service of old, though"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Club Concierge 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ritz-Carlton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The reputation is second to none. Having a successful run at the Ritz will definitely help to further anyones career.

    Cons

    Despite company values - the place is run by getting very few people to do a lot of work with little to no guidance. Standards were, imo, in practice very low compared to what they prepare you for in training

    Advice to Management

    I just think the standards overall have to be raised. Management was so overworked they were barely involved or not able to participate. Staff was happy to take advantage of all the freedom, not to the companys benefit. "Good enough" shouldn't be good enough for the Ritz-Carlton. The best thing you have going for you is you generally hire very good people, but even with that since most of the staff is flying by the seat of their pants, it inevitably reduced the overall guest experience, imo.

    Show More
    Ritz-Carlton2019-02-14
  6. "Good Company! Fun place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Club Concierge in Avon, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ritz-Carlton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits... working at a resort property you get to travel to and work for other locations during off season which is a pretty cool benefit. Good pay!

    Cons

    High stress, high turnover of employees at Bachelor Gulch property...

    Advice to Management

    When making changes, let the employees get use to the changes and work kinks out before going in another direction immediately....

    Ritz-Carlton2018-08-01
  7. "Ritz Concierge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Concierge in Philadelphia, PA

    I have been working at Ritz-Carlton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, competitive salary, freedom to make decisions on your own.

    Cons

    Irregular work hours, no holidays off

    Ritz-Carlton2018-01-18
  8. "Amazing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Club Concierge in Naples, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ritz-Carlton for more than a year

    Pros

    Caring supervisors and managers who want to see you grow and succeed

    Cons

    None, I loved working for them!

    Advice to Management

    None! They're great!

    Ritz-Carlton2017-09-26
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Too Many Sheeple Leading the People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Concierge in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ritz-Carlton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits such as medical, vision, and dental. Hourly positions tend to be flexible. Strong culture. Looks good on resume.

    Cons

    Hotel benefits are good if you can travel, but if you are a manager, there isn't much traveling or vacation time. Traveling for business kind of sucks too, because you are stuck working instead of relaxing. The corporate culture is to take care of everyone, however, politics and friendships take priority over this. The company will fire you because of political incorrectness. The company is slimming down the workforce and it is cause the employees to be stretched thin. Personalized service goes away when they are understaffed.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be nicer to the people who have the talent of engaging with guests. The employees who are good with people should have a chance to move up in the company. If an employee is great with the guests, there should be more incentives. There is nothing more frustrating than not promoting an individual who has a talent for people. Since the merger, everything has been watered down. The RC and other luxury brands are becoming one in the same. Don't terminate the good peoplebecause of the bad people. They are like cockroaches who will always stink up the place and never leave.

    Show More
    Ritz-Carlton2017-09-12
  10. "Not for me personally but some enjoy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SPA Concierge in Laguna Niguel, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ritz-Carlton part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful locations and fancy atmosphere

    Cons

    Lower-level management was so-so and not supportive.

    Advice to Management

    Be more professional and understanding of employees

    Ritz-Carlton2017-07-11
Found 51 reviews