Ritz-Carlton Server Reviews | Glassdoor

Ritz-Carlton Server Reviews

Updated Dec 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Ritz-Carlton President and COO Hervé Humler
Hervé Humler
29 Ratings
  1. "High expectations with rewarding benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Bartender in Marana, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ritz-Carlton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company credo is positive and encourages enthusiasm. There are many opportunities to grow and travel within the company.

    Cons

    Employees are expected to pull long hours with few, if any, days off during peak seasons. The location I worked wasn’t the highest paying compared to other serving/bartending jobs in the area.

    Advice to Management

    Consider asking the staff if they want to continue pooling the tips, and offering to let them take their tips home at the end of each day rather than on the biweekly paycheck.

    Ritz-Carlton2019-12-10
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Server/Waiter in Greensboro, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ritz-Carlton part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good money, cool people, nice place

    Cons

    Management not on the same page

    Ritz-Carlton2019-10-09
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - In Room Dining Server in Rancho Mirage, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ritz-Carlton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun people to work with. Interesting guest interactions on a daily basis. Consistent work to be done.

    Cons

    The work schedule is very inconsistent. The workload is either extremely difficult and exhausting or dead very little middle ground.

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees with genuine care and respect and the results will be amazing

    Ritz-Carlton2019-09-05
  4. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Bartender in Naples, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ritz-Carlton part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for! They treat you will, and training is very good.

    Cons

    Not many cons, only one I can think of is people served. But that comes with every job.

    Ritz-Carlton2019-07-10
  5. "..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Food Server 

    I have been working at Ritz-Carlton full-time

    Pros

    In Ritz Carlton we are ladies and gentlemen taking care of ladies and gentlemen, it’s a solid company and we learn new things everyday.

    Cons

    There is not downsides, but the servers job requires to be on your feet 8 or more hours a day

    Ritz-Carlton2019-06-12
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Unorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Ritz-Carlton part-time

    Pros

    great money and the ability to go above and beyond for guests

    Cons

    poor management on all levels

    Ritz-Carlton2019-07-12
  7. "Low Wages - Poor Management - Ritz Has Lost It's Way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Bartender in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ritz-Carlton full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Started in 2008 when they maintained the employee promise. Great company with employee and customer focus.... things have changed

    Cons

    They promote from within - management doesn't know how to manage. Wages for Charlotte were $4.32. Not livable - even after 10 years of employment. RC Charlotte is owned by BofA and they do not care about their employees - only their bottom line.

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees with respect, and provide them with a livable income.

    Ritz-Carlton2019-06-06
  8. "Great Professional Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ritz-Carlton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The potential to grow is exponential. You are a part of a team who strives to perform their best for themselves and their guests.

    Cons

    There are no cons. You can only thrive at this company.

    Advice to Management

    Continue being passionate about the development of your team

    Ritz-Carlton2019-04-15
  9. "Best Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Amelia Island, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ritz-Carlton part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best customers, great tips, Free food

    Cons

    working weekends and on Holidays

    Ritz-Carlton2019-04-12
  10. "A lot to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server 

    I worked at Ritz-Carlton full-time

    Pros

    I enjoyed the standards to keep the business running to a luxury/high quality level. Keeping guest happy and being empowered as a team member to make memorable experiences was always amazing.

    Cons

    Do your job and you will succeed

    Ritz-Carlton2019-03-09
Found 70 reviews