River City Casino Reviews | Glassdoor

River City Casino Reviews

Updated May 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Anthony Sanfilippo
18 Ratings
  1. "Security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at River City Casino full-time

    Pros

    Have some of the best people to work with and always an opportunity to advance in job

    Cons

    The benefits are not all that great

    River City Casino2018-06-20
  2. "Awesome environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Players Club Representative in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at River City Casino full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best coworkers anywhere, competitive wages

    Cons

    Not many other usual downsides of casino life. Late nights, holidays etc...

    River City Casino2019-05-12
  3. "Yes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at River City Casino full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits are better than most

    Cons

    Nothing to say here yet

    River City Casino2019-03-26
  4. "Company cares more about themselves than employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Slot Attendant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at River City Casino full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Potential for high income. Medical benefits were above average.

    Cons

    Every tiny thing you do is scrutinized. Employees who get promotions tend to let power go to their head. If you don't follow micromanagement rules, they will find a way to fire you.

    Advice to Management

    Treat the employees with more respect and stop micromanaging.

    River City Casino2019-03-18
  5. "Headline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at River City Casino full-time

    Pros

    They take good care of their employees

    Cons

    Casino life....crazy hours all the time

    River City Casino2019-02-06
  6. "Valet attendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Valet Attendant in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at River City Casino part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers. Friendly atmosphere everyday.

    Cons

    Work/life times don’t mesh well.

    Advice to Management

    I would like more time off, but I’m hospitality that is very hard

    River City Casino2018-12-27
  7. "Used to be an amazing place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food and Beverage Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at River City Casino full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The Learning and Development program for leaders ensured we were able to preform to the best of our abilities with the staff and guests, even during times of change or restructure. A transparent company until the last few months.

    Cons

    HR’s feable attempt to streamline the hiring process clearly backfired, all departments short staffed and many team members over worked.

    Advice to Management

    Just because a policy or procedure is another properties best practice doesn’t mean we will have the same results.

    River City Casino2018-10-25
  8. "I worked in the kitchen for 4 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Cook in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at River City Casino full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing benefits, decent pay. Work here if you’re good with settling for less.

    Cons

    Management is HORRIBLE. No encouragement, dishonest! They run all over you. Over work you. They only try to fix a problem after you complain 20 times.

    Advice to Management

    Throw away the whole team.

    River City Casino2018-10-25
  9. "Night Works"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at River City Casino full-time

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits. Most people are good to work with

    Cons

    Start working at nights and have a long wait to get other shifts despite what they say for the 3 months you can transfer

    River City Casino2018-04-19
  10. "I love River City!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River City Casino full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Feels like a family. Leaders believe in growing team members. They really invest in teaching and the opportunities at the casino are endless. I have learned a lot about being a leader and communication and building partnerships. I also love the culture and the values of the company.

    Cons

    I cannot think of any

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work! It means a lot to team members that they are appreciated and that you are seen on property and talking to people.

    River City Casino2018-03-07
Found 32 reviews