River City Casino Reviews | Glassdoor

River City Casino Reviews

Updated May 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Anthony Sanfilippo
18 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "its ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River City Casino

    Pros

    great place to get your foot in the door love the people you work with

    Cons

    you will work weekends and nights they will tell you what you need to hear to take on jobs they need to fill

    Advice to Management

    dont lie to employees about hours and shifts just to get them to take another job

    River City Casino2016-07-10
  2. "Auditor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Auditor in Lemay, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at River City Casino full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Tuition reimbursement, diverse hospitality and entertainment experience. Easy place to work if you can follow the rules and complete the tasks assigned without variation.

    Cons

    Low pay, management does not empower the employees. They say empower the employees l, however, that is just an appearance. That's the biggest takeaway I've had from the casino. All they care about is appearances.

    Advice to Management

    Rethink your approach, stop being predictable, stop faking it for appearances, hire from within and truly empower your employees.

    River City Casino2016-04-13
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River City Casino part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Environment, Great Benefits, and Amazing Co-workers

    Cons

    As part time you work high traffic hours(means weekends, holidays, ect.)

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    River City Casino2016-02-19
  4. "Great company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at River City Casino

    Pros

    Many job careers to choose from. Can transfer easily from with in and can move up in company. Great benefits.

    Cons

    Some jobs are only part-time.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    River City Casino2015-09-21
  5. "Decent people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer in Florissant, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at River City Casino full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay depending on your department Free hot meal during your shift Most of the people who work there are very nice to work with

    Cons

    Company doesn't get what and who it is that makes them successful GM is VERY much a penny pincher free meal is free but not very good Don't believe that they want you to have a good work/life balance its a line that they don't follow well

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your team members when they tell you what needs to be changes and what needs to be kept, stop looking at the bottom line as far as money goes so much, remember that money has to be spent to make it.

    River City Casino2015-07-15
  6. "Senior management was clueless"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at River City Casino full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits "keep your employees happy to keep your customers happy" Free meal every shift "Suggestion box"-type programs

    Cons

    Upper management was always on the hunt to have someone fired Senior management was clueless to what employees needed/wanted, and by extension, what customers wanted Failure to act on ideas in "suggestion box"

    Advice to Management

    Listen and act on what frontline employees suggest. Given that they have the most contact with customers, they have a great ideas on how to improve the casino and dining.

    River City Casino2015-03-09
  7. "Good company. A lot of turnover."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at River City Casino

    Pros

    Good pay and good benefits

    Cons

    Long, late hours. Poor management.

    Advice to Management

    Management is often less qualifies than their employees

    River City Casino2014-12-16
  8. "Good place to work, but watch your back!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Surveillance Agent in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at River City Casino full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Steady paycheck, decent benefits, free meals daily.

    Cons

    Lack of training, lack of communication between supervisors and first line employees.

    Advice to Management

    Recognize real talent when you see it and don't keep people who can't perform at a satisfactory level.

    River City Casino2014-06-16
  9. "It has great benifits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bakers Helper in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at River City Casino full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I like working here because of the pto time and the health benefits. This is the first place i have worked for that offers good benifits

    Cons

    The challenges are being bullid and harassed by co workers. I feel nothing is done because they keep allowing it to happen

    Advice to Management

    I think management is good but i feel they need to handle things differnt

    River City Casino2014-04-17
  10. "fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Slot Floor Person in Lemay, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at River City Casino full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    pay, fun, co-workers n management, the addition of a hotel

    Cons

    didn't like the uniforms, this form requires a 20 word min. --did I say - didn't like the uniforms -lol

    River City Casino2014-01-28
Found 32 reviews