River Island Clothing Reviews

Updated Jun 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
River Island Clothing CEO Will Kernan
Will Kernan
22 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Christmas is tough, like anywhere else, but I found Christmas tough due to long hours(in 55 reviews)

  • "Although the pay is slightly over minimum wage I don’t think the company do enough for their staff(in 48 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Wonderful"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Associate in Providence, RI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing for more than a year

    Pros

    Great healthy environment. I was lucky to be surrounded by great co-workers.

    Cons

    Nothing particular comes to mind.

    River Island Clothing2018-10-29
  2. "shop floor"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Lakesid Marblhd, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay was okay for 16 year old.

    Cons

    The shifts were not organised.

    River Island Clothing2019-06-02
  3. "Good to start with and River island is a excellent company to work with but I hated management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Yorkshire, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff discount and uniform allowance Great clothes and latest technology to use on the floor to help customers Some nice people to work with Pretty good pay

    Cons

    Management speak to you however they want and don’t genuinely care about there staff at all, very rude sometimes In a larger store being on one section like fitting rooms all the time.. Staff form cliques

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2017-10-20

    River Island Clothing Response

    October 27, 2017Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we'll take your feedback on board.

  4. "Excellent place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time

    Pros

    Great work ethics Safe work environment

    Cons

    Very long and stressful working hours

    River Island Clothing2017-05-08

    River Island Clothing Response

    June 2, 2017Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your review!

  5. "L2"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - L2 Sales and Service 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice clothes some workers were nice easy to get job

    Cons

    had to run store as manager sometimes 2 days a week for no extra pay had to always have new clothing that was on the shop floor, uniform allowance was never enough, had to spend a lot out of pocket even when exceeding sales targets it was never enough area manager was so horrible

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2016-12-29

    River Island Clothing Response

    January 12, 2017Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your review. We appreciate all our employees stepping up when needed and it's a great opportunity to demonstrate your capability and impress! We will take your feedback on board.

  6. "Quick progression if perform well"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing

    Pros

    - Good team work ethic - Chance for rapid promotion if a long term career path - Good company discount

    Cons

    - Not the best salary

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2016-06-27

    River Island Clothing Response

    June 29, 2016Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your feedback, we're glad you enjoyed your time well.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Awful management, every second feels like an hour"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Assistant in Plymouth, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at River Island Clothing for less than a year

    Pros

    Free clothes for uniform every 4 months 40% discount Flexible to work around Uni or college

    Cons

    Poor management Bullying by management Favouritism Talking behind people's back Don't get paid for breaks or lunch Have to work Christmas Eve, New Year's Eve, Boxing Day Always late for breaks or lunch, then pestered if your a minute late on the floor Only get uniform every 4 months but get warning for not being fashionable Not allowed to have a sip of water unless you do more than 6 hours Not allowed to go toilet

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2016-06-29

    River Island Clothing Response

    June 30, 2016Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for submitting your feedback, we'll take it on board.

  8. "River island"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing

    Pros

    Great discounts for staff on all products

    Cons

    No contracts given for more than 20hours a week

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2016-05-27

    River Island Clothing Response

    May 31, 2016Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your review on River Island!

  9. "Part time sales"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing

    Pros

    Fun and exciting. flexible work schedule New merchandise to look at everyday.

    Cons

    Management was not good with training.

    River Island Clothing2016-02-01

    River Island Clothing Response

    April 22, 2016Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review, we are currently working to improve our development offering to the teams.

  10. "OK, good benefits, lack of hours / progression"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales & Service in Plymouth, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good discount - 30% normally with uniform allowance. Nice environment.

    Cons

    Bad management, lack of progression opportunities (full time positions) and quite monotonous work.

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2015-08-17

    River Island Clothing Response

    August 27, 2015Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your comments about River Island, we will ensure that we feed these back.

Found 1063 reviews