River Island Clothing Reviews | Glassdoor

River Island Clothing Reviews

Updated November 20, 2017
618 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
River Island Clothing CEO Ben Lewis
Ben Lewis
198 Ratings

618 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Low pay - paid basic minimum wage with no opportunity to increase (in 37 reviews)

  • long hours and sometimes there are colleagues that don't do the task correctly (in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Good to start with and River island is a excellent company to work with but I hated management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Yorkshire, VA
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Yorkshire, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Staff discount and uniform allowance
    Great clothes and latest technology to use on the floor to help customers
    Some nice people to work with
    Pretty good pay

    Cons

    Management speak to you however they want and don’t genuinely care about there staff at all, very rude sometimes
    In a larger store being on one section like fitting rooms all the time..
    Staff form cliques

    Advice to Management

    Please give treat your staff better and create a nice environment for people to work in.

    River Island Clothing Response

    Oct 27, 2017 – Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we'll take your feedback on board.


  2. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time

    Pros

    Great work ethics
    Safe work environment

    Cons

    Very long and stressful working hours

    River Island Clothing Response

    Jun 2, 2017 – Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your review!

  3. "L2"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - L2 Sales and Service
    Former Employee - L2 Sales and Service
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Nice clothes
    some workers were nice
    easy to get job

    Cons

    had to run store as manager sometimes 2 days a week for no extra pay
    had to always have new clothing that was on the shop floor, uniform allowance was never enough, had to spend a lot out of pocket
    even when exceeding sales targets it was never enough
    area manager was so horrible

    Advice to Management

    give L2s more money when acting as manager for the day (other companies do)
    give more uniform allowance, and high store discount

    River Island Clothing Response

    Jan 12, 2017 – Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your review. We appreciate all our employees stepping up when needed and it's a great opportunity to demonstrate your capability and impress!

    We will take your feedback on board.


  4. "Quick progression if perform well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    - Good team work ethic
    - Chance for rapid promotion if a long term career path
    - Good company discount

    Cons

    - Not the best salary

    Advice to Management

    Be more involved on the shop floor

    River Island Clothing Response

    Jun 29, 2016 – Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your feedback, we're glad you enjoyed your time well.


  5. "Awful management, every second feels like an hour"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Plymouth, MN
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Plymouth, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at River Island Clothing (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Free clothes for uniform every 4 months
    40% discount
    Flexible to work around Uni or college

    Cons

    Poor management
    Bullying by management
    Favouritism
    Talking behind people's back
    Don't get paid for breaks or lunch
    Have to work Christmas Eve, New Year's Eve, Boxing Day
    Always late for breaks or lunch, then pestered if your a minute late on the floor
    Only get uniform every 4 months but get warning for not being fashionable
    Not allowed to have a sip of water unless you do more than 6 hours
    Not allowed to go toilet

    Advice to Management

    Your just managers of a clothes store, you can't tell people they can't go toilet or have water, basic human rights

    River Island Clothing Response

    Jun 30, 2016 – Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for submitting your feedback, we'll take it on board.


  6. "River island"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Great discounts for staff on all products

    Cons

    No contracts given for more than 20hours a week

    Advice to Management

    Give out full time contracts

    River Island Clothing Response

    May 31, 2016 – Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your review on River Island!


  7. "Part time sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Fun and exciting. flexible work schedule New merchandise to look at everyday.

    Cons

    Management was not good with training.

    River Island Clothing Response

    Apr 22, 2016 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review, we are currently working to improve our development offering to the teams.

  8. "OK, good benefits, lack of hours / progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales & Service in Plymouth, MN
    Former Employee - Sales & Service in Plymouth, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good discount - 30% normally with uniform allowance. Nice environment.

    Cons

    Bad management, lack of progression opportunities (full time positions) and quite monotonous work.

    Advice to Management

    Better training for management, give those who want full time work and want to progress the opportunities.

    River Island Clothing Response

    Aug 27, 2015 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your comments about River Island, we will ensure that we feed these back.


  9. "Fast paced challenging high fashion retailer with a buzzing atmosphere."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Free uniform, great discount, being part of a fashion forward business.

    Cons

    Need to be flexible as to support the business needs.
    Too many different opinions on different aspects of the store can cause extended workload for teams and can be frustrating.
    Not enough hours in a day. 😕

    Advice to Management

    Tailor training to the individuals role. Consistency needed in people skills from the top down in order to get the best from your staff and to create a happy driven work force.

    River Island Clothing Response

    Apr 13, 2015 – Recruitment Controller

    Thank you for your review and lovely to hear you are enjoying your time at River Island.


  10. "Fun role, good place to meet people and be first to fashion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible working hours and shifts, good staff discounts, 75% off on jeans and 30% off the rest when I worked there for two years.

    Cons

    Not always guaranteed to leave on time at the end of day shifts until every inch of the shop is clean. The management (supervisors) can sometimes be a bit rude and disrespectful.

    Advice to Management

    Always treat your staff with respect

    River Island Clothing Response

    May 14, 2015 – Recruitment Controller

    Thanks for the review of River Island - glad you enjoyed your time with us!


Showing 618 of 648 reviews
Reset Filters