River Island Clothing "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

River Island Clothing Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Nov 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
64%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
River Island Clothing CEO Will Kernan
Will Kernan
16 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Fast pace can mean long hours depending on team(in 53 reviews)

  • "Although the pay is slightly over minimum wage I don’t think the company do enough for their staff(in 47 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "One of the reasons people hate retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You meet some great people. The staff keep you there as you bond over the bad management and shoddy working conditions.

    Cons

    The usual retails cons: Expected to work long hours. Shifts changed without your knowledge. If you can't work Bank Holidays you're made to feel guilty and you're suddenly given the worse shifts and awful jobs as punishment. No perks or benefits. Management really do expect you to live and breathe the company - You not meant to have a social life. Small staff rooms. No motivation whatsoever.

    River Island Clothing2019-11-22
  2. "Overworked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Assistant Merchandiser in London, England

    I worked at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazig staff discount and staff shop

    Cons

    Long hours with minimal rewards

    River Island Clothing2019-11-14
  3. "Good for part time workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    40% discount Management are nice (my store personally) but store manager created a tense work environment

    Cons

    Constantly asked to do long hours Holidays take months to get approved but then you get in trouble if you book a holiday before it’s been approved Unappreciative of staff If you call in sick over christmas you lose your double day pay for Boxing Day (not fair if you’re actually ill) Decisions sometimes undermined in front of customers by senior staff even when following policy Good shifts (earlies) regularly gave to the same staff members

    River Island Clothing2019-11-02
  4. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Buyer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great training and learning / development team Nice office with good selection of food/ drinks/canteen Interesting / compelling work

    Cons

    Slow progression Fast pace can mean long hours depending on team Office is next to a tip so can be a bit smelly in the summer

    River Island Clothing2019-10-12
  5. "Sales Assistant, River Island"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, Easy work activity

    Cons

    Long Hours, no commission, repetitive work

    River Island Clothing2019-09-17
  6. "River Island"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deputy Manager in Belfast, Northern Ireland

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    50% staff discount Good uniform allowance

    Cons

    Long hours Lack of progression Poor planning

    River Island Clothing2019-09-06
  7. "Long hours on your feet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part-time Sales Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with and 40% discount.

    Cons

    -Long hours on you feet with 10-20 minute breaks each day. Everyone in the store kept getting tonsillitis from the air conditioning as it was never cleaned. The stock room had a leak that was never fixed. You weren't really allowed to drink water and toilet breaks were timed and if you took to long you were asked for through your headpiece. At the end of my shift my family would come to meet me and my manager told them to leave the store. The managers had to choose your uniform and if they didn't like what you were wearing they would TELL you. Lack of support when the store closed down, they only offered manager roles (of which I hadn't had any experience in) for stores 40 + miles away!? Some days you'd have 4 hour shifts in one department by yourself and it felt very isolating. No progression in the whole year I worked there

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2019-08-06
  8. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Part-time Sales Advisor 

    I have been working at River Island Clothing part-time

    Pros

    staff, always over time, shift swaps

    Cons

    long hours on your feet

    River Island Clothing2019-08-06
  9. "Retail job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager 

    I worked at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Meet good people thats about it

    Cons

    Long hours, pay very low

    River Island Clothing2019-07-25
  10. "Menswear HOD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Menswear Head of Dep 

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with, uniform allowance.

    Cons

    long hours on your feet, often have to cover shifts at late notice.

    River Island Clothing2019-03-11

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 53 reviews