River Island Clothing "staff discount" Reviews | Glassdoor

River Island Clothing Employee Reviews about "staff discount"

Updated Dec 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
64%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
River Island Clothing CEO Will Kernan
Will Kernan
16 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Fast pace can mean long hours depending on team(in 53 reviews)

  • "Although the pay is slightly over minimum wage I don’t think the company do enough for their staff(in 47 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "staff discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good to start with and River island is a excellent company to work with but I hated management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Yorkshire, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff discount and uniform allowance Great clothes and latest technology to use on the floor to help customers Some nice people to work with Pretty good pay

    Cons

    Management speak to you however they want and don’t genuinely care about there staff at all, very rude sometimes In a larger store being on one section like fitting rooms all the time.. Staff form cliques

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2017-10-20

    River Island Clothing Response

    October 27, 2017Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we'll take your feedback on board.

    Continue reading
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing

    Pros

    Staff discount, lovely clothes and friendly staff

    Cons

    Standing all day and very repeative work

    River Island Clothing2019-12-30
  3. "It's Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor 

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    40% Staff Discount, Uniform Allowance.

    Cons

    Pressure to hit sales targets, even a lot of the time this is out of your control.

    River Island Clothing2019-12-04
  4. "."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Always busy. 40% staff discount. Room for extra circular training at own discretion. Good for overtime.

    Cons

    Employee hierarchy lacking structure. LVL 2's are not classed as management yet are expected to do the same work as a manager but don't receive the same pay or benefits as a manager. If you mention this you will be outted from the 'team'.

    River Island Clothing2019-12-02
  5. "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in London, England

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff discount is the only positive

    Cons

    Expectations are unrealistic and do not match up with salary

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2019-12-18
  6. "Eh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I have been working at River Island Clothing part-time

    Pros

    Non taxing Short hours Reasonable pay Good staff discount

    Cons

    Bad management Meeting unnecessary targets Repetitive It's retail ?

    River Island Clothing2019-11-25
  7. "Overworked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Assistant Merchandiser in London, England

    I worked at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazig staff discount and staff shop

    Cons

    Long hours with minimal rewards

    River Island Clothing2019-11-14
  8. "Ok company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing full-time

    Pros

    Staff discount is very good

    Cons

    Pay is not so good

    River Island Clothing2019-11-11
  9. "Good progression and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good potential for progression and good staff discount

    Cons

    Could pay the staff a bit more

    River Island Clothing2019-09-13
  10. "Good prospects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I have been working at River Island Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff discount and opportunity for store relocation

    Cons

    Poor wages and lack of interest from senior leadership

    River Island Clothing2019-09-27

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 135 reviews