River Island Clothing "uniform allowance" Reviews | Glassdoor

River Island Clothing Employee Reviews about "uniform allowance"

Updated Feb 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
65%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
River Island Clothing CEO Will Kernan
Will Kernan
16 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Fast pace can mean long hours depending on team(in 54 reviews)

  • "Although the pay is slightly over minimum wage I don’t think the company do enough for their staff(in 48 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "uniform allowance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good to start with and River island is a excellent company to work with but I hated management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Yorkshire, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff discount and uniform allowance Great clothes and latest technology to use on the floor to help customers Some nice people to work with Pretty good pay

    Cons

    Management speak to you however they want and don’t genuinely care about there staff at all, very rude sometimes In a larger store being on one section like fitting rooms all the time.. Staff form cliques

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2017-10-20

    River Island Clothing Response

    October 27, 2017Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we'll take your feedback on board.

    Continue reading
  2. "L2"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - L2 Sales and Service 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice clothes some workers were nice easy to get job

    Cons

    had to run store as manager sometimes 2 days a week for no extra pay had to always have new clothing that was on the shop floor, uniform allowance was never enough, had to spend a lot out of pocket even when exceeding sales targets it was never enough area manager was so horrible

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2016-12-29

    River Island Clothing Response

    January 12, 2017Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your review. We appreciate all our employees stepping up when needed and it's a great opportunity to demonstrate your capability and impress! We will take your feedback on board.

    Continue reading
  3. "OK, good benefits, lack of hours / progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales & Service in Plymouth, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good discount - 30% normally with uniform allowance. Nice environment.

    Cons

    Bad management, lack of progression opportunities (full time positions) and quite monotonous work.

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2015-08-17

    River Island Clothing Response

    August 27, 2015Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your comments about River Island, we will ensure that we feed these back.

    Continue reading
  4. "Understanding management but not very rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Royal Leamington Spa, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good employee discount and interesting interview process

    Cons

    Takes a long time to receive your uniform allowance (made me wait longer than I should have) and can be very dull, especially on the men's floor

    River Island Clothing2020-02-22
  5. "Could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good discount Can be a fun workplace , make great friends.

    Cons

    Staff are really overworked for the wage they receive. High targets. Don’t be fooled by the “uniform allowance” they expect you to wear head to toe river island brand, even though you only get your allowance every 3 months, you might only get 2 cheap tops and a pair of jeans if you’re lucky, maybe more depending on your hours and contract. Managers can be sometimes (not always)cliquey/favoritism can occur too, sometimes expect too much of their staff, not enough help when trying to complete difficult tasks.

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2020-01-26
  6. "Great Progression and Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deputy Manager in Fareham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - lots of opportunity to learn and progress if you have the right attitude towards the job - Supportive Area managers who want to see you do well which is refreshing in such a stressful industry - Great discount: Managers 50% up to £500 and Staff 40% up to £250 plus uniform allowance every 6-8 weeks - Versatile environment, no day is ever the same and it never gets boring! - New CEO has brought in some excellent initiatives for staff and managers as well as some great ideas to ease the day to day stresses put on the team! Well done Will!

    Cons

    - High workload but nothing unexpected of a retail management job

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2020-01-06
  7. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part-time Sales Advisor in Corby, Northamptonshire, East Midlands, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - uniform allowance - discount - easy to use fills

    Cons

    - upper management isn’t great

    River Island Clothing2020-01-06
  8. "Good for short term + suituable for students... HOWEVER!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    40% discount clothing/uniform allowance working around people near the same age

    Cons

    catty management favouritism cliques and some workers tend to be ignorant

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2019-12-31
  9. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    uniform allowance, room for progression, great clothes, very organised

    Cons

    communication not always great

    River Island Clothing2019-11-26
  10. "Alright but it could be way better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Supervisor in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    40% discount Uniform allowance The other employees

    Cons

    Shockingly low paying for the work the staff do,

    River Island Clothing2019-11-26

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 134 reviews