Cover image for River Island Clothing
Logo

River Island Clothing

Engaged Employer

River Island Clothing

Add a Review

River Island Clothing Employee Reviews about "uniform allowance"

Updated Dec 2, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 2,284 of over 2K reviews
3.6
63% Recommend to a Friend
River Island Clothing CEO Will Kernan
75% Approve of CEO

Found 65 of over 2K reviews

3.6
63%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
River Island Clothing CEO Will Kernan
Will Kernan
347 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Poor management they give unreachable targets(in 179 reviews)
  • "Low pay and that’s all(in 158 reviews)
  • "When taken ill at work managers can be rude and question you assuming you're lying.(in 142 reviews)
  • "Can be long hours and dfficult to drive in and out of work as all employees start at the same time(in 80 reviews)
  • "No breaks were given and no training was given.(in 53 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Gender

This rating reflects the overall rating of River Island Clothing and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "uniform allowance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Pay isn’t great

    Aug 3, 2022 - River Island Sales Assistant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People are nice and you get certain uniform allowance.

    Cons

    Pay is under minimum wage

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    It really depends on who you end up working with, but altogether its was a good experience for me.

    Sep 18, 2014 - Customer Sales Assistant in Greenhithe, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Every three months you get a uniform allowance based on how many hours you work a week. its always great to get new clothes for free. Also when you work with nice sales assistants it can be really fun and enjoyable.

    Cons

    If you end up working with people you dislike, it can be really challenging as you have to spend a great deal of time with them. Working is hard enough but with staff hellbent on making your shift a misery its incredibly annoying.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    River Island Clothing Response

    Recruitment Officer

    We're sorry you feel this way. Thanks for your review.

  3. Join the River Island Clothing team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Average

    Oct 30, 2022 - Sales Associate in Croydon, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Staff discount Nice clothes Uniform allowance

    Cons

    Repetitive Not that many opportunities

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Positive Retail Space With Strong Benefits

    Mar 2, 2017 - Sales Advisor in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Many flexible contracts available for students. Great staff discount allowance and uniform allowance every three months or so. General staff dynamic is very friendly and most associate outside of work.

    Cons

    Management can be somewhat inflexible and inconsiderate of an employees availability pressuring staff into extra hours that they do not want. No options for progression and if there is I was not made aware of it. No real recognition for staff achievements that aren't related to sales.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    River Island Clothing Response

    Recruitment Officer

    Thank you for your review. We are glad your overall experience is a positive one. We will take your feedback on board regarding recognition and look in to this.

  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Unprofessional management

    Apr 27, 2018 - Sales Advisor in Bury St Edmunds, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Uniform allowance and the staff discount was very generous (40%) Holiday was generally approved if submitted well in advance

    Cons

    Minimum wage, poor hours, management unprofessional Pay was often wrong and needed correcting

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    River Island Clothing Response

    Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for the review, we'll take your comments on board.

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    I love my job

    Mar 17, 2014 - Sales Assistant in Bristol, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Constantly surrounded by new fashion - Lots of different sections to work on so every day is different - It's a challenge, especially on busy days - Even in quiet hours, there is always something to do - Staff discount of 30% - Uniform allowance (this amount depends on how many hours you work) - The team of staff are lovely and help you if you have any problems - Opportunities to work overtime or extra shifts - New stock every week, doesn't get boring

    Cons

    - Not allowed water on shop floor, so if you're running around it can get quite tiring - I want to work more hours in my contract once the opportunity comes - If you're under 18, the pay is a lot less (but you get that problem pretty much everywhere)

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    River Island Clothing Response

    Recruitment Controller

    Yay!! Thank you for your review on River Island

  8. 4.0
    Former Employee

    retail job

    Feb 7, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good clothing benefits (uniform allowance)

    Cons

    no work life balance during busy periods

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Pros

    River Island is a good company to work for. Many types of training are provided for different sections of the store so you are able to experience all aspects of working within a retailer. Uniform allowance and staff discount is always a bonus! I have also see simple sales assistants be promoted within the company which is always a refreshing sight to see.

    Cons

    Poor contract patterns for part time workers, lack of perception and the right action is not always taken when looking at stores individually, every store is not exactly the same. The way in which management are spread thin is concerning. Also I feel that although we do receive very good discount rates and staff uniform allowance it is not enough over the summer period as I found myself working every day with the same set uniform as I was unable to afford to buy any new clothes at that point in time. Discount should be calculated on the hours you work over a 6 week period rather than base contract hours. Also to add the store in which I work in has had a number of shoplifters. We resulted in a huge loss due to poor shift patterns being made available by upper level management. If an employee was hired to be a greeter on the door it may prevent snatches such as these resulting in the company losing thousands of pounds.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    River Island Clothing Response

    Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your feedback, we'll take it on board.

  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    River Island

    Jun 15, 2021 - Floor Manager in Ipswich, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent benefits including uniform and discount allowance

    Cons

    Workload for management is extremely high

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Nice people and good company

    Apr 21, 2022 - Sales Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I was always lucky to work with amazing people. The salary was NMW so can't complain too much and they give you a generous uniform allowance.

    Cons

    Sometimes there can be lots of staff turnover even with management.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 65 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with River Island Clothing Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at River Island Clothing? Share Your Experiences

River Island Clothing logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

River Island Clothing Photos

+ Add Photo
River Island Clothing photo of: WOW! Look at our amazing Manchester Trafford Mega Flagship Store following it&#039;s refit! What a fantastic environment for our teams to work in!
River Island Clothing photo of: Buying & Merchandising Floor
River Island Clothing photo of: Buying & Merchandising Floor
River Island Clothing photo of: Buyer's review meeting
River Island Clothing photo of: Buying & Merchandising Floor
River Island Clothing photo of: Design Room
River Island Clothing photo of: Design Room
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

River Island Clothing Job Seekers Also Viewed

Boots Logo
Boots

3.5

6,404 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 2,293 River Island Clothing reviews submitted anonymously by River Island Clothing employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if River Island Clothing is right for you.