Riverbed Technology Reviews

Updated Apr 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
33%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Riverbed Technology CEO Rich McBee (no image)
Rich McBee
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay with good work/life balance with a long list of loyal customers(in 132 reviews)

  • "Great people, Flexible working hours, great technology(in 74 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Was great to work for."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Channel Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Riverbed Technology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Great people * Cool technology

    Cons

    * Upper management doesn't know what they are doing. Driving the company into the ground.

    Riverbed Technology2020-03-11
  2. "Good for working"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Engineer, Senior in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Riverbed Technology full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great to work and have good working culture

    Cons

    Top management need to clear about their roadmap

    Continue reading
    Riverbed Technology2020-04-30
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Organized Disorder"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Riverbed Technology full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible and family oriented culture

    Cons

    Incredibly disorganized, difficult to onboard and feel like part of the team, lack of transparency, processes are difficult to understand

    Continue reading
    Riverbed Technology2020-04-24
  4. Helpful (3)

    "No clear direction by upper management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Riverbed Technology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are good. Flexible schedule. There were some great and inspired people when I first joined the company.

    Cons

    Poor communication and messaging from upper management. I did not sense or feel any cohesiveness between departments. It felt like the Inside Sales team was on an island.

    Riverbed Technology2020-02-12
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great people, great growth opportunity, TB influenced leadership and operations"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Riverbed Technology full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great talent, and great technology.

    Cons

    TB influenced leadership and culture. everything is about cost optimization, which should be a great thing, but decision making is very bad.

    Continue reading
    Riverbed Technology2020-02-18
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Strong culture but core business is slowing down"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Group Product Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Riverbed Technology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The talent here was top notch but they were slowly churning away as the core business shies people away from Riverbed to tech companies with stronger momentum.

    Cons

    The upper mgmt didn’t look into different ways of revamping growth and transformation of the company for the AI era.

    Continue reading
    Riverbed Technology2020-01-29
  7. "This is a review headline"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solution Architect in Westborough, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Riverbed Technology full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I wont weigh in, everyone's life experiences are different. I genuinely have nothing bad to say.

    Cons

    I have nothing negative to add. Overall positive experience.

    Riverbed Technology2020-01-08
  8. "Best Place I've Ever Worked!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Escalation Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Riverbed Technology full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    1. Work/Life balance is awesome. 2. Working remotely is generous. 3. Benefits. 4. Free snacks, amenities 5. Alot of perks. 6. Collaboration

    Cons

    If I wrote this a year ago, this would be different, but right now we are 'righting' the ship and our future looks bright with alot of new products coming out.

    Continue reading
    Riverbed Technology2019-12-24
  9. "Good work/life balance"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member of Technical Staff 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Riverbed Technology full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good to work in core products

    Cons

    Lots of layoffs/attrition, which is worrisome.

    Riverbed Technology2019-12-22
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Used to be a great company, not any longer"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Architect 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Riverbed Technology full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, start up kind of culture, handful of innovative solutions and market leading positions.

    Cons

    Privately owned (equity firm - read between the lines) and workforce reductions have destroyed the fun, upbeat atmosphere and resulted in most people doing the work of 4. Revolving door with staff and new hires. Horrible executive management since founder stepped down. Serious blunders made with new product directions, acquisitions and markets, most they are retreating from now. Overall just a text book example of how to ruin a good thing.

    Continue reading
    Riverbed Technology2020-01-10
Found 1048 reviews