Riverwind Casino Reviews | Glassdoor

Riverwind Casino Reviews

Updated Nov 20, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
37%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Riverwind"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Promotions Supervisor in Norman, OK

    I have been working at Riverwind Casino full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly, fun, enthusiastic, customer centered, enjoyable

    Cons

    None, not applicable, great,

    Riverwind Casino2017-10-31
  2. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Norman, OK
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Riverwind Casino part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent coworkers and higher ups were friendly. 25% discount for working in the GS. Work there the 90 days and move to a different department.

    Cons

    Poor management. Didn't really value workers. 1st shift is the favorites. Manager is clueless with the basic day to day functions.

    Riverwind Casino2018-11-21
  3. "PROMOTIONS ASSOCIATE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Riverwind Casino full-time

    Pros

    Great health benefits, they clean uniforms for you.

    Cons

    management is very one sided. If they are looking at bringing someone from a different facility in, someone is getting fired; even if that person hasnt done anything wrong.

    Riverwind Casino2018-08-10
  4. "Riverwind"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norman, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Riverwind Casino part-time

    Pros

    Good benefits Comradarie between certain coworkers

    Cons

    Favoritism Too much drama Loud environment Constant smoke

    Advice to Management

    Stop favoritism Give more time off

    Riverwind Casino2017-09-22
  5. "Pretty fair place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norman, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Riverwind Casino full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits Ability to move between positions every 3 months

    Cons

    No Windows You have to work in a casino Loud Smoke filled environment

    Advice to Management

    Allow for more time off

    Riverwind Casino2017-07-02
  6. "Eh it's a good living"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Riverwind Casino part-time

    Pros

    You can make a good living here and if your position qualifies you for insurance then it's amazing.

    Cons

    You're treated like a number. Told constantly that you can be replaced. Expected to show up sick or else incur point deductions. The rules change often. Management rules with an iron fist. It's super easy to be punished for little things and never praised for good work.

    Advice to Management

    Take time to know your employees. We are not cattle. We are humans. We deserve to be praised when we do a job well done. Don't just sit in your office or walk the floor looking down on us. We are the ones that provide the backbone of the facility.

    Riverwind Casino2017-01-16
  7. "Great place to work but not advance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Riverwind Casino for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great managers at the hotel. They will work with your schedule. Fun environment if you like meeting new people.

    Cons

    Corporate is filled with people looking out for they friends. If you don't have a connection that goes beyond the hotel with someone on the corporate level you will not move up within the hotel.

    Advice to Management

    Promote on merit not friendships.

    Riverwind Casino2016-08-19
  8. "Fun atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Blackjack Dealer in Riverwind, SC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Riverwind Casino full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They offer pretty good benefits and good pay for full timers. It is also easy and fun most of the time.

    Cons

    After a while the weekends and holidays gets kinda old especially if you have a family. And the upper management isn't helpful at all.

    Advice to Management

    Communication is key!

    Riverwind Casino2016-05-12
  9. "Life sucker! And miserable!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Table Games Dealer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Riverwind Casino full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Tips were good for a time but went way down hill. And the benefits are good.

    Cons

    This is easy review if you love second hand smoke, working nights and weekends and holidays. Never seeing your family and friends and missing out on life in general. Being called names every night by angry customers then this job is for you!!

    Advice to Management

    The upper management isn't even worth my time to give them advice they know they have no experience running that place. It's all who you are not what you know.

    Riverwind Casino2016-05-14
  10. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Black Jack Dealer/Floor Manager in Norman, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Riverwind Casino part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Scheduling for a college student was a huge help in allowing me to obtain my college degree and maintain a steady income. The benefits are good if you are full-time. They also match 5% to your 401k which was nice. As a table games dealer the income was also very good for a part-time employee.

    Cons

    The overnight shift put a lot of stress on having time for friends and family. Also always having to work holidays, but this is something you have to expect when working in the gaming industry. The most annoying part of the job, were the constant meetings and health and wellness goals every month that made it very difficult to maintain my school schedule. A lot of the meetings were mandatory and you would be written... up for not showing up for them on your days off. I did not show up to a lot of them because my education was more important to me than the meetings.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My management staff was amazing. They understood I was trying to work nearly 40 hours per week while continuing my education full time. They went out of their way to make sure I was able to do so. Keep up the good work, and always remember that everybody is trying to make it and be happy!

    Riverwind Casino2015-11-06
Found 20 reviews