RizePoint "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

RizePoint Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Feb 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
87%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
RizePoint President & Chief Executive Officer Frank Maylett (no image)
Frank Maylett
37 Ratings
Pros
  • "Rizepoint has one of the most open environments I've ever worked in(in 15 reviews)

  • "Collaborative work environment (cross-departmental)(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Rizepoint is making great strides to keep moving the needle(in 6 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Awesome company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at RizePoint full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work Environment, wonderful company culture, and amazing personnel. If you have a chance to work here, pounce on the opportunity.

    Cons

    Tech support process needs to be improved.

    Continue reading
    RizePoint2019-02-01
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Can't get enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RizePoint full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - The culture - Empowerment to do your job the right way - Strong positive direction for success and growth - The most talented people - Regular reviews and evaluations - Constant collaboration - Equality in so many ways Rizepoint has proven to be better than I could have hoped. The work environment is transparent and equality feels genuine. Management seems to truly want the best for employees and consistently asks feedback for many decisions that affect us directly. Of course the reason behind all of these great things are the people. The culture is so important here and it showed before I even started working here.

    Cons

    We're running out of office space.

    Continue reading
    RizePoint2018-03-29
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Senior Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Developer in Cottonwood Heights, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RizePoint full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Rizepoint has one of the most open environments I've ever worked in. Management trusts and listens to employees and makes sound decisions to preserve the high-quality work environment. As an employee, collaboration is one of the highest values. We work hard together and it is a great place to work.

    Cons

    It would be great if public transit to and from work were a little more readily available. Cottonwood Heights isn't exactly near any transportation hubs.

    Continue reading
    RizePoint2018-01-03

    RizePoint Response

    March 26, 2018VP of People Operations

    Thanks for leaving a note! Better access to UTA hubs would be a huge plus. Noted.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Fast-paced environment with high expectations, with leaders who care personally about their employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cottonwood Heights, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RizePoint full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Strong leadership - Collaborative work environment (cross-departmental) - Lots of autonomy to get stuff done - Transparency in communications from the top down - Unlimited paid time off - Sharp, talented employees - Competitive salary

    Cons

    - Growing pains from a growing company: new & rapidly changing processes, approvals, additional QA measures, losing the personal touch of knowing everyone you work with

    Continue reading
    RizePoint2017-12-08

    RizePoint Response

    March 26, 2018VP of People Operations

    Thanks for the post and validating what so many have said about working at RizePoint. I love the reminder in your advice to management! Thank you.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Growing Company, Challenging but Rewarding Environment, Awesome People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RizePoint full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    RizePoint is a company filled with great people, top to bottom. The market and professional demands are challenging, but very rewarding. The company has been willing to make difficult, but needed changes to allow the company to grow and thrive. The culture, benefits and work environment are exceptional.

    Cons

    RizePoint is still pivoting and positioning itself in the market. This comes with challenges and change. There is still more change needed.

    Continue reading
    RizePoint2017-10-31

    RizePoint Response

    March 26, 2018VP of People Operations

    This was great to read and think about. There's certainly some room for improvement and we'll continue to focus on the things you've highlighted - pros, cons et al. Thank you!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RizePoint full-time

    Pros

    Competitive salaries, beautiful work environment from the views of the Wasatch out the window-lined wall, to the very nice office space with adjustable-height desks, great benefits (health insurance, flexible time off, etc.), well-stocked break room. Poised for great growth potential.

    Cons

    At times, it feels understaffed, there is so much to do, but management does seem to try not to make too many unreasonable demands.

    RizePoint2017-03-12

    RizePoint Response

    March 31, 2017Vice President of People Operations

    Thank you for sharing a review. Appreciate the glow of the pros and the difficulty of some of the cons you've described. Please stay in touch about the demands of your job and encourage others to do the same. I know the company is committed to creating the right environment as we collaborate about priorities and sometimes change the way we work/where we focus to ensure we are building lasting employee and customer success.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Enjoyable company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RizePoint full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work environment and coworkers are really pleasant. Coworkers are very enthusiastic and committed to their work. The company also has some really good pillar values that are emphasized and encouraged on regular basis. Employees are also provided with stand up desks and fully stocked break rooms. There are also abundant company activities which makes it fun to work.

    Cons

    No major cons observed yet.

    RizePoint2016-07-21

    RizePoint Response

    August 3, 2016Vice President of People Operations

    So good to hear that the team and company values are meaningful to your work experience! Keep us in the loop as things progress. We'd love to hear more from you in our Open Door EC meetings, Town Halls, or really anytime. Thank you!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good company, great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at RizePoint full-time

    Pros

    Good place to work. The company is growing rapidly and has some growing pains but seems to have a bright future ahead. There are lots of fun people and a positive work environment.

    Cons

    Below market pay and benefits. Open concept work environment is very distracting.

    Continue reading
    RizePoint2016-01-24
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Too Much Stress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at RizePoint full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits - While the benefits were a lot better when I started three years ago, they recently got changed due to the new healthcare laws. While Steton was able to still provide better-than-most benefits, I feel that they didn’t really shop around for the best plan price wise. They also neglected to poll the employees in any way to find out what plan features they needed. In short, the dental and vision insurance is amazing while the health insurance lacks in some regards. However the shortcomings of the health insurance is made up for by a company provided HSA that they contribute $100 to every month. Good Flexibility - For the most part, employees are able to come and go as they please. The company seems to be in the attitude of 40 hours per week are required; when you provide those 40 hours is up to you. However, most of management will expect an employee to be on-call 24 hours a day. It is also understood that at any given time during the day, 2 to 5 employees could be out walking about the nearby park. Several of the employees are attending school and the company is, more or less, willing to work around that. Free Snacks/Break room - While it is a bit awkward when the boss walks into the break room while a couple employees are shooting the breeze over a good snack, the snacks are free and they are stocked regularly and fully. Not much more to say about this. BYOD Incentives - Since it is a technology company, if you buy a computer, tablet, or smartphone and use it for company purposes, they will reimburse you 25% of the final cost.

    Cons

    "If Everything Is Urgent…" - This company could be the poster child for the phrase, “If everything is urgent, nothing is.” The departments are in a seemingly constant frenzied state. Most of the time, an issue won’t be addressed for weeks or months solely for the fact that somebody else had a “more urgent” issue. Often times, when an email or voicemail is marked as ‘Important’, it is not treated as such. Interdepartmental Distress - It is often noticed by many that each department harbors ill feelings toward almost every other department. It is common practice for an issue to bounce around departments awaiting to be assigned ‘proper blame’. This has caused many rifts between departments that tend to escalate out of control at times. Hostile Work Environment - There have been a few instances in my time working at Steton where members of departments could be heard throughout the building raising their voices and threatening other employees. While these instances were reported as high up as the CEO, not much seems to have been done to suppress the behavior. Empty Promises - In my time at Steton, I have been promised several promotions, raises, and benefits that have not been realized. Toward the close of my time there, I began to learn that even if I’m told to my face that something would happen, I shouldn’t expect it to. I have seen several employees get hired into one department with the promise of being moved to the department in their desired field. It can take up to two years for this to happen and is not usually worth the fight. Lack of Policy Adherence - Although the company has meeting after meeting to discuss ways that it can be better at, well, everything, nobody ever actually follows the policies made in the aforementioned meetings. There have actually been policies made with the consequence of being fired if you break them that I have witnessed executives break and nobody does anything about it. Whenever a policy is made and published, the immediate succeeding steps are to create and publish policies that circumvent the original policy. Any given policy has a three to four month life before it is seemingly forgotten. Sub-Par Salary - I, myself, was fine with the amount of pay I was receiving when I left Steton. However, I heard on a regular basis from both current and past employees that the salaries given by Steton roughly half of what can be considered fair. Procrastination - The majority of issues and resulting stress is due to a companywide sense of procrastination. Projects and such are usually scheduled up to the last minute possible and not worked on until it is realized that there might not be enough time to finish it.

    Continue reading
    RizePoint2014-05-10

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 9 reviews