Roadmaster Driving School Reviews | Glassdoor

Roadmaster Driving School Reviews

Updated Oct 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
31%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Opportunity knocks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Roadmaster Driving School full-time

    Pros

    Many, many long term employees!! Organized company Opportunity for growth Help others achieve their goals Solid history of success Operations is smooth as silk Nice offices - well structured system for student flow Breakroom for students Breakroom for staff State-of-the art technology Trucks on site for student practice

    Cons

    Some might think the casual environment is not to their liking. It is not stuffy or formal. There are no EGOS here. We all just want to get our work done, and help the students. The student graduation "goal" is way more important that promoting one's self.

    Continue reading
    Roadmaster Driving School2016-05-23
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Admission recruiting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Admissions in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Roadmaster Driving School full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    At first it was a thriving establishment

    Cons

    When Werner bought over Roadmaster, they had individuals with no experience creating ideas and dictating the schools and call centers. The call center went from being over 40% of the business revenue to 0. There was 33 admissions at one time. It’s disappointing to see the changes and lack of experience completely failing employees and potential students. With the lack of truck drivers in our nation, it was not a time to play guinea pig with such high demand. It’s making importing and exporting suffer with your student expectations and decline of graduates. It was once a great place to work; the money was great and job was rewarding. I would now recommend that students Attend another truck driving school that has more experience

    Continue reading
    Roadmaster Driving School2019-10-29
  3. "Unethical & Hostile Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions Advisor in Dunn, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Roadmaster Driving School full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Monday - Friday work schedule, other advisors and placement staff

    Cons

    There is a great deal of unethical treatment of students and staff, within a hostile work environment, favoritism, nepotism, unrealistic expectations all taking place in a run down dilapidated building. The school is being run by two expunged cops that are bullies who have very little experience in how to run a school; they're only doing what they know, bully people. When I went to HR for harassment, I became a target followed by retaliation and I will be pursuing a case against this organization. I am really surprised that the parent company, Werner Enterprises, has allowed this activity to continue, especially in this day and time when dignity and respect are the minimum cost for admission. They are charging students a premium price for CDL training and when they graduate, they have a restriction on their license, they can only drive automatics.

    Continue reading
    Roadmaster Driving School2019-05-30
  4. "I worked there for 5 yrs."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Roadmaster Driving School full-time

    Pros

    Very good people to work for

    Cons

    Hoping that once you get student enrolled they pass drug test and DOT physical and that they graduate

    Continue reading
    Roadmaster Driving School2017-12-13
  5. "Fulling position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Roadmaster Driving School full-time

    Pros

    I appreciate the work that the school does in helping students to start a new career.

    Cons

    Wasn't happy with the communication of senior management.

    Roadmaster Driving School2017-10-06
  6. "Not a good place to work at!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Roadmaster Driving School full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people, nice location, not much more than that

    Cons

    No advancement, upper management does not follow thru, classless organization who does not care about employees..only revenue and any way to get it

    Continue reading
    Roadmaster Driving School2017-09-10
  7. "Heavy haul"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Heavy Haul Driver in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Roadmaster Driving School full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good communiction from dispatch office

    Cons

    High wait on loads usually

    Continue reading
    Roadmaster Driving School2017-08-15
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Stressful & Unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions Representative in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Roadmaster Driving School full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Helping people obtain a new career. Instructors & Admission staff are great. Most students are treated well. Several good people work there who are trying to do a good job and help students. Money is good.

    Cons

    HUGE battle for crown between Onsite Management & new owners. Way too many chiefs. 3 corporations involved in ALL decisions. All 3 constantly disagree on how to run the school or manage staff. Constantly changing rules & procedures. Different rules for friends (favorites). Office staff is belittled daily by management. Management is paranoid & stressed out.

    Continue reading
    Roadmaster Driving School2017-04-08
  9. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Roadmaster Driving School for less than a year

    Pros

    It was very wonderful working with them it was very laid-back not stressful at all

    Cons

    The only thing it was it one that many days of the week for work

    Continue reading
    Roadmaster Driving School2016-11-10
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Fast paced, commission based environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Admissions Representative in West Memphis, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Roadmaster Driving School

    Pros

    It was great helping folks get into the CDL industry.

    Cons

    Because it's a sales position, some of the other employees are shady.

    Continue reading
    Roadmaster Driving School2016-06-09

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 17 reviews