Roadster Reviews | Glassdoor

Roadster Reviews

Updated Mar 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.6
94%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Roadster CEO Andrew Moss (no image)
Andrew Moss
13 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Well Run Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Sales Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roadster full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The product is widely accepted as the standard-bearer in the segment and the technical and field support are truly top-notch. The company is very well run- the leadership team clearly communicates vision and is also very accessible. The culture is such that people are empowered to do what it takes to get the job done. There is none of the bro-culture I’ve experienced in tech startups.

    Cons

    It’s a startup- so you have to be prepared for a fast pace and limited resources. I very much enjoy those elements, but they’re not for everyone.

    Continue reading
    Roadster2020-01-15
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Middle management was rough, otherwise a solid startup!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Roadster full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited vacation and the encouragement to take time off, flexible schedule, smart and friendly peers to work with, innovators in the marketplace, strong brand presence, few meetings, diverse hires, driven team working hard to succeed, stock options, ability to have work with different departments and make an impact as an individual contributor.

    Cons

    Success leadership lacked experience and knew little about successfully leading or scaling a team. Snobbish and rude behavior was a norm for many members of the success leadership team. They cliquishly preferred ideas, criticism, and feedback from those who they deemed worthy (a small population) and often got defensive of commentary from others. It appeared they felt most comfortable hiring and managing people who mirror their backgrounds and fit their mold. The lack of basic management knowledge and professionalism that goes with leading a team from the VP and directors was not encouraging but started to improve over time, just not fast enough to want to stay in the department. I'd probably still be working here had it not been for direct management.

    Continue reading
    Roadster2020-02-15

    Roadster Response

    February 20, 2020Director of Talent and Learning

    Hello Reviewer Thank you for the time you took to share your feedback and experience at Roadster. We are highly committed to our employee’s experience, and appreciate specific feedback, both positive and constructive. We are very proud that we have been able to promote members of the success team from individual contributors to leaders. We continue to invest a lot of time and effort into developing top tier managers and people leaders, ensuring that we have an inclusive and welcoming environment regardless of team, role, or seniority. We are dedicated to continuing to provide a healthy company culture that thrives on feedback and innovation. If you would like to discuss your feedback further, please don’t hesitate to reach out directly to hr@roadster.com. Thank you again for your feedback. Best Regards Roadster

    Continue reading
  3. "If your in, your in. If you aren't, good luck."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dealer Success Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roadster full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Mission, values, teammates, travel, product.

    Cons

    Success leadership. Some of the least experienced managers who dont know how to scale a team or manage it. If you fit there mold, you will be praised and promoted. If you dont look or act like them GOOD LUCK. They choose who they like and who gets promoted based on appearance and the clique rather than performance. The person who is the director of the west is particularly bad. very clear who she likes and who she doesnt.

    Continue reading
    Roadster2020-03-03

    Roadster Response

    March 6, 2020Director of Talent and Learning

    Hello Reviewer -- Thank you for the time you took to share your feedback and experience at Roadster. We are highly committed to our employee’s experience, and appreciate specific feedback, both positive and constructive. During your time at Roadster, you have likely seen individual contributors promoted to people leaders who are representative of our diverse and empowered workforce. Our dedication to an inclusive and empowering environment is true for all employees - regardless of team, role, or seniority. We are committed to investing in our people managers further this year to ensure the growth and development of our teams. If you would like to discuss your feedback further, please don’t hesitate to reach out directly to hr@roadster.com. Thank you again for your feedback. -- Best Regards Roadster

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Fantastic Culture, excellent people, driven team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leadership 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roadster full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very driven organization to change the industry. Awesome product, dynamic team, cohesive verticals. Lofty goals and expectations, with serious drive/desire/direction to succeed.

    Cons

    Communication is challenging, with everyone moving a million miles an hour.

    Roadster2020-01-15
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Great Culture, Amazing Product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Sales Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roadster full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and one of the best, if not the best place I've worked. A product that is way ahead of competitors and truly paving the way for automotive in the 21st century.

    Cons

    Experiencing some growing pains in relation to internal communications, etc

    Roadster2020-01-15
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Tackling a really big opportunity with great people and tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leadership Team in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roadster full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I firmly believe that whom you work with makes all the difference in how you feel about your job. The Roadster team is highly driven, dedicated, and supportive of one another. The work is challenging and the learning never ends. Lots of opportunity to grow individually while changing an industry that needs changing.

    Cons

    Typical startup challenges - never feels like enough hours in the day!

    Roadster2020-01-13
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Best Company Culture & Leadership Alignment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leadership Team in Burbank, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roadster full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    100% the people -- I have never worked with such an open, innovative and collaborative group of people with shared values. The leadership team is down to earth, humble and completely aligned around the mission and vision that has been set forth. We are part of an evolving industry and are at the forefront of that change. Exciting times!

    Cons

    We are still in growth mode, which means we move super fast and may not have all of the foundational items you would expect from a more established company. This isn't a bad thing, as it offers huge opportunities across our employee base, but if you come from a larger company you may find this overwhelming.

    Continue reading
    Roadster2020-01-13
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work, fun culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leadership Team in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roadster full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Transparent, collegial culture. Lots of learning and career growth opportunities for ambitious, hardworking & creative problem solvers.

    Cons

    It's a startup...so if you aren't up for working your tail off in an world of uncertainty, then this isn't the place for you.

    Roadster2020-01-09
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Driven and Engaged Talent with a Purpose"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roadster

    Pros

    Positive & Passionate Culture Calculated Growth A deep understanding of the industry and customers Supportive Environment

    Cons

    A company of this side may present challenges for some, but opportunities for others.

    Continue reading
    Roadster2019-08-05
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Awesome Company and Great People!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dealer Success Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roadster full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Collaborative work environment Approachable and Transparent Leaders

    Cons

    Nothing to mention at this time.

    Roadster2019-06-18
Found 27 reviews