KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Robert Bosch Tool Corporation

Part of Bosch
Engaged Employer

Robert Bosch Tool Corporation

Add a Review

Robert Bosch Tool Corporation Reviews

Updated Oct 6, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 190 of over 252 reviews

4.1
83%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Robert Bosch Tool Corporation President and CEO Uwe Thym
Uwe Thym
14 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee
    Featured Review

    Great place to learn

    Sep 28, 2022 - Digital Operations Intern in Mount Prospect, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As an intern I got to work with multiple different departments and team members. I took ownership of a lot of projects halfway through the year.

    Cons

    Can’t think of any cons

    1 person found this review helpful

    Robert Bosch Tool Corporation Response

    Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We greatly appreciate your input and are happy to hear you had a good experience collaborating with us. — Your Bosch Team

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company

    Aug 28, 2022 - AREA SALES MANAGER in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great pay , freedom to self grow accounts, relationship building

    Cons

    Marketing support for sale Customer service for product inventory

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Robert Bosch Tool Corporation Response

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback! We hear you and would love to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. Please email us at feedback@us.bosch.com. — Your Bosch Team

  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Where Talent Goes to Die

    Aug 23, 2022 - Brand Marketing Manager in Mount Prospect, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good 401k, nice maternity leave policy, unlimited sick days, work phone, decent health insurance.

    Cons

    If you are talented and hard working, this isn’t the company for you. Most of the people who are in higher positions are either lifers which 75% are terrible at the jobs but have skated along because management turns every 2 years. The marketing department especially is pathetic. I have never worked at a more high school like environment. There is ladder climbing, sucking up, favoritism, and back stabbing. One of the most toxic places I have ever worked at. The good ol white boys club is still thriving. If you are a person of color, please avoid this company you will not be going above your current position. They tout diversity, but that’s really just diversity of Europeans they bring over from Germany or Switzerland. One look at the csuite or even at a director level and you will see a homogeneous set of people. This carries into the overall workplace culture. Over 5 years I’ve worked here and never saw any person of color being promoted.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Robert Bosch Tool Corporation Response

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review about our management team, we are disappointed and sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with Bosch. Strong, competent leadership and treating others in an unbiased and fair manner is imperative to our standards as a company, and we embrace the diversity of our associates. We are concerned to hear about your negative experience and will forward your feedback to the responsible team. Should you have further details to share please don’t hesitate to email us at feedback@us.bosch.com. — Your Bosch Team

  4. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Good place, limited growth

    Aug 25, 2022 - Logistics Specialist in Mount Prospect, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Stable, solid benefits, great people, not much pressure. Great place to retire at.

    Cons

    Red tape, lack of agility in decision making, limited growth/compensation for high performers which is leading to talent exiting the door. There is air of the expectation that the pension/benefits (which are very solid) will outweigh not paying a competitive salary.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Robert Bosch Tool Corporation Response

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback! We hear you and would love to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. Please email us at feedback@us.bosch.com — Your Bosch Team

  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Poor Leadership

    Aug 26, 2022 - Sales in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company, good benefits, good product

    Cons

    Poor leadership, rewards “yes men”, hates opinions that counter an individual leaderships points, stifles those based on personal points rather than business or intellectual points. Sales leadership is all ego based.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Robert Bosch Tool Corporation Response

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review about our management team. Treating others in an unbiased and fair manner is imperative to our moral standards as a company, thus we are concerned to hear about your negative experience and will forward your feedback to the responsible team. Should you have further details to share please don’t hesitate to email us at feedback@us.bosch.com. — Your Bosch Team

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Company culture like you wish was everywhere

    Jul 8, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Competitive pay, great support, and generally amazing people everywhere to work with

    Cons

    On-boarding process is severely lacking. Once you're in and settled its great but the first few weeks/months can be shaky

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Robert Bosch Tool Corporation Response

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback! We hear you and would love to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. Please email us at feedback@us.bosch.com. — Your Bosch Team

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good place to work

    Jun 5, 2022 - Internship in Mount Prospect, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of job mobility oppertunity

    Cons

    Management comes from Germany, so things could feel out of touch.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Robert Bosch Tool Corporation Response

    Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We greatly appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’ve had a good experience collaborating with us. — Your Bosch Team

  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great company to work for.

    Jul 21, 2022 - Senior Server Engineer in Mount Prospect, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A lot to learn if you are willing to put the effort.

    Cons

    Nothing important to mention here.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Robert Bosch Tool Corporation Response

    Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We greatly appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’ve had a good experience collaborating with us. — Your Bosch Team

  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Bad management, benefits minimal, generally bad people

    May 7, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Mount Prospect, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I appreciated their WFH policy, which was kind of forced upon them due to an increasingly crowded floor. 2 days per week we could WFH, but you also surrendered a guarantee on your cubicle. Cafeteria onsite is nice. Free coffee, I guess. Right next door is a large park, which I went for walks on during breaks. Probably the best perk if I'm being honest.

    Cons

    Worked at Bosch in IT for a few years, and still in touch with some people who worked here. I write this from the perspective of a young, white, male American. The management of the company, at least in the IT sector, leaves a lot to be desired. I had a manager that asked me to do some questionably illegal things with a customer's data. My department head told my manager I had to move to a desk away from my team so his personal assistant could be closer to him. This was after our floor instituted a WFH policy I opted out of, while the deptartment head and his assistant were routinely out of office 2-3 days out of the week. I was moved two rows of cubicles away from my team. I left while my department was in the process of moving a lot of our work onto low paid IT workers in India. Yes - we were being paid to make our jobs less necessary, so the company could cut labor costs. The company is based in Germany, and throughout my time there I felt subservient to them. Each team had an equal in one of the three or four other regions of the world - NA, SA, APAC, EU, though it was kinda "separate but equal" if you know what I mean. The germans had final says in everything. Promotions were tied to moving to Gemany. In fact, I recently found out my old manager was promoted and moved to Germany. Before, he worked in Brazil, promoted to America, then again to Germany. India was bottom of the barrel, despite working a lot of hours and getting worse pay. Our team leaders, and frankly my own team, treated them poorly. I recall one of my teammates questioning the intelligence of our Indian counterparts, one of whom had a master's degree. They were routinely ridiculed behind closed doors, but nothing really said to their face. Rubbed me the wrong way. Benefits in America were rather abysmal compared to what I got from future jobs and what I'd expect from any multimillion dollar international company. I got five national holidays, 10 days of vacation and high deductible healthcare. I believe I also had dental and vision, but at least dental also had a high deductible. I had to get a root canal, which I paid entirely out of pocket for, costing me 2,000 dollars. Healthcare was a 6,000 dollar deductible. I think vision wasnt so bad. They have a 401k plan, I cannot recall if the company matched or not or to what extent, but I remember being surprised when my most recent employer gave me 5%. My most recent employer, by the way, is a smaller company based in India, for reference. The days off though is what gets me. Every single team that wasn't based in America got what seemed like at least double the holidays we got, and more vacation as well. You couldn't get more vacation until you worked there for 3 or 5 years. Brazilians got half days every Friday. I recall when the question of why Americans get so few days off was posted to a higher up, the guy said because American laws don't have a minimum. Which about explains everything about my experience at Bosch. The minimum. There was a particular week where basically I was tasked by my manager to work with TVs. My job titled had nothing to do with TVs. One of my duties during this week was to wait for and keep company a TV repair man. Every year, each regional team hosted the other regional teams. Work never got done that week, but a whole lot of meetings did. And you were expected to be especially good for the Germans there. My "performance" during this week long get together was upsetting to my boss, because I missed a half an hour of an appoximately three hour meeting to help a customer, and because I guess my head was down for some of the meeting? No more down than any other meeting I attended. Sometimes they send Germans down to berate us on how we aren't doing well enough a job. There was one guy who came to our plant from Germany to host a week long seminar. During one of these sessions, he was just yelling at us for nothing in particular any of us did, but some failures of the company. Generally I did not like my coworkers. I would stay far away from the infrastructure side of IT at Bosch. The networking team was the exception, I liked them a lot. The entire backup team got laid off because they weren't doing their job, apparently (which, ya know, good for them). My most pleasant experiences were with the developers, and the aforemention networking team.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Robert Bosch Tool Corporation Response

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review about our management team. Treating others in an unbiased and fair manner is imperative to our moral standards as a company, thus we are concerned to hear about your negative experience and will forward your feedback to the responsible team. Should you have further details to share please don’t hesitate to email us at feedback@us.bosch.com. — Your Bosch Team

  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years