Robert Walters Reviews

Updated May 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.7
91%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Robert Walters Chief Executive Officer Robert Walters
Robert Walters
48 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendly, collaborative working environment(in 48 reviews)

  • "good training and support, international environment(in 34 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "long hours but to be expected in recruitment(in 50 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance, flexibility, KPI based progression(in 27 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great people; fun and challenging work

      Apr 7, 2021 - Senior Consultant in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      RW hires smart, fun, and diverse people and puts a big emphasis on developing and promoting from within. If you're new and don't have recruiting experience they do a good job of providing hands-on training. If you have been with the firm for 2+ years you can also transfer to any of the 30+ offices around the world and people have actually done this! Good work-life balance for an agency and while KPIs are important, they do not micromanage especially once you've proven yourself. They also do fun quarterly team-building events such as taking a field trip to the cowboy town in Half Moon Bay. Definitely recommend!

      Cons

      How bonuses are actually calculated has always been a bit of a mystery to me. Still, bonuses are generous and you do make good money

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Experience with Opportunities for Growth

      Jan 3, 2021 - Senior Consultant in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Robert Walters is truly a great place to launch your career in recruitment. Having had no prior experience, they provided me with really great training taught by fellow teammates and managers. They allow you to learn by doing on day one. Even though you get thrown in to searches rather quickly, in my experience, it was the best way to learn and you always had your manager there to support you and ensure everything was going smoothly until you felt confident to be on your own. RW SF has a truly great culture! It's a place where you want to spend time after work with your coworkers because they're a fun group and you really get to know them on more of a personal level.

      Cons

      It might feel like you're working longer days, but what you put in is what you get out. Also, when you do go on vacation, you know you always have your manager and team to support you, so you don't have to worry about it and can be completely offline.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Best Job I Have Had to Date

      Mar 31, 2021 - Senior Consultant in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture of transparency, sincerity, quality of work, and collaboration

      Cons

      outdated crm tool, but are undergoing upgrade

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to learn recruitment from incredibly intelligent, supportive, hardworking colleagues

      Nov 11, 2020 - Associate Director in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Outstanding training. Managers and consultants were creative with organizing team-based book clubs, hosting lunch and learns (often by impressive candidates/clients), and other forms of less formal training in addition to carefully planned onboarding, overnight retreats, and office-wide training. I was even trained in London for management training and able to travel to various international and domestic offices. For someone without any experience in recruitment like myself, or for someone that has been in an environment where it's largely self-taught, it's a great place to hone your skills and develop confidence in your recruitment skills, market insight, and ability to advise candidates/clients. -Frequent touch points with both your direct manager and upper levels of management. Before RW I rarely had the opportunity to ask questions or discuss my career ambitions with my managers. I had never had regular 1:1s, team meetings, and appraisals that helped me feel like despite the day-to-day challenges I was progressing and growing. Simon, the MD, is very approachable, as are the directors and senior managers I worked with, and I always felt like they had my best interests when I was an individual contributor all the way through to a director.  -Quality of clients. Especially at the leveling RW covers, the reputation is stellar. There is tremendous goodwill in the market from many hard working recruiters going the extra mile and acting with integrity, and there is an impressive track record across nearly every domain within technology. You will be guaranteed to work with many of the fastest growing start-ups named on the Fortune 5000, and because of this you will have the opportunity to build a much better body of work and network than you would elsewhere.  -People. This is a cliche, but when you're working in an open floor plan in the professional services/sales, it really matters. We hired with careful discretion for culture, and I found myself in awe at the type of people we brought on board. You'll be surrounded by people that are driven and sharp, but also kind and modest. I remember a couple egos in the 6 years I spent, but I see a number that low as quite a feat.  -Career growth. Because RW promotes from within, and because there is career growth opportunities for people to build teams and step into management, there is absolutely zero reason a top performing recruiter shouldn't have the opportunity to rise the ranks. This is especially true given the office doesn't have the same hierarchy that others in the Group do, and because Simon and the management team have been creative with how to further split up teams and establish new functional specializations. It was really fun being part of these promotions and taking on more responsibility.

      Cons

      -Stress. This is inherent to any job in the professional services, and especially recruitment. It affects each individual differently, and I think it largely is a personal rather than company issue. There is always something you can be doing, and the highest performing recruiters need to work several demanding searches simultaneously if they want to achieve success. The company is understanding and supportive, but you will need to understand that at times you will have difficult conversations with candidates and clients, and you will feel overwhelmed.  -Hours. This is also inherent to recruiting and I never really had a problem with it as I haven't had a job before RW that was a strict 9-5. There are certainly successful recruiters that have managed a lifestyle that works for them at RW. Eventually, I was able to do this as well, but there were times where I knew I had to be always 'on.' The hours certainly have gotten much better as our network and tools are more efficient.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good career start but needs to invest in improving culture and work/life balance.

      May 19, 2020 - Consultant in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good place to kick-start career if you have little to no experience. Clear growth trajectory and good training for new starters.

      Cons

      Poor work/life balance - Employees are expected to work overtime regularly, come in early and stay late. There's no flexibility when it comes to hours and you will face resistance when taking sick time or WFH (in regular times, employees often come into the office sick due to this). Little understanding for employees with long commutes, special circumstances, outside commitments, etc. Considering the office is based in SF, there are many other comparable companies with much better work/life culture. Very KPI driven - High pressure and competitive environment (it’s a sales role), although this is to be expected in an agency setting such as this. Inexperienced management - Most managers have worked their way up in the business and have no outside experience. Not very understanding and at times can be unprofessional. Need to invest more here and train managers in good HR practices. Outdated technology - Workflow is slowed down because of regular tech issues and lack of support. Internal software is dated and difficult to use.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Robert Walters Response

      Human Resources

      Thanks for your review. I appreciate you being so thorough in your feedback, even if I was disappointed to read much of it. First, I take on board your point about our technology/systems, and I can assure you that we are working on this and that it’s a top priority for the business. Second, you’re right – this is a commercial environment and every member of our team needs to be a high performer, but I also think we reward that hard work with trust, autonomy and as much flexibility as we can. And I’m personally very proud that we’re able to offer our staff a path to management — that’s why we’ve partnered with a market-leading management training firm to develop our managers and ensure we always follow HR best practices. That said, I would never endorse any action by any manager that put the health and wellbeing of our people at risk. I really value the culture we’ve built here, and I want every member of our team to get the support that he/she needs. I’d appreciate the chance to speak to you privately and get some further details about your experience – in complete confidence, of course. Please feel free to email me and we can set something up. Thanks, Simon Bromwell Managing Director – North America

    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great work environment and work that actually feels like a contribution.

      Nov 29, 2020 - Summer Intern in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing work environment and staff.

      Cons

      Pay was a little low, but internships are more about experience.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Wonderful experience - the best team & greatest opportunities to grow

      Aug 26, 2020 - Manager in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There is simply no better place to launch a career in recruitment. Robert Walters SF is known on the market for their track record and rigor, with a laser focus on helping tech companies make difficult hires. To do so means producing some of the strongest and most well-rounded professional recruitment consultants in the Bay Area. RW takes a unique approach in hiring individuals with little to no experience in the field and they train you up to be an expert in your specialized function. As an employee who came in with no prior recruitment experience, it was an empowering journey to learn and grow at this company. Consultants at RW are hired for aptitude and potential, and brought into an on-boarding/training program that is best-in-class. You'll quickly learn the ropes of recruitment in a hands-on approach that gives individuals a lot of autonomy, fast. Management and senior staff are there to provide guidance, support, and all the tools you need, but ultimately your success is based on your own effort and drive. Those who are hungry to challenge themselves and develop professionally will thrive here. RW SF provides you the space to take on more responsibility from day one. You'll spend a lot of time upfront on candidate sourcing but will quickly take on a consultative approach with candidates and clients, responsible for everything that happens on your desk; from business development, contract and offer negotiation, to advising on interview processes or career moves. I was amazed how quickly I learned the market and felt confident having difficult conversations to wrangle even the most impressive and tenured candidates/clients - it's an incredible opportunity to build professional confidence in this way, especially so early in your career. You will be given clear metrics for what "success" looks like, as well as clear promotional targets. RW SF commits to "continued learning" in the form of offsite trainings for consultants at different stages in their career, management coaching, and collaboration with (and opportunities to visit!) other US or international offices. Last, but certainly not least - this is not just a job, and not just a career. This was a place I learned from some of the best mentors in the business and made some of the best friends in my life. The team that RW SF has built is the best you can find. Caring, collaborative, smart, fun, and driven… there is always someone to learn from and someone to lean on. All said and done, the people and team are what make RW SF what it is. Other pros: -Generous salary & additional incentives for success -Benefits: PTO/holidays; health; dental; increased emphasis on mental wellness; 401k match; commuter benefits, etc. -Flexible WFH arrangements (esp. since COVID, understandably) -Great office location (convenient and super nice space with gym access!) -International presence & ability to travel/transfer internationally -Training programs & continued education -Events: weekly team Happy Hour; quarterly celebration; annual Christmas party; etc.

      Cons

      You will experience times when the job can feel repetitive or in a "rut". Recruitment is cyclical so this is something that ebbs and flows. You'll always be busy and always feeling that there is something more that can be done - it's not a con, but it's important for consultants to understand the drive needed, and to find the work/life balance that works for them. Early on, KPIs and metrics are used to get consultants up to speed and on track for what a successful recruitment process looks like. This can be over-drilled on at times and is not for everyone, but ultimately I found this structure to be a benefit most of the time, and could be relaxed a bit at others. A few people have mentioned the technology. This has actually improved a lot as the leadership team listened to this feedback and have overhauled on that over the past 2-3 years. It's continuing to be improved upon, and a non-issue in my book.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Career Launchpad w/ Int'l Opportunities

      Oct 14, 2020 - Senior Consultant in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Fast-paced work environment working with diverse and interesting client base -Good place for young professionals to jump into a recruitment/sales career with opportunities for rapid career advancement -Fun, lively, and inclusive office culture w/ plenty of external events -Opportunities for international relocation after 2 years -Good training and onboarding process for people without prior recruitment experience

      Cons

      -Comparatively long hours (just the nature of recruitment in general) -Benefits package is improving all the time, but still lagged other companies in the SF Bay Area in certain areas. 401K matching starts after a year.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A place for hustlers looking for strong career training and development

      May 14, 2020 - Consultant in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Robert Walters is a great place to launch you career in recruitment. The training process for new hires is top-notch, but employee development does not just stop after your first few months. The firm takes great responsibility in staying up to date with industry trends and providing resources to enable consultants at all levels to develop a consultative dialogue with clients and candidates. Awesome people, small (but growing!) office where everyone is welcomed and encouraged.

      Cons

      Recruitment is all about resilience. Management will support you towards achieving your goals, but there's no hand-holding in the business. As a new hire it can be a little overwhelming, but putting in the time and using the tools you're given in training will help you be successful.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to work

      Aug 27, 2020 - Senior Consultant in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, great team and great place to make money

      Cons

      So many opportunities to be had

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 492 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Robert Walters Job Seekers

    Recruitment Consultant
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Business Development Manager
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Robert Walters? Share Your Experiences

    Robert Walters logo
    or