KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Robert Walters

Is this your company?

Robert Walters

Add a Review

Robert Walters Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Jan 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.7
91%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Robert Walters Chief Executive Officer Robert Walters
Robert Walters
49 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendly, collaborative working environment(in 48 reviews)

  • "good training and support, international environment(in 34 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "long hours but to be expected in recruitment(in 50 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance, flexibility, KPI based progression(in 27 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "long hours"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Robert Walters - San Francisco, CA Office

      Nov 21, 2018 - Senior Recruitment Consultant in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to start a recruiting career from the beginning or refine your recruiting skills and learn from people who have been in the recruiting industries for many years! Prior to joining RW, I had 3 years of inside sales experience and found RW as a great opportunity to make a career switch into a field driven by relationships & networking in person. It gave me exposure to a wide variety of business industries, helped me learn how startups are typically structured and broadened my business acumen. HIGHLIGHTS: - the types of clients RW partners with in the SF office are venture backed tech startups primarily so there is a wide variety of industries to learn about, you get to meet with founders/CEOs/VPs/VC Firm Partners in an ever growing and hot candidate market in Silicon Valley where generally candidates are very opportunistic and open to speaking with recruiters. - Team oriented environment leads to a really strong internal culture. This is not a boiler room/ cold-calling old school recruitment style environment, rather you are incentivized to work collaboratively as a team, helping your teammates as well as helping your clients & candidates find the perfect match which just feels like a win/win all around. - on the culture note... ONE OF THE BEST! The office is large enough to have a variety of personalities for a diverse mix of thought but small enough that you really get to know your coworkers. Lots of people hang out together outside of work, quarterly offsites are always fun and planned with unique activities around the Bay Area and all around you’re guaranteed to laugh with supportive coworkers who genuinely care about each other. Plus they just moved the SF office into a snazzy new building that is really modern and has some of the classic tech startup perks (standup desks, snacks, coffee, ping pong, comfy chairs etc) - there is more of an emphasis on being strategic with your clients/candidates, if you are a people person who values face to face coffees/lunches/meetings, you will do well here as leadership understands the value of getting out in front of clients/candidates in person. - opportunity for transfers internationally or to other domestic offices is very real, RW is one of the few companies I know that make it easy and encourage any interest to work abroad with other offices (~60 office worldwide to choose from as well) - Incredible philanthropic opportunities within the company like Charity Days & Fundraisers/Donations... I was lucky enough to go on a company sponsored volunteer trip to Kenya, Africa in partnership with a charity RW works closely with which was life-changing. - Leadership will invest time in you, just take the initiative to show that you hustle and want to learn and it will pay off. Lots of upward growth potential and career promotions available as well.

      Cons

      - Long hours but truly it’s a sales job (and compensated accordingly which is nice) so that’s not anything outside of what you’d expect with other similar jobs - the harder you work, the more it pays off. - It’s a bit of a learn by doing type of job, you will mess up at some point but be open to feedback with management and learn from mistakes. - Tech platforms weren't the latest and greatest as you'd expect being in the Bay Area but recently before I left there was upgrades happening and leadership would ensure tech/tools that were needed (we did get Macbook laptops approved for example).

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Career Launchpad w/ Int'l Opportunities

      Oct 14, 2020 - Senior Consultant in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Fast-paced work environment working with diverse and interesting client base -Good place for young professionals to jump into a recruitment/sales career with opportunities for rapid career advancement -Fun, lively, and inclusive office culture w/ plenty of external events -Opportunities for international relocation after 2 years -Good training and onboarding process for people without prior recruitment experience

      Cons

      -Comparatively long hours (just the nature of recruitment in general) -Benefits package is improving all the time, but still lagged other companies in the SF Bay Area in certain areas. 401K matching starts after a year.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Opportunities / Incredible People

      Apr 28, 2017 - Senior Consultant in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Robert Walters has an impressive track record of identifying incredible people from diverse backgrounds. They provide excellent training and support while getting ramped up, whether you arrive with prior recruitment experience or not. Robert Walters has a culture of promoting from within and the leadership cares deeply about helping you develop personally and professionally. There is a strong performance-based culture, but if you put in the time and effort, you will be recognized for your hard work and rewarded financially. Management in San Francisco leads by example and goes above and beyond to provide opportunities for success and development. Advice to anyone who is considering a role here: be prepared to work hard and leave your ego at the door. The office is made up of a group people who have amazing work ethics, remarkable achievements, and a lot of humility too – a “your success is my success” type of environment. PROS Autonomy: space to work independently and manage your own day, but lots of support as and when you need it Growth: clear KPIs and path to promotion with achievable targets Collaboration: everyone is truly invested in each other's success Exposure: access to leading VC's, start-up founders / entrepreneurs, and the Bay Area’s top talent People: the people at RW are diverse, self-driven, motivating, inspiring, and fun! Work hard and management will continue to open doors for you Culture: performance-driven and fun. This office takes time to celebrate each other's success often and partakes in quarterly off-sites & plenty of informal happy hours Recognition: strong culture of recognizing individual achievements, authentically

      Cons

      Long hours, especially in the early days. That’s sales though, so not unique to RW Firm hours where you need to be in the office / lack of flexibility, but improvements have been made in this regard and I expect this will continue to evolve Outdated technology

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great culture, career development opportunities, and earning potential

      Dec 21, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Extremely lucrative if you work hard - Young employees (mostly British expects), lively environment - Very competitive, money driven - Incentives (ex: vacation in luxury destination for great sales performance)

      Cons

      - Long hours + high pressure - You have to be on your toes at all times to not fall behind, can be exhausting

      4 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      If you're not a recruiter you get shafted - back office, IT in particular stay away.

      Jan 15, 2021 - IT Support in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Better than being unemployed I suppose

      Cons

      Work hard all year round, go above and beyond to get a disgrace (if anything) come bonus/review time. - 3 years in a row now and always a new excuse "poor year/Covid/Brexit" even though if you check the annual reports the company always seems to be making a decent profit. Long hours, expected to work evenings and weekends for a pat on the back and a "this will be remembered come bonus time", which clearly is not the case. A new CIO came in a couple of years ago and to be fair he seems good, but should have cycled out some of the old SMT's in particular ones who change country every 3 months, cant really be productive when constantly changing country/continent. Will be blocked for promotion/team change by a certain SMT despite educating yourself and proving you are capable of doing the job and the manger of said team wants you in the team, if you are not a favourite for bowing down to him.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Robert Walters Response

      Human Resources

      Thanks for your review. I understand your frustrations and appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. I am, of course, disappointed to read your comments; I want all our team members to have access to the opportunities they deserve. I’d been keen to get a few more details about your experience — if you’re keen to do so, please email me (kevin.bulmer@robertwalters.com) directly and we can set up a completely confidential call. Kev Bulmer Group IT Director

    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Make sure you please your senior well!!!

      Sep 17, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Hong Kong
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Plenty of incentives Good annual leave and employee's insurance package Well organized training sessions, great for the less experienced recruiters Lively company culture Very multicultural Colleagues do tend to support each other ie great team spirit Workload does come in waves from time to time, which is normal in a recruitment firm Company system is well structured, database is neat and well built in general, quite convenient in terms of daily operation

      Cons

      Life is hard if you are not your senior's favorite Was guaranteed a Discretionary Bonus, never receive one (mind: not that I did not perform well!) Total compensation is low in general compared to other commission houses, sometimes even considered unfair Typically very KPI driven in general, hence merciless micro management. This also leads to some individuals mass spamming emails to candidates with irrelevant job experiences or some even calling their private phones just to meet call time targets Long hours (not because of work load, but because the senior is still around, and you WON'T want to be the one leaving earlier even though it is way after work hours) Be ready to anticipate work-related messages from your senior at non-office hours/weekends Team culture and mentality is too diverse among different teams, more of like a heaven and hell kind of situation Seriously political among seniors across teams

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Robert Walters Response

      Human Resources

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I agree with you when you say that our workplace culture is lively and diverse — that’s something we’re really proud of. Of course, I was disappointed to read your comments about your experience with management, and if it’s alright with you, I’d like to get a few more details about your time with us so that I can look into what happened and how we can make things better for the future. If so, please feel free to email me at sommer.nisbet@robertwalters.com.hk and we can arrange a confidential conversation. Sommer Nisbet HR Director, Greater China

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Really good

      Jan 17, 2021 - Consultant in Tokyo
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, training, people and salary

      Cons

      Fairly long hours, very kpi driven

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great training and culture

      Jan 20, 2021 - Researcher in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Training Culture Autonomy Mature working environment Great staff retention during pandemic

      Cons

      Can be cutthroat but that is recruitment Long hours but that is also expected in rec

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good place to learn

      Dec 22, 2020 - Senior Consultant in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -leading agency -reputable brand -clear progression plans -great PSA accounts -fun culture

      Cons

      -discretionary bonus structure is unclear -long hours expected -you will be micro managed through your kpi’s -can be a bit of a high school environment with politics

      3 people found this review helpful

      Robert Walters Response

      Human Resources

      Thanks for your review. I agree with your points about our fun culture and clear progression opportunities and I think we’ve made a lot of great investments to address work/life balance. Indeed, I want all our people to have the flexibility and autonomy they need to do their jobs well, without being held back by micromanagement or office politics. I’d be really keen to get some more details from you so that we can make any necessary improvements, so please feel free to email me at at james.dalrymple@robertwalters.com.au and we can set up a confidential conversation. James Dalrymple Director – Robert Walters Melbourne

    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Global company with a corporate environment

      Nov 23, 2020 - Recruitment Consultant in Brisbane
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people and a fun culture

      Cons

      Long working hours. Too many managers

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Robert Walters Response

      HR

      Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I'm pleased to hear that you found our culture fun and enjoyable - our strong team culture is something that we’re really proud of. I know that getting the right work/life balance isn't always easy, and it's been tough at times as we and lots of other organisations have navigated the challenges posed by Covid-19. We are fortunate to have a robust tech setup which enables flexibility for our staff, but I know there's always more we can do to improve. If you have any other comments or feedback, I’d be happy to hear them – feel free to email me and we can set up a confidential chat -sinead.hourigan@robertwalters.com.au Thanks, Sinead Hourigan - Managing Director – Brisbane

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 41 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Robert Walters Job Seekers

    Recruitment Consultant
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Business Development Manager
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Robert Walters? Share Your Experiences

    Robert Walters logo
    or