Robert Walters Employee Reviews about "recruitment"

Updated Nov 1, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 74 of over 1,023 reviews

4.6
94%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Robert Walters CEO Toby Fowlston
Toby Fowlston
2 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "recruitment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Supportive and stable company with exceptional career opportunities

    Jul 14, 2021 - Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Responded to the pandemic in phenomenal way all things considered - Able to keep everyone employed during an unprecedented time, whilst most other recruitment companies were making lay offs - In the center of a booming market, consistent flow of business coming in from clients, new and existing - Supportive leadership with a flexible approach to the way we now work in response to the changes in demands since the pandemic - Opportunities are there if you want them, work hard and ask for what you want next, even if it can't happen right away you'll be given guidance on how you can get there - Diversity initiatives are there and you can tell there's meaningful work been put into this strategy in the past 18 months - Huge push on work life balance more so in the last 18 months than ever before - Unbeatable culture, collaborative and fun !

    Cons

    - For a while there was uncertainty about what the new normal would look like and took us a while to figure that out - The market is challenging at the moment with a candidate short market, so we have to work a bit harder to close people but we're empowered to do what we need to in order to make it happen

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Experience with Opportunities for Growth

    Jan 3, 2021 - Senior Consultant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Robert Walters is truly a great place to launch your career in recruitment. Having had no prior experience, they provided me with really great training taught by fellow teammates and managers. They allow you to learn by doing on day one. Even though you get thrown in to searches rather quickly, in my experience, it was the best way to learn and you always had your manager there to support you and ensure everything was going smoothly until you felt confident to be on your own. RW SF has a truly great culture! It's a place where you want to spend time after work with your coworkers because they're a fun group and you really get to know them on more of a personal level.

    Cons

    It might feel like you're working longer days, but what you put in is what you get out. Also, when you do go on vacation, you know you always have your manager and team to support you, so you don't have to worry about it and can be completely offline.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Great place to learn recruitment from incredibly intelligent, supportive, hardworking colleagues

    Nov 11, 2020 - Associate Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Outstanding training. Managers and consultants were creative with organizing team-based book clubs, hosting lunch and learns (often by impressive candidates/clients), and other forms of less formal training in addition to carefully planned onboarding, overnight retreats, and office-wide training. I was even trained in London for management training and able to travel to various international and domestic offices. For someone without any experience in recruitment like myself, or for someone that has been in an environment where it's largely self-taught, it's a great place to hone your skills and develop confidence in your recruitment skills, market insight, and ability to advise candidates/clients. -Frequent touch points with both your direct manager and upper levels of management. Before RW I rarely had the opportunity to ask questions or discuss my career ambitions with my managers. I had never had regular 1:1s, team meetings, and appraisals that helped me feel like despite the day-to-day challenges I was progressing and growing. Simon, the MD, is very approachable, as are the directors and senior managers I worked with, and I always felt like they had my best interests when I was an individual contributor all the way through to a director.  -Quality of clients. Especially at the leveling RW covers, the reputation is stellar. There is tremendous goodwill in the market from many hard working recruiters going the extra mile and acting with integrity, and there is an impressive track record across nearly every domain within technology. You will be guaranteed to work with many of the fastest growing start-ups named on the Fortune 5000, and because of this you will have the opportunity to build a much better body of work and network than you would elsewhere.  -People. This is a cliche, but when you're working in an open floor plan in the professional services/sales, it really matters. We hired with careful discretion for culture, and I found myself in awe at the type of people we brought on board. You'll be surrounded by people that are driven and sharp, but also kind and modest. I remember a couple egos in the 6 years I spent, but I see a number that low as quite a feat.  -Career growth. Because RW promotes from within, and because there is career growth opportunities for people to build teams and step into management, there is absolutely zero reason a top performing recruiter shouldn't have the opportunity to rise the ranks. This is especially true given the office doesn't have the same hierarchy that others in the Group do, and because Simon and the management team have been creative with how to further split up teams and establish new functional specializations. It was really fun being part of these promotions and taking on more responsibility.

    Cons

    -Stress. This is inherent to any job in the professional services, and especially recruitment. It affects each individual differently, and I think it largely is a personal rather than company issue. There is always something you can be doing, and the highest performing recruiters need to work several demanding searches simultaneously if they want to achieve success. The company is understanding and supportive, but you will need to understand that at times you will have difficult conversations with candidates and clients, and you will feel overwhelmed.  -Hours. This is also inherent to recruiting and I never really had a problem with it as I haven't had a job before RW that was a strict 9-5. There are certainly successful recruiters that have managed a lifestyle that works for them at RW. Eventually, I was able to do this as well, but there were times where I knew I had to be always 'on.' The hours certainly have gotten much better as our network and tools are more efficient.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Great Career Launchpad w/ Int'l Opportunities

    Oct 14, 2020 - Senior Consultant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Fast-paced work environment working with diverse and interesting client base -Good place for young professionals to jump into a recruitment/sales career with opportunities for rapid career advancement -Fun, lively, and inclusive office culture w/ plenty of external events -Opportunities for international relocation after 2 years -Good training and onboarding process for people without prior recruitment experience

    Cons

    -Comparatively long hours (just the nature of recruitment in general) -Benefits package is improving all the time, but still lagged other companies in the SF Bay Area in certain areas. 401K matching starts after a year.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Wonderful experience - the best team & greatest opportunities to grow

    Aug 26, 2020 - Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There is simply no better place to launch a career in recruitment. Robert Walters SF is known on the market for their track record and rigor, with a laser focus on helping tech companies make difficult hires. To do so means producing some of the strongest and most well-rounded professional recruitment consultants in the Bay Area. RW takes a unique approach in hiring individuals with little to no experience in the field and they train you up to be an expert in your specialized function. As an employee who came in with no prior recruitment experience, it was an empowering journey to learn and grow at this company. Consultants at RW are hired for aptitude and potential, and brought into an on-boarding/training program that is best-in-class. You'll quickly learn the ropes of recruitment in a hands-on approach that gives individuals a lot of autonomy, fast. Management and senior staff are there to provide guidance, support, and all the tools you need, but ultimately your success is based on your own effort and drive. Those who are hungry to challenge themselves and develop professionally will thrive here. RW SF provides you the space to take on more responsibility from day one. You'll spend a lot of time upfront on candidate sourcing but will quickly take on a consultative approach with candidates and clients, responsible for everything that happens on your desk; from business development, contract and offer negotiation, to advising on interview processes or career moves. I was amazed how quickly I learned the market and felt confident having difficult conversations to wrangle even the most impressive and tenured candidates/clients - it's an incredible opportunity to build professional confidence in this way, especially so early in your career. You will be given clear metrics for what "success" looks like, as well as clear promotional targets. RW SF commits to "continued learning" in the form of offsite trainings for consultants at different stages in their career, management coaching, and collaboration with (and opportunities to visit!) other US or international offices. Last, but certainly not least - this is not just a job, and not just a career. This was a place I learned from some of the best mentors in the business and made some of the best friends in my life. The team that RW SF has built is the best you can find. Caring, collaborative, smart, fun, and driven… there is always someone to learn from and someone to lean on. All said and done, the people and team are what make RW SF what it is. Other pros: -Generous salary & additional incentives for success -Benefits: PTO/holidays; health; dental; increased emphasis on mental wellness; 401k match; commuter benefits, etc. -Flexible WFH arrangements (esp. since COVID, understandably) -Great office location (convenient and super nice space with gym access!) -International presence & ability to travel/transfer internationally -Training programs & continued education -Events: weekly team Happy Hour; quarterly celebration; annual Christmas party; etc.

    Cons

    You will experience times when the job can feel repetitive or in a "rut". Recruitment is cyclical so this is something that ebbs and flows. You'll always be busy and always feeling that there is something more that can be done - it's not a con, but it's important for consultants to understand the drive needed, and to find the work/life balance that works for them. Early on, KPIs and metrics are used to get consultants up to speed and on track for what a successful recruitment process looks like. This can be over-drilled on at times and is not for everyone, but ultimately I found this structure to be a benefit most of the time, and could be relaxed a bit at others. A few people have mentioned the technology. This has actually improved a lot as the leadership team listened to this feedback and have overhauled on that over the past 2-3 years. It's continuing to be improved upon, and a non-issue in my book.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A place for hustlers looking for strong career training and development

    May 14, 2020 - Consultant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Robert Walters is a great place to launch you career in recruitment. The training process for new hires is top-notch, but employee development does not just stop after your first few months. The firm takes great responsibility in staying up to date with industry trends and providing resources to enable consultants at all levels to develop a consultative dialogue with clients and candidates. Awesome people, small (but growing!) office where everyone is welcomed and encouraged.

    Cons

    Recruitment is all about resilience. Management will support you towards achieving your goals, but there's no hand-holding in the business. As a new hire it can be a little overwhelming, but putting in the time and using the tools you're given in training will help you be successful.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Supportive team that hustles

    Oct 12, 2019 - Recruitment Consultant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's a great office to get a start in recruiting especially if you haven't had prior experience. Before joining RW SF, I was in a technical industry with no recruitment experience. They have a great team that coaches you through their process to be efficient and successful. I really enjoyed the opportunity to work with some of the fastest growing startups in the Bay Area. I was exposed to different industries, orgs, and leaderships that made me appreciate the value recruitment brings to these teams. This office is especially helpful to understand the SF market if you are a transplant and/or new to tech. Some of my favorite things about Robert Walters: - Great culture! They foster a collaborative culture where everyone is working together. People are always going out to events, HH, or just hanging out outside of work. - They teach you resilience. Recruiting can be tough sometimes but the team here is able to coach you through the lows so that you can come out on top while celebrating the highs so that you continue to chase that feeling. - The Robert Walters approach to recruitment is more strategic and high touch in comparison to other firms which is why the leadership here emphasizes quality over quantity. It really makes you take a step back to see the field as a chess board and how you can make the most out of each move. -

    Cons

    - They are currently in process of testing new platforms, but, during my time, their platform is pretty outdated. Don't get me wrong though! It works and works well, but it just isnt as intuitive and user friendly as some of the other software today. - This is still an agency and a sales job at the end of the day. You only get out as much as you put it and it can be tough. You have to hustle and have grit when it comes to recruitment. This is not a startup where you can relax and get by. Although it is not KPI driven, there are other metrics of success which reflect your hustle.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Growth Opportunities & Team Culture!!

    May 9, 2019 - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. Office Culture - we are a small but mighty Team at the moment, and the culture is really wonderful. We work hard, but it is very collaborative and team members are recognized and commended for the hard work they put in. As we continue to grow, we look for people to join the Team who have values that mirror ours, who we know are good humans and who we know we'd like to spend time with! Diversity of thought and experience is highly valued by RW CA which I really love as well. 2. Career Growth Opportunities - if you work hard, and provide value to the business you will be offered great career progression opportunities, and quite quickly. There is also great support & resources to learn and develop your skills/ weakness & whatever focus areas you'd like to take on. 3. 360 approach - this means you get to do it all. Business develop, manage clients, lead searches, etc. Vs. being silo'd to one specific piece of the recruitment process (not as engaging/ dynamic imo) 4. Long Term/ Consultative Approach as a Business - We aren't a staffing firm. Our practice is focused more on the quality of the relationships we build than the volume. And most of the candidates we are in touch with are not active. We play the long game, and as such the role is more engaging as you get to be higher touch with candidates and clients and add-value by advising our partners. You are also offered quite a bit of autonomy if the trust is there. 5. International Opportunities - Once you are with a practice for a min of 2yrs, you have the ability to transfer to any office in the world (we have 65 office internationally)! RW CA truly keeps their word with this, and will help you make the transfer happen.

    Cons

    1. Large Public Corporate Company - this has its' advantages and disadvantages depending on what you value and what's important to you. But my nature of our size, there are parts of the culture that are a bit more "old school" in nature. Keep in mind, this is coming from someone who came from the start-up/ entrepreneurial world. All that to say, RW US leadership is quite progressive and for the last year has been implementing all sorts of new policies to foster more flexibility, tech optimizations, and trust in employees. It's been really neat to see the changes come to life, and it has positively impacted our culture even more. If the trust in you is there, they are very adaptable in making things work (i.e.: kids, health issues, geography/commute, etc.) 2. Can be longer hours, especially since we're building a business, but management is very upfront about this from the get go. Also - putting in the extra time is made easier, bc the work culture is fun, kind, collaborative and you know people always have your back.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Robert Walters - San Francisco, CA Office

    Nov 21, 2018 - Senior Recruitment Consultant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to start a recruiting career from the beginning or refine your recruiting skills and learn from people who have been in the recruiting industries for many years! Prior to joining RW, I had 3 years of inside sales experience and found RW as a great opportunity to make a career switch into a field driven by relationships & networking in person. It gave me exposure to a wide variety of business industries, helped me learn how startups are typically structured and broadened my business acumen. HIGHLIGHTS: - the types of clients RW partners with in the SF office are venture backed tech startups primarily so there is a wide variety of industries to learn about, you get to meet with founders/CEOs/VPs/VC Firm Partners in an ever growing and hot candidate market in Silicon Valley where generally candidates are very opportunistic and open to speaking with recruiters. - Team oriented environment leads to a really strong internal culture. This is not a boiler room/ cold-calling old school recruitment style environment, rather you are incentivized to work collaboratively as a team, helping your teammates as well as helping your clients & candidates find the perfect match which just feels like a win/win all around. - on the culture note... ONE OF THE BEST! The office is large enough to have a variety of personalities for a diverse mix of thought but small enough that you really get to know your coworkers. Lots of people hang out together outside of work, quarterly offsites are always fun and planned with unique activities around the Bay Area and all around you’re guaranteed to laugh with supportive coworkers who genuinely care about each other. Plus they just moved the SF office into a snazzy new building that is really modern and has some of the classic tech startup perks (standup desks, snacks, coffee, ping pong, comfy chairs etc) - there is more of an emphasis on being strategic with your clients/candidates, if you are a people person who values face to face coffees/lunches/meetings, you will do well here as leadership understands the value of getting out in front of clients/candidates in person. - opportunity for transfers internationally or to other domestic offices is very real, RW is one of the few companies I know that make it easy and encourage any interest to work abroad with other offices (~60 office worldwide to choose from as well) - Incredible philanthropic opportunities within the company like Charity Days & Fundraisers/Donations... I was lucky enough to go on a company sponsored volunteer trip to Kenya, Africa in partnership with a charity RW works closely with which was life-changing. - Leadership will invest time in you, just take the initiative to show that you hustle and want to learn and it will pay off. Lots of upward growth potential and career promotions available as well.

    Cons

    - Long hours but truly it’s a sales job (and compensated accordingly which is nice) so that’s not anything outside of what you’d expect with other similar jobs - the harder you work, the more it pays off. - It’s a bit of a learn by doing type of job, you will mess up at some point but be open to feedback with management and learn from mistakes. - Tech platforms weren't the latest and greatest as you'd expect being in the Bay Area but recently before I left there was upgrades happening and leadership would ensure tech/tools that were needed (we did get Macbook laptops approved for example).

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Amazing and rewarding company to work for!

    Feb 28, 2018 - Administrative Assistant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Awesome colleagues, fun and team-focused work environment, weekly happy hours, and overall just a great company that cares about you, your growth, and your future! I began working at Robert Walters closely after college in an admin role, and it's the perfect place to jump start your career, especially if you are interested in recruitment. Your work and efforts are always rewarded, recognized, and appreciated.

    Cons

    A few outdated and old school processes

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 74 Reviews

Popular Careers with Robert Walters Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Robert Walters? Share Your Experiences

Robert Walters logo
or