Robert Walters "working environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Robert Walters Employee Reviews about "working environment"

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 53 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Robert Walters CEO Robert Walters
Robert Walters
40 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people and a lovely working environment(in 32 reviews)

  • "Good training, great culture and opportunity to progress in your career in Australia or overseas(in 25 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "working environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Amazing and rewarding company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Robert Walters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome colleagues, fun and team-focused work environment, weekly happy hours, and overall just a great company that cares about you, your growth, and your future! I began working at Robert Walters closely after college in an admin role, and it's the perfect place to jump start your career, especially if you are interested in recruitment. Your work and efforts are always rewarded, recognized, and appreciated.

    Cons

    A few outdated and old school processes

    Advice to Management

    Don't be afraid to give admins more responsibility!

    Robert Walters2018-02-28
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Toxic recruitment environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Recruiter in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Robert Walters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - casual work environment. It's very hard to think of any pros given how far behind this environment compared to others.

    Cons

    - no career development - boys club management team - managers care more about their billings than there team. - none existent bonus's - no collaboration or direct vision - be careful they don't sell you on false benefits

    Advice to Management

    Create more collaboration across teams so everyone can be successful and be rewarded with bonuses no just the managers.

    Robert Walters2017-04-02

    Robert Walters Response

    May 25, 2017HR

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your opinion and take all employee feedback seriously. It’s disappointing to hear that you feel this way as we pride ourselves on being professional and hold ourselves to really high standards. We also encourage diversity - over 60% of our ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Really positive environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Recruiter in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Walters

    Pros

    Positive, supportive working environment Experienced management Successful office Great client base

    Cons

    Lots of hard work The San Francisco tech start-up market is exciting but complex and challenging

    Robert Walters2016-10-18
  4. "Office Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Walters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The best experience I've had in my professional career! I work with an incredible and diverse group of people - from all across the world - creating a unique work environment full of intelligent, hard working individuals with colorful personalities. This particular location embodies the "Work hard, Play hard" mentality. The staff is extremely supportive of one another which explains their consistent success. Above all,...

    Show More

    Cons

    I don't have anything negative to say about this company. I am very happy here.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to promote from within, reward your hard working employees, and inspire new employees with your excellent mentorship!

    Robert Walters2016-01-20
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Executive Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Recruiter in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Robert Walters full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun and young employees. Decent work environment. Good base pay and commission possibilities.

    Cons

    Micro managed from day one. No freedom to build your book of business on your own terms. Strict following of KPIs regardless of results. Poor leadership and communication.

    Advice to Management

    Let your employees run their clients and candidates in their own way. Don't micromanage.

    Robert Walters2015-11-23

    Robert Walters Response

    December 30, 2015Robert Walters

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our fun working environment and good remuneration packages. We pride ourselves on our entrepreneurial environment and like to give our consultants the room ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Generally good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in New York, NY

    I worked at Robert Walters

    Pros

    Decent salary and benefits, many opportunities to attend events and meetings, good work environment. Energetic, fast-paced and dynamic atmosphere

    Cons

    Back office were not treated with respect as sales people. A lot of phone calls which can make it very noisy environment. Heavy work load.

    Robert Walters2015-05-31

    Robert Walters Response

    June 29, 2015Global HR Director

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very pleased to hear that you were happy with our salary and benefits package and enjoyed the working environment in the New York office. As you say yourself the atmosphere is energetic and fast-paced ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic Collaborative Learning Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Recruiter in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Robert Walters

    Pros

    Great management who cares about the staff and works hard daily to develop them. Cordial, fun work environment. Every day was a fun, new experience. Learnings and best practices are shared freely by all senior staff and leadership through both formal meetings and ad hoc gudance. The perfect place for a new recruiter just starting out or a seasoned pro looking to up their game or mentor the next generation.

    Cons

    Sales can be a tough racket. This is not for everyone but if you have the drive and the passion, the leader of this firm's NY office will make it his mission to get you to be the best you can be.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. I miss my days there immensely and wish you all the best.

    Robert Walters2015-03-17

    Robert Walters Response

    May 22, 2015Global HR Director

    Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. We're very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time working at Robert Walters.

  8. "Super company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Robert Walters full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people and a lovely working environment. MD is very approachable with ‘open door’ approach. Hard working colleagues who don’t back stab each other. Good benefits and flexible working with strong tech support.

    Cons

    No office is perfect but generally issues resolved promptly.

    Robert Walters2019-05-09
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Scam - aweful company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Tokyo
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Robert Walters full-time

    Pros

    ・first advice from your co-worker "DO NOT trust anybody" ・always kept busy working environment - no time to take a rest ・lots of companies events - and gossips are around everywhere

    Cons

    ・strong micromanagement This is a scam company! Strongly high turnover rate. About 10 to 20 new employees are recruited every month, and only 1 or 2 will stay after 3 months. If you do not survive, you will be fired instantly. - Yes, the company think you are a robot. I highly disrecommend!

    Advice to Management

    Stop being a scam.

    Robert Walters2019-02-06

    Robert Walters Response

    February 8, 2019Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re very concerned about the issues you’ve raised and are keen to investigate further. Therefore, I’d appreciate it if you could contact me for a confidential conversation at jeremy.sampson@robertwalters.co.jp Many thanks, ...

    Show More
  10. "Great company to work for with fantastic opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in Manchester City Centre, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Robert Walters full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great working environment - given both autonomy to get on with work, whilst support is there if needed In-house training is of an excellent standard, really helped coming from a non-recruitment background Really good career opportunities, RW are big on internal progression and rewarding people for the work they put in. Definitely a meritocratic environment

    Cons

    As per all recruitment agencies, the hours can be long

    Robert Walters2018-03-14
Found 53 reviews