Roblox Reviews | Glassdoor

Roblox Reviews

Updated 13 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 114 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Roblox CEO David Baszucki
David Baszucki
97 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendly work environment, great culture(in 11 reviews)

  • "Free snacks, free lunch, and new building for workplace(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "No 401(k) matching for employees earning something considered a competitive salary in the Bay Area(in 4 reviews)

  • "Growing fast (which is good), but some people are having a hard time adjusting to the pace, and our self-organizing culture(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Midsized Heaven"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roblox full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Passionate employees and positive business outlook. Most of the interesting problems one might solve as engineer here are still up for grabs. Personal initiative to snag that one cool project is rewarded, and I feel my manager and director are investing heavily in my career success. CEO and VPs are very open to company-scale feedback and even as a relatively new person my input has been taken seriously and often acted...

    Show More

    Cons

    We're growing as a company and the organizational changes keep you on your toes. What was once tribal knowledge among tens of devs has had to be taught to hundreds.

    Roblox2019-06-14

    Roblox Response

    June 14, 2019Team Roblox

    Thank you for your comprehensive review of your experience here at Roblox! We're so glad that it has been as intended: flatly self-organized, with opportunities to have an impact on the direction of the company, as well as all the great challenges you're hoping to get your hands on. ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Roblox"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Call Center in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roblox full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I like talking to all the people on the phone.Also you don't have to spend a penny on food.

    Cons

    There is not alot of bad things about roblox at all.

    Roblox2019-05-07

    Roblox Response

    June 4, 2019Team Roblox

    Thank you for sharing. Roblox doesn't have a call center, but we can agree on this: "not a lot of bad things about Roblox at all."

  3. Helpful (3)

    "BEST PLACE TO WORK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Manager in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roblox full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love our company! In a nutshell, Roblox is a place where you will be surrounded by amazing people that will work with you collaboratively. Your work will be meaningful. The goal is for you to do the BEST work of your career. We have a visionary CEO. Very metta environment! The games on our platform are User Generated. Kids in our community are litterally making millions of dollars by building games! ...

    Show More

    Cons

    We are scaling rapidly. With that growth, there can be hick-ups. I will say, our CEO actively solicites feedback in casual forums (Ask Me Anythings at All Hands, and Brown Bag Lunches) to try to catch any glitch, or misunderstandings. Even what may appear to be a growing pain, or challenge often ends in an opportunity.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the focus where you have it! You guys are doing a great job!

    Roblox2019-04-18

    Roblox Response

    April 19, 2019Team Roblox

    We love that you love Roblox! And we agree: it's a great place to do the best work of your career because what we do is meaningful, and we get to do it with great folks like you. Keep up the good work - and be sure to lean in if you notice anything that can be improved upon as experience ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (4)

    "One of the coolest place that you can work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - User Experience Designer in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roblox full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1.) Very efficient recruiting process, Bette is definitely the best HR I have ever worked with. She is always pretty responsive, helpful and considerate. I also had a CEO interview for a non-manager role, I can tell this place really respects and values their candidates just from the recruiting process. 2). A lot of delicious snacks, drink, and fruits in the kitchen. They even have some ice creams which I like the...

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing particular at this moment.

    Roblox2019-03-31

    Roblox Response

    April 3, 2019Team Roblox

    Thank you for sharing your experience working at Roblox. We're so glad you're enjoying the transparency, the career growth, the work-life balance, and the delicious food! It is our intention that all of these aspects help you to do the best work of your career. Keep up the good work!

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Roblox, a place that truly Inspires"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roblox full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is so wonderful to be surrounded by such great minds - an amazing group of very smart and savvy colleagues. I have learned so much and have grown so much in the last year and half of being at Roblox. Seeing the impact of what we have created in the player community is so exciting and look forward to being apart of the growth at Roblox.

    Cons

    None come to mind.

    Roblox2019-03-28

    Roblox Response

    March 29, 2019Team Roblox

    Thank you for sharing your experience working at Roblox! We're glad that you are enjoying the community of intelligent minds, which you are no doubt adding your own brand of savvy to. Keep up the great work!

  6. Helpful (3)

    "Great Culture, Good People!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roblox full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun place to work. Proud to be apart of such an inspiring company. Roblox offers anyone who wants to build games the chance to do so. They provide so much opportunity for young developers to essentially build there own business. It's great to be apart of such a vision!

    Cons

    I do not have any cons to report

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing!

    Roblox2019-03-14

    Roblox Response

    March 22, 2019Team Roblox

    Thank you for such a great review! We're also proud that you're part of our inspiring workforce, helping to build the best platform for play. Keep up the good work!

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Roblox, helping accelerate my career in the right direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Operations Specialist in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roblox full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are passionate, knowledgeable and fun. Career growth opportunities are endless.

    Cons

    Open concept office can be distracting at times.

    Advice to Management

    Maintain the unique culture, focus on the most important goals, and continue to crush it!

    Roblox2019-03-14

    Roblox Response

    March 22, 2019Team Roblox

    Thank you for your review! We're glad you're enjoying the career growth opportunities alongside passionate, intelligent, and fun colleagues. We've shared your note internally about the open concept office, but if you'd like to dig in deeper offline, contact feedback@roblox.com.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "You will look so cool to your kids"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Roblox full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Kids love the product and you should be proud

    Cons

    Kinda startup, but it's been around for a while and codebase was somewhat far from modern.

    Roblox2019-03-19

    Roblox Response

    March 22, 2019Team Roblox

    Thank you for your feedback, which we use to continuously refine the employee experience so you can do the best work of your career. We are committed to reviewing the tech stack regularly to innovate at industry standards, and we thank you for your input.

  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great Experience All Around!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Staff in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roblox full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture where everyone is very helpful and willing to share ideas together. People are hungry to innovate and move the whole platform toward scalability! I've really enjoyed my entire experience from getting recruited, to interviewing, to today.

    Cons

    I don't see any cons thus far

    Advice to Management

    Invest in infrastructure... the outcome will be happy gammers world wide :)

    Roblox2019-02-28

    Roblox Response

    March 22, 2019Team Roblox

    Thank you for all the positivity - we’re happy you’re happy. We’re committed to building the best experiences for our Roblox community. If you’re interested in elaborating more about infrastructure investments, contact feedback@roblox.com.

  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great people, great work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roblox full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Definitely the people, very friendly and approachable - Growing fast - a lot of exciting opportunities - Free food and snacks

    Cons

    - The developer tools are a little outdated but there is focus to improve it now

    Roblox2019-02-26

    Roblox Response

    March 22, 2019Team Roblox

    We’re happy you’re a part of the team! Thank you for your feedback. We’re continually improving our tech stack based on industry standards and what works best for our engineers in the hopes that you can do the best work of your career.

Found 114 reviews