Roche Principal Scientist Reviews | Glassdoor

Roche Principal Scientist Reviews

Updated Jul 4, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Roche CEO Severin Schwan
Severin Schwan
9 Ratings
  1. "I enjoy working here a lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Bioinformatics Scientist in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roche full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    very exciting project and great colleagues great learning and growing opportunities benefits are fabulous and the compensation is pretty competitive transparent and direct communications (albeit being a big corporation) great support from my manager and the management teams

    Cons

    location is in Pleasanton communication between different sites can be challenging since we are in different time zones

    Advice to Management

    keep the great work going

    Roche2018-02-28
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Scientist in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roche full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good working environment, friendly coworkers and innovative scientists

    Cons

    too many layers, too many meetings

    Advice to Management

    Simplify work flow

    Roche2018-07-04
  3. Helpful (21)

    "Principal Scientist I"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Scientist in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Roche full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexibility and work-life balance. Good culture and teams and people are great to work with.

    Cons

    Pay is less, does not get evaluated according to current market, even though they say so.

    Roche2018-03-16
  4. Helpful (10)

    "Roche Molecular Systems, Pleasanton, CA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Scientist in Pleasanton, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Roche full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work/Life balance is great, because there is NOTHING competent to do in this place. You just don't have to learn anything new, but continue forth with ancient technologies (PCR) for as long as you are here. All you need to do to get a promotion is to suck up to your manager. Skills and caliber are irrelevant. Just look at the caliber of the Principal Scientists, Research Leaders, Directors and Vice Presidents in... your division for proof!

    Show More

    Cons

    Roche Molecular Systems, Pleasanton, CA is a gigantic cesspit where people 'think' they do science.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing, because when this place goes down, you will be the only people that can walk away with loaded pockets. The others deserve the fate they are setting themselves up for, given that they think that you are the 'leaders', and will go to ANY extent to suck up to you, just to stay afloat. Pathetic.

    Roche2017-11-16
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Principal Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Scientist in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Roche full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, talented colleagues, motivating HR department, great management and execs and projects that you can feel proud about.

    Cons

    A few very unkind, jealous and lazy people that need to be let go. I literally had a project sabotaged by one of them. It ruined the environment for me. Such a shame because it is an amazing company to work for.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Roche2017-05-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "caught in the change of global pharma environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Principal Scientist 
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Roche full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    generous to employees, good benefits,

    Cons

    too many middle managers to take free ride

    Advice to Management

    cut mediocre middle managers

    Roche2017-02-20
  7. "Sequencing company with potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Scientist I in Pleasanton, CA

    I have been working at Roche full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    get to work with state of the art technology

    Cons

    Overly aggressive time lines leads to under achieved milestones

    Advice to Management

    Ready, Fire , Aim mentality can be rethought

    Roche2017-02-09
  8. "Great company and very rewarding work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Scientist in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roche full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. amazing colleagues to work with 2. very rewarding projects to work on 3. team managers are very welling to listen to teams' suggestions/options and they show much appreciation to team members' work 4. great company benefits

    Cons

    1. location (our office is in Pleasanton) 2. not a lot of coffee/tea/soft drink options like most companies do and the cafeteria is pale in comparison with Genentech's (okay maybe I am asking too much ;-) )

    Advice to Management

    I'd be awesome if we can have our working environment like Genentech's? (e.g., cafeteria, gym)

    Roche2016-12-29
  9. "Associate Principal Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Associate Principal Scientist in Verona, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Roche for less than a year

    Pros

    World class pharmaceutical research conducted here.

    Cons

    Company slow to adopt the most recent technologies due to an ultra conservative approach.

    Advice to Management

    Experiment more with the newer technologies!

    Roche2016-12-09
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Fantastic place but pRED gRED Divide"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Scientist in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Roche full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Roche is a fantastic company to work for, but a lot depends on whether you are pRED or gRED. As far as salary, benefits and treating employees with respect, it is a wonderful place. There are enough opportunities for everyone to do well, grow and be rewarded.

    Cons

    gRED has an air of superiority over pRED, and its no fun being on the pRED side.

    Advice to Management

    pRED and gRED have very different cultures. Cannot directly compare the two organizations or their productivity, without changing management styles.

    Roche2014-10-21
Found 20 reviews