Roche Scientist Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Scientist

Roche Scientist Reviews

Updated 12 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Roche CEO Severin Schwan
Severin Schwan
31 Ratings
  1. "Data Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Data Scientist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roche for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours, Nice team, full of talented people

    Cons

    My supervisors are super busy

    Advice to Management

    No. James is the best.

    Roche2019-08-10
  2. "Best place to work in Tucson"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Scientist in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roche full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Smart people, good work/life balance

    Cons

    Lots of manager turnover can make it hard to advance

    Roche2019-10-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good cultural beliefs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roche full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Friendly knowledgeable most want to work together to achieve one goal. Not a competition.

    Cons

    Contingent or temporary workers moved from place to place too quickly

    Advice to Management

    The contingent work force leaves quickly. Are there any incentives to retain?

    Roche2019-10-09
  4. "Office politics soured experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Scientist I 

    I worked at Roche for less than a year

    Pros

    Overall, there are great people working there. Some decent management.

    Cons

    Other people in management will play politics/favoritism. As a low level employee you get caught in the middle and can't really do anything about it. If you are a contractor you had it even worse. I felt like most of us contractors were also underpaid for the amount of work we were doing (a lot of us have left).

    Roche2019-10-07
  5. "Good place to start, not to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Scientist in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roche for more than a year

    Pros

    Well established practices, teaches you good habits.

    Cons

    Hard to get converted to full time or promoted.

    Roche2019-10-02
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Roche Molecular Systems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Scientist in Branchburg Park, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Roche full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule , People Oreinted

    Cons

    Quality group very conservative. Can make implementing change difficult.

    Roche2019-08-03
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Applications Scientist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Roche full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Smart people, good comp package, interesting work

    Cons

    Takeover of life sciences by Kapa has been bad for innovation

    Roche2019-06-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Nice place to work usually"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Scientist 

    I have been working at Roche full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Usually nice place. People nuce

    Cons

    Technology is not the best

    Roche2019-06-21
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Good people, bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scientist in Pleasanton, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Roche full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work/life balance is good here. Lots of amazing scientists and engineers. It's a shame they're not being recognized for their exceptional work and potential. People are trickling out, as they should in an atmosphere that doesn't propel you in a positive direction.

    Cons

    They're no longer converting contingent staff. The culture there is dissipating. No longer innovative. Products are subpar and being pushed into the market with low quality. Company doesn't care about you and it shows. One word I would use to describe the company is 'uninspired.'

    Advice to Management

    Take a management course training. Understand that people come first.

    Roche2019-05-23
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good Company. Great Benefits. Would recommend to a friend."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Scientist in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Roche full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Solid Company to work for. Nice compensation package with great benefits. Working environment has a lot of flexibility. Great people to work with. Overall experience was very positive

    Cons

    Lacking in advancement in opportunity. Feels like the vision communicated from senior management and the day to day activities are somewhat misaligned.

    Roche2019-02-27
Found 97 reviews