Roche Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Dec 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
87%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Roche CEO Roche Group Severin Schwan
Severin Schwan
1,424 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roche full-time

    Pros

    benefits, cultural beliefs, work life balance

    Cons

    Takes a long time to be promoted

    Roche Response

    September 21, 2020Global Recruitment

    Thanks for taking time to share your view. Roche is continuously striving to offer employees a variety of possibilities for development, e.g. insights into other areas of work or internal training. All employees have the possibility to make use of the offers and develop their skills. In addition there are regular check-ins with leaders to discuss your goals and needs. We encourage you to profit from these offers. Thanks again for your review, we wish you all the best for your future within our company.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Its alright"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer I 

    I have been working at Roche full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Things are pretty stable in the company (its not going anywhere) - Benefits are expansive - Good work/life balance

    Cons

    - Seems that the only way to progress in the company is to jump teams. Its rare to see promotions for people who stay on the same team, only when they move to another team. - Pay is much less than similar positions in the area - Disconnect between upper management and actual workers

    Roche Response

    October 12, 2020Global Recruitment

    Thank you for your feedback. Our compensation policy is focused on the promotion of strong performance, profit sharing, fairness and transparency in payment decisions as well as ensuring a balance between base salary and performance benefits. We continuously measure our benefits packages against benchmarks to ensure they are competitive globally. Benefits packages offered by our affiliates are in line with the benefits policy of the Group. Roche wants to provide development possibilities for all employees. All of us are asked to take the initiative for our own development and Roche provides a variety of offers to support this. Regular check-ins with leaders continuously improve communication and help to define what is best for employees and leaders at a certain time. We encourage you to actively ask your leader for this exchange. Thanks again for your review, we wish you all the best for your future with Roche.


  3. "Good"

    5.0
    Current Contractor - Quality Specialist I in Santa Clara, CA

    I have been working at Roche

    Pros

    Good managers. Good work-life balance. Good people and team.

    Cons

    Nothing bad to describe or anything.

    Roche Response

    September 17, 2020Global Recruitment

    Great to hear your appreciation. Thanks for your review, we wish you all the best for your future within our company.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Very stable employer"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager III in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Roche full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Handled the COIVD crisis really well. Made a real commitment to not cut jobs. This company has been around for over 100 years, so they know how to weather a crisis. So as frustrating as it was at times to have to deal with the slow, methodical decision making, I grew to respect the leadership team for keep the ship going. While pay is low for the Bay Area, the benefits are pretty fantastic, especially retirement. The Express Development Opportunity program allows for you to try a role to augment skills or get perspective from another department. Work life balance is great, and I rarely worked more than 40 hours.

    Cons

    A long way to go on diversity. Lack of support for affinity groups, and to my knowledge, no dedicated D&I leadership. Genentech employees tend to have nicer perks and culture, and Roche could learn more from them. Be more proactive with employee development. It's not good enough to tell us that "our career is in our hands" without providing clear paths for advancement or lateral moves.

    Continue reading
  5. "Love this company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Systems Engineer I 

    I have been working at Roche

    Pros

    The company culture is great and people are nice to work with. Work life balance is amazing.

    Cons

    No benefits as a contractor

    Roche Response

    August 31, 2020Global Recruitment

    Thanks for sharing this positive review with us! We wish you all the best for your future with Roche.

  6. "Review"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 

    I worked at Roche full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance was good

    Cons

    no challenges for career development

    Roche Response

    September 17, 2020Global Recruitment

    Thanks for taking time to share your view.Roche wants to provide development possibilities for all employees. All of us are asked to take the initiative for our own development and Roche provides a variety of offers to support this. We are very sorry if you have not been supported adequately. Thanks again for your review, we wish you all the best for your future.

  7. "Hit and miss with management, good benefits"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roche full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, salary, culture, work life balance

    Cons

    Management is either hot or cold

    Roche Response

    August 20, 2020Global Recruitment

    Thanks for your feedback and input. Every employee deserves great leaders. We expect all of Roche's leaders to inspire and motivate employees in their team and support them by offering opportunities to continually discover, learn, develop and excel. Thanks again for your review, we wish you all the best for your future within our company.

  8. "Great stable company with good benefits"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist II in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roche full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company culture, Work life balance, flexible working hours, nice people

    Cons

    The Promotions take long time

    Roche Response

    July 29, 2020Global Recruitment

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us. Regular check-ins with leaders continuously improve communication and help to define what is best for employees and leaders at a certain time. We encourage you to actively ask your leader for this exchange. Thanks again for your review, we wish you all the best for your future within our company.

  9. "Great Internship"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Intern - Systems Integration Engineer in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Roche for less than a year

    Pros

    Have a well thought out internship program with assigned mentors and lots of intern only seminars including career development workshops. They treat you as if you were full time but still have a decent work life balance with some fun learning experiences included.

    Cons

    Hard to transition directly from intern to full-time. Usually become contract and then transition to full time after. Hierarchy is weird as people are shifted around in differing projects so line of command on paper may not necessarily be what is happening in actuality.

  10. "Can't say enough good things!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Roche full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Interesting work, great colleagues, ethical and sustainable business philosophy, great leadership at the very highest levels, work-life balance

    Cons

    Very big company - lots of process and sometimes slow decision-making

    Roche Response

    May 14, 2020Global Recruitment

    Thanks for taking time to share your view. Our market is highly regulated. This is why we have to stick to certain processes. We are continually striving to keep our processes as lean as possible. Thanks again for your review, we wish you all the best for your future.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 246 English Reviews