Rochester General Hospital Registered Nurse Reviews | Glassdoor

Rochester General Hospital Registered Nurse Reviews

Updated Feb 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
29%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Rochester General Hospital CEO Eric Bieber
Eric Bieber
1 Ratings
  1. "nursing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN III in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Rochester General Hospital for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great staff, and excellent physicians. enjoyed working here, and was sad to leave, the unit that I worked on (ICU) was staffed well. The pace was busy, pay was average

    Cons

    I loved my nurse manager- she worked along side us, and was fair. She did not show favoritism. Unfortunately, she retired, and the new manager, although approachable will never fill her shoes

    Advice to Management

    work with your staff, put on a pair of scrubs so that you understand what demands are made on your nursing staff- be a team player

    Rochester General Hospital2016-01-02
  2. "Extremely short staffed, with no nurse's aids."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Rochester, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rochester General Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Holiday Pay Friendly coworkers, Doctors are friendly

    Cons

    VERY short staffed. Patient ratio of 7:1, with some very acutely ill patients. Shortage of Patient care techs as well. Pay is not great. Benefits are not competitive. I have been through 3 managers in the past year and 1/2 of working here. The turnover is awful. Staff burn out quickly and management does not seem to take notice. Low staff morale.

    Advice to Management

    They need to increase benefits. Make this a place people would like to work by offering competitive salaries. Needs a nursing union to protect nurses since this hospital does not protect their nurses.

    Rochester General Hospital2019-02-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Better places for nurses to work for sure!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Rochester, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rochester General Hospital full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Innovative Facility Competitive Salary Majority of physician are great to work with Fantastic patient care

    Cons

    Horizontal violence among nursing staff and unit managers is horrific. If you speak up about inappropriate behaviors or treatment/bullying, you are not supported by management or HR. Favoritism runs rampant on the units. Nursing assignments are not divided equally and the nurse-patient ratios are unsafe.

    Advice to Management

    Treat staff equally. Lend a hand on the front lines when understaffed. Get rid of the managers that do not run cohesive units and maintain retention of the nurses. Obviously if turnover rates are high on specific units, then those managers are not effective!

    Rochester General Hospital2017-09-11
  4. Helpful (1)

    "RGH Units"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Rochester, NY

    I have been working at Rochester General Hospital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Teamwork is good. Coworkers are great.

    Cons

    Pay is low for the job expectations.

    Rochester General Hospital2017-06-12
  5. "Staff RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff RN 
    Recommends

    I worked at Rochester General Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, good training for new rns

    Cons

    Manager with no experience as a manager

    Advice to Management

    have a mentor for new management

    Rochester General Hospital2017-03-06
  6. "Good work enviroment, benefits are attrocious"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Rochester General Hospital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people, ususally well staffed, enjoyable place to work

    Cons

    shift differentials are terrible salaries are low holidays are non negotiable (no trading) health insurance is limited to GRIPA providers most of which do not accept new patients and severely limit mental health services

    Rochester General Hospital2016-06-25
  7. "Mixed review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Rochester General Hospital

    Pros

    Pay, co workers, patients, offered conferences, paid for recertification of AHA courses

    Cons

    Managemnt has favorites; unfair treatment of employees

    Advice to Management

    Take time to get to know employee; try to help your staff and not just help the organization

    Rochester General Hospital2016-02-14
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN III in Rochester, NY
    Recommends

    I worked at Rochester General Hospital

    Pros

    Great co-workers, excellent benefits package, extremely friendly working environment

    Cons

    Employees have to pay for parking, group within human resources known as talent acquisition are totally useless

    Advice to Management

    RGH is probably one of the best health care facilities to work for in the Rochester area. Every department I worked in had a total commitment to patient and family care. Unfortunately, I found the biggest problem to be with "talent acquisition." No one in that department EVER answers the phone. It has also been my experience that no one ever returns calls. In my opinion they need a total overhaul from the top down!

    Rochester General Hospital2015-12-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to work in ER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN III in Rochester, NY
    Recommends

    I worked at Rochester General Hospital for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Pay, Lots of opportunity for CE, Great people to work with, Ways to become RN I to RN II or II or IV, Great orientation

    Cons

    none noted for ER Department

    Rochester General Hospital2015-07-08
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Registered Nurse-Cardiac Cath Lab"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Rochester General Hospital for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great group of nurses to work with. Get to save lives for a living.

    Cons

    No support from management (manager, director, human resources). Just a warm body. No value placed on knowledge or experience. Sent home early a lot.

    Advice to Management

    Care about your employees. Treat them as humans, not warm bodies to abuse.

    Rochester General Hospital2015-08-12
Found 13 reviews