Rochester General Hospital Reviews | Glassdoor

Rochester General Hospital Reviews

Updated Aug 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 65 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
29%
Approve of CEO
Rochester General Hospital CEO Eric Bieber
Eric Bieber
6 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rochester General Hospital part-time

    Pros

    Training, people, opportunities for advancement

    Cons

    Pay, pay, pay, pay, pay

    Rochester General Hospital2017-09-11
  2. "Pharmacy resident"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rochester General Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Great people and management here

    Cons

    Political at times can feel like walking on eggshells

    Advice to Management

    Be more attuned to the needs of your staff

    Rochester General Hospital2017-05-01
  3. "history of employnent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Night Charge Psych in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Rochester General Hospital for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very Supportive and trusting of leadership

    Cons

    very strict about some rules rules

    Advice to Management

    Be a little more tolerant and understanding/ re. employee personnel/family problems out side of work especially when they minimize personal life 's interference with work schedule.

    Rochester General Hospital2017-03-22
  4. "nursing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN III in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Rochester General Hospital for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great staff, and excellent physicians. enjoyed working here, and was sad to leave, the unit that I worked on (ICU) was staffed well. The pace was busy, pay was average

    Cons

    I loved my nurse manager- she worked along side us, and was fair. She did not show favoritism. Unfortunately, she retired, and the new manager, although approachable will never fill her shoes

    Advice to Management

    work with your staff, put on a pair of scrubs so that you understand what demands are made on your nursing staff- be a team player

    Rochester General Hospital2016-01-02
  5. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saugerties, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Rochester General Hospital for less than a year

    Pros

    Great group of people to work with. Everyone wants to help everyone and the general work environment was great.

    Cons

    Hard to think of any major cons. The building layout can be a bit off putting I guess. Aside from that nothing really serious.

    Advice to Management

    Meet with your team a little more often than once in a while. This will make sure their task hasn't deviated from your desired result.

    Rochester General Hospital2015-09-16
  6. "Great place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Care Tech 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Rochester General Hospital part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Caring staff, pay was decent, 403b contribution.

    Cons

    Overnight shifts- but even then you were getting paid more.

    Rochester General Hospital2015-09-09
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Unit Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier Or Stocker in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Rochester General Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Patient Care, EKG"S, Blood Draws, Medical Secretary,

    Cons

    None That I can Think Of.

    Advice to Management

    Very Reliable, Held Last Job For 38 Years.

    Rochester General Hospital2015-07-16
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to work in ER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN III in Rochester, NY
    Recommends

    I worked at Rochester General Hospital for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Pay, Lots of opportunity for CE, Great people to work with, Ways to become RN I to RN II or II or IV, Great orientation

    Cons

    none noted for ER Department

    Rochester General Hospital2015-07-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Pleasant Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Access Associate in East Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Rochester General Hospital for more than a year

    Pros

    Rochester General Hospital has allot to offer. The treat their employees with dignity and respect. They have education reimbursement and great employee packets. There is room for growth with in the medical industry.

    Cons

    Department managers don't treat employee's equal

    Rochester General Hospital2015-07-06
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Clinical Nurse I"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Rochester General Hospital

    Pros

    Opportunities for career mobility and advancement

    Cons

    RGH only compensates you 30% for going back to school to obtain a higher degree, whereas neighboring hospitals offer much more compensation

    Rochester General Hospital2015-06-26
Found 65 reviews