Rochester General Hospital Reviews | Glassdoor

Rochester General Hospital Reviews

Updated Feb 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 60 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
27%
Approve of CEO
Rochester General Hospital CEO Eric Bieber
Eric Bieber
5 Ratings
  1. "Former employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clerical Worker in Rochester, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Rochester General Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Don't have much to say about this hospital

    Cons

    Gym for employees to work out in

    Advice to Management

    Start treating your employees better

    Rochester General Hospital2015-11-24
  2. "Medical Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Care Technician in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Rochester General Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Caring for patient is the best feeling & helping other in need

    Cons

    Downsides of working @ RGH not having enough people to work on a unit, being short handed

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management is to have the nurse help out more with the tech.

    Rochester General Hospital2015-10-24
  3. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Rochester General Hospital

    Pros

    Nice place, Benefits, Room for improvement

    Cons

    Drama on the inside at times like any job.

    Rochester General Hospital2015-10-09
  4. "employer review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Clin* III in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Rochester General Hospital full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    good place to work centrally located excellent working conditions clean patient centered

    Cons

    too much turn over of employees, especially management, no team work among staff

    Advice to Management

    treat staff as you would want to be treated

    Rochester General Hospital2015-09-15
  5. "Great place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Care Tech 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Rochester General Hospital part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Caring staff, pay was decent, 403b contribution.

    Cons

    Overnight shifts- but even then you were getting paid more.

    Rochester General Hospital2015-09-09
  6. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Rochester General Hospital

      Pros

      loved my time at rgh. awesome co-workers and managers

      Cons

      wages could definitely be better

      Rochester General Hospital2015-09-01
    • Helpful (9)

      "Senior Leadership, Human Resources and New CEO"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend

        I worked at Rochester General Hospital

        Pros

        Unfortunately, I do not have any Pro's besides the few friendships I will take away with a few co-workers that I was sad to leave behind.

        Cons

        To set the stage for someone that does not know, the merger was a complete take over of Unity by RGH Leadership. They have single handily taken out most of the Unity folks in the organization. The culture is nonexistent, they have no value of their employees and a complete disregard to forming a culture. This is all being driven from he "RGH Culture/Way" The business has turned into a cut throat, backstabbing organization....

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        The Executive Leadership Team and Board need to open their eyes. The word on the street is RRH is NOT the place to work, it is the place to run from. - For health care and careers opportunities.

        Rochester General Hospital2015-09-01
      • Helpful (1)

        "Unit Tech"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Cashier Or Stocker in Rochester, NY
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I worked at Rochester General Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Patient Care, EKG"S, Blood Draws, Medical Secretary,

        Cons

        None That I can Think Of.

        Advice to Management

        Very Reliable, Held Last Job For 38 Years.

        Rochester General Hospital2015-07-16
      • Helpful (2)

        "Great Company Overall"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook

        I have been working at Rochester General Hospital full-time

        Pros

        I have enjoyed working for Rochester Regional. Overall it has been a good experience. Everyone I have met has been very friendly and managers overall want to help their employees succeed.

        Cons

        With it being a non-profit organization I often times see costs trying to be cut where they should not be. There is also a very large workload and stress can be quite high, especially at my affiliate.

        Advice to Management

        Listen more to your employees. If there are countless unhappy people leaving for the same reasons, you need to figure out what the issue is a fix it!

        Rochester General Hospital2015-07-07
      • Helpful (1)

        "Great Place to work in ER"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - RN III in Rochester, NY
        Recommends

        I worked at Rochester General Hospital for more than a year

        Pros

        Great Pay, Lots of opportunity for CE, Great people to work with, Ways to become RN I to RN II or II or IV, Great orientation

        Cons

        none noted for ER Department

        Rochester General Hospital2015-07-08
      Found 60 reviews