Rock Candy Media Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Rock Candy Media Reviews

Updated Jun 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
53%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Rock Candy Media CEO Annie Jones (no image)
Annie Jones
35 Ratings
Pros
  • "The Pro's of RCM are that the company maintains high standards for excellence and nothing less(in 10 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "I think RCM would benefit greatly with more collaboration and could get even better results(in 6 reviews)

  • "Paying off/coercing people to write positive reviews on industry related sites to improve perception(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Team Is Always Protected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Creative in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rock Candy Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The CEO will always stick her neck out for her employees. She places a high value on her team and makes sure they are being treated as such. If you want to work at a place where you are respected by the individuals you work with, and work for, this is the place.

    Cons

    Unpaid overtime but bonuses all the time.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Rock Candy Media2019-04-16
  2. Helpful (12)

    "Trust what you read/hear"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rock Candy Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Cool clients (who dont know whats going on behind the scenes) -A few guilt free days off -Other companies around town heard about it so you shouldnt have too much of a problem getting another job once shes decided shes had enough of you

    Cons

    -Micromanagement from the CEO who says she doesnt want to be involved in the day to day -High turnover -Talks badly about team members to other team members -Manipulation of the team -A lot of screaming -Asks people to post a positive review on here/google of the company during their first week -Tells stories/lies to clients depending on her mood or the situation

    Advice to Management

    Hire a legitimate CEO.

    Rock Candy Media2019-06-12
  3. Helpful (12)

    "Not Worth Your Sanity!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Content Strategist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rock Candy Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Looks can be deceiving.

    Cons

    Private company means the CEO can treat you any way she likes. Abusive atmosphere made for colleagues sharing anti-anxiety meds on a daily basis. The old adage, "pay your do's" need not apply here. It's more like, "sell your soul." Newbies looking into getting their foot in the door - There are better places and you are worth more than you think!

    Rock Candy Media2019-03-24
  4. Helpful (25)

    "Graphic Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rock Candy Media full-time

    Pros

    - Pay is decent but doesn't make up for the lack of professionalism . It's hush money to keep you quiet about all of harassment that happens on a daily basis. - Catered lunch Thursday

    Cons

    - Harassment is rampant and ranges from sexual to verbal on a daily basis by the CEO - Revolving door of clients/coworkers. Clients are fed up with false promises and are leaving resulting in coworkers being fired without any severance. The company has to use freelancers on almost every project because the company has hardly anyone in office anymore. - Paying off/coercing people to write positive reviews on... industry related sites to improve perception. They use this to sell clients on their company and it's hard to watch small businesses invest what little budget they have on work they could outsource themselves. To further this point, they had to pay the local magazine to do a puff piece on the to drum up business because they've run the company into the ground.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Stop conning people out their money.

    Rock Candy Media2018-10-03
  5. Helpful (28)

    "When are these fake reviews going to be acknowledged by?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rock Candy Media full-time

    Pros

    There are absolutely no pros to RCM.

    Cons

    Every positive review in this mix is fake. If you did a language assessment for phrase frequency, you'd find countless entries which say essentially the same thing—which is the direct language of Annie, the CEO, who forces positive reviews on new, vulnerable employees, many of which are impressionable, desperate for experience, and early in their career. Things like 'have each other's backs..." are Annie's... insane demands. Where else on Glassdoor does one see such frequency? Furthermore, for a tiny agency, how are there 50 reviews in just a few short years? I'll tell you: turnover—people quitting just weeks into a role and people being fired after dramatic displays and abusive behavior on part of the owner.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Eventually you'll be entirely exposed. You've had run-ins with so many talented folks in ATX's creative community, the Texas Workforce Commission, and even the law. There'll come a time when the young, vulnerable creatives who you exploit will no longer serve you. And all the RCM veterans who endured your abuse will celebrate.

    Rock Candy Media2018-09-04
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Get ready to go all in."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rock Candy Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Be prepared to become part of a small, select team of talented and real people. RCM is not for the faint of heart but they will help you build a thicker layer of skin. It is fast-paced and can get emotional at times but it comes with a team that has your back if you got theirs. They will push you and test your strengths but only because they know they have it in you. Do great work and show what you can do beyond... the project brief and you are awarded bonuses and raises. We work on Fridays and cater lunch on Thursdays. Quick raises/promotions. There is a variety of clients. Dope brand.

    Show More

    Cons

    Things can get emotional and it can get distracting; just have to get through it just like in real life. You have to log every second of your day but it makes sense if you think about it from the clients and management standpoint. It also your productivity; can't waste time. Starting pay can be low but again you are awarded for doing good work and there are quick raises.

    Rock Candy Media2018-07-25
  7. Helpful (27)

    "Beware of Fake Reviews, they are total B/S"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rock Candy Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    health insurance catered lunch of thursdays

    Cons

    unclear/inconsistent expectations, inexperienced shady / two faced employees abusive work environment (slamming doors, yelling, screaming) trash talking employees behind their back no communication, unwilling to change bad behavior i was asked to write a positive glass door review on my second day, i had a bad feeling about it but I dealt all the b/s because I needed a paycheck and at first there was... enough work for me to enjoy it. this is not how you run a successful business, folks.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    i deserved more than a week severance after everything i did for that company "i can't afford your salary" = laid off, btw i'm glad I was "fired", working there was a nightmare your minions keep dropping the ball, that's why you have to yell at them so much

    Rock Candy Media2018-08-13
  8. Helpful (30)

    "This place is a nightmare and you should stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rock Candy Media

    Pros

    The CEO will reward you on occasion with bonuses. You'll play some fun games on breaks.

    Cons

    This is a caustic and abusive environment. Period. Don't let the other reviews here fool you, the positive reviews are indeed compulsory. I had to write several of them while on staff. I'm sorry to say that I complied because I needed a paycheck. If you need proof, ask how long the average staff member has been there. The insanely quick turnover will show you.

    Advice to Management

    Start treating others with some modicum respect.

    Rock Candy Media2018-07-10
  9. Helpful (30)

    "Don't work here. It's not worth it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rock Candy Media full-time

    Pros

    Salary Catered lunch once a week Clients

    Cons

    Welcome to Thunderdome. You are asked to write something good about the company''s CEO immediately to stroke her ego. The work environment is bipolar along with everything else. In my time working here multiple clients left, multiple employees quit or were fired, and the workload was impossible. There is no communication, no leadership, and the culture is absolutely toxic. No one has anything good to say about each... other and secretly plot behind everyone's backs on firing them once they leave a room. Do yourself a favor and skip considering this place for your employer.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You have no one else to blame but yourselves for the direction it's heading.

    Rock Candy Media2018-06-15
  10. Helpful (30)

    "If you can't be a good example, you'll serve as a horrible reminder."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rock Candy Media

    Pros

    I have nothing to submit here.

    Cons

    Horrible communication within team. No team comrade or general respect for others. Fake smiles. Over the top and inappropriate name calling coming from the lady in charge.

    Advice to Management

    Take some time to understand what it takes to be a leader. Stop wasting your time and other people's time by being negative. Creating stressful situations for people because you think it's funny is sad.

    Rock Candy Media2018-06-13
Found 45 reviews