Rocket Fuel Reviews | Glassdoor

Rocket Fuel Reviews

Updated June 11, 2017
247 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.4
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Rocket Fuel CEO Randy Wootton
Randy Wootton
58 Ratings

247 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • Business strategies & initiatives slow to produce results of growth (in terms of stock price etc) but heading in the right direction (in 10 reviews)

  • Typical growing pains of a fast-growing company, but nothing glaring (in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (6)

    "A Great Place to Work and Jumpstart your career"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Operations Analyst in Redwood City, CA
    Current Employee - Technical Operations Analyst in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rocket Fuel full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - Smart People
    - Competitive Salary
    - Positive Work/Life Balance

    Cons

    - Not every team has a great manager
    - 401k plan is not as competitive as other large companies

    Advice to Management

    - Pay attention to the folks on your team that drive positive change and put in the hours to make work easier for others. They are often enough the ones who go partially unrecognized and seek opportunities elsewhere

    Rocket Fuel Response

    May 9, 2017 – SVP, People

    Thanks for keeping it real and reminding management to leverage the positive.


  2. Helpful (4)

    "Exciting company to be a part of"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in East Lansing, MI
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in East Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rocket Fuel full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    * Culture is fantastic
    * Paid time off - I get my sprints reasonably done, I take as much time as I want for vacation
    * Compensation - salary + annual bonuses (plural intended) is great
    * Stock - many opportunities to get stock through options or employee stock purchase plan.
    * This company takes care of its engineers.

    Cons

    * ${STANDARD_CONS}
    * Small nitpicky things, I don't have any worth blemishing this review.

    Advice to Management

    Engineering is the foundation of this company, don't lose sight of that.

    Rocket Fuel Response

    May 9, 2017 – SVP, People

    Engineering are not only Rocket Scientists they are our Rock Stars!

  3. Helpful (10)

    "Customer Success"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Representative in Redwood City, CA
    Former Employee - Customer Success Representative in Redwood City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rocket Fuel full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    competitive salary, leading product capabilities, truly solid HR, Engineering, Sales, and Financial leadership

    Cons

    CEO is waay over his skis, is a tool of a leader, and strongly dislikes having to engage with he employees!

    Strategic direction is unstable and ever-changing,

    Did I mention the CEO is a toxic tool - and beware of the differing opinion!

    Rocket Fuel Response

    May 9, 2017 – SVP, People

    That is some harsh criticism, but we understand not everyone is going to be a fan.


  4. Helpful (3)

    "I'm riding the Rocket!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Sales in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rocket Fuel full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great people - smart, hardworking, fun, dedicated and 100% committed
    Incredible technology!
    Innovative
    Visionary

    Cons

    Lots of change - if you don't like change, this isn't the place for you

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up! I'm excited about the direction we are headed. I believe in the mission, vision and values of our company. All of the hard decisions of the past two years have totally paid off.

    Rocket Fuel Response

    May 9, 2017 – SVP, People

    Thanks for the review. Fuelers who are highly engaged are contagious!


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Changing Landscape With Good Benefits"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rocket Fuel full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Free lunch, ESPP, Unlimited PTO, Work/Life Balance

    Cons

    Young industry that is constantly changing which has led to layoffs twice in the past 2 years


  6. Helpful (4)

    "A good place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rocket Fuel full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - smart, friendly, and supportive co-workers
    - nice downtown office space
    - free lunch and snacks
    - competitive salary
    - good work/life balance
    - opportunity to learn highly desirable but sometimes very industry-specific skills
    - lots of interesting problems to solve daily

    Cons

    - there weren't many opportunities for advancement for me
    - team leaders were subject matter experts but sometimes would lose sight of the forest for the trees
    - sometimes hard to get things done because it was hard to figure out who owned what and how to work through the organizational hierarchy to effect change
    - value proposition was in the technology and AI and not as much in user experience (this could probably also be a pro for some people)

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work. Stay humble.

    Rocket Fuel Response

    Apr 10, 2017 – SVP, People

    Thanks for the balanced review.


  7. Helpful (9)

    "Unstable, dying company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rocket Fuel full-time

    Pros

    Some smart people still left. Good culture. Not too many meetings, more focus on work.

    Cons

    Most employees have given up and left. Nobody knows who'll still be around next Monday. As a result, the entire stack is riddled with issues and tech debt and every day there is a new bug uncovered and it feels like one day the whole place is going to come crashing down.

    Advice to Management

    There won't be any folks left unless they're paid enough

    Rocket Fuel Response

    May 9, 2017 – SVP, People

    While being mindful that your input is your experience, our attrition in engineering has declined significantly and we are continuing to hire strong engineering talent with skills that enhance and ... More

  8. "Mid Market Manger"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mid-market Manager in Dallas, TX
    Former Employee - Mid-market Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rocket Fuel full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I love how they lead with technology - their AI is over the top

    Cons

    They don't train their sales people very well

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course - reduce all the meetings

    Rocket Fuel Response

    Apr 10, 2017 – SVP, People

    Thanks for the review. I think everyone would agree with your advice to reduce the meetings!


  9. Helpful (24)

    "A Confused Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rocket Fuel full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Generous ESPP structure (although it hasn't been realized yet due to cratering stock price)
    Lunches
    Focus on technology

    Cons

    The CEO has a favorite saying he repeats whenever the Company changes corporate strategy, which is often. “We’re on a boat all paddling in the same direction. If you don’t agree or don’t want to paddle, get off.”, or something to that effect. What he doesn’t say is that the boat you are paddling on is also sinking, and to keep it afloat, every so often he’ll toss a few folks off involuntarily to keep the boat from sinking [that day]. He doesn’t know how to fix the boat, so it keeps sinking, and the process repeats itself.

    Simon Sinek has a great talk in which he says, “When we feel safe inside an organization, we will naturally combine our talents and our strengths and work tirelessly to face the dangers outside and seize the opportunities”. You will not feel safe working here and those that currently work at Rocket Fuel know this. Most are putting in 50% effort. The market has rejected Rocket Fuel, as evidenced by a ~$2 stock price (5% of its high), and if the stock does not recover significantly more bad things will continue to happen within the Company.

    The underlying technology at Rocket Fuel is good for a single purpose of playing the online advertising game. It uses machine learning algorithms to do so, most of which is above bar, some is not (think data). There’s lots of Company Kool-Aid to drink and there are smart people left, although the people that built Rocket Fuel and most of the people that worked there early-on are all gone but a few.

    There have been endless bad investments, such as buying a DMP (which is not even sold or able to sold anymore), over-investing in brand solutions that the market didn’t want, spouting off about how we’re going to bring AI to other industries (yeah right), and on and on.

    The prospects are bleak. Nobody will acquire Rocket Fuel since the business model sucks and they’re now an also-ran DSP. They now claim to be a predictive marketing blah blah blah. It’s just the latest in a string of attempts at differentiated positioning. Nothing has changed.

    I loved my time at Rocket Fuel, well most of it, and have fond memories of building something great with great people. Unfortunately the dysfunction is too widespread at this point.

    Advice to Management

    Accept that you are not as differentiated as you presume

    Rocket Fuel Response

    Mar 6, 2017 – SVP, People

    While it is unfortunate that your review is negative, we do know there are many Fuelers that do not feel the same way as you do. We are not confused as to who we are and what we want to achieve. Our ... More


  10. Helpful (14)

    "Strategic Programs"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director, Marketing in Redwood City, CA
    Former Employee - Director, Marketing in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rocket Fuel full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Growing in a consolidating industry with a leading technology
    Sharp and passionate people at all levels
    New CFO with SaaS experience and operational rigor values
    Tough business decisions being made for the health of the company

    Cons

    Strategic direction - flavor of the month up till now.
    CEO ego - not deserved nor earned yet.
    Attrition - hard to get traction and keep it going
    Morale is low, cash is tight, employees are fatiguing

    Advice to Management

    Make a plan, validate the plan, stick to the plan. Hold all executives equally accountable. Open your office doors, get out and be visible amongst employees. Check in- say hello. 2016 was pretty tough - the ones still there are not convinced of your intentions - walk your talk!!

    Rocket Fuel Response

    Feb 23, 2017 – SVP, People

    Thanks for the review and advice. You are right - with all the planning, year-end and new year kick off, earnings and board meetings, we have been in our offices way too much. Connecting with ... More


Showing 247 of 255 reviews
Reset Filters