Rocket Fuel "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Rocket Fuel Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Aug 15, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
59%
Recommend to a Friend
Rocket Fuel CEO George John
George John
0 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Stock price very volatile and on a downward path(in 12 reviews)

  • "Typical growing pains of a fast-growing company, but nothing glaring(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Rocket Fuel full-time

    Pros

    great benefits, work life balance, career growth

    Cons

    none that I know of

    Rocket Fuel2018-08-16
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Best Company I’ve ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rocket Fuel full-time

    Pros

    The people are so sweet and the managers I’ve had are amazing! The work/life balance is a dream come true and the perks are outstanding!

    Cons

    It’s a shame the company wasn’t financially successful. It definitely brought morale down and being acquired isn’t exactly a “walk in the park”.

    Advice to Management

    Fight for your employees, especially when it comes to growth and raises. It’s not enough to simply ask them how their day went. Be proactive and help them see their path without them even knowing. Please stop asking, “how can I help you”. Sometimes it’s hard for them to know especially when you are more familiar (or should be at least), with all the roles within the company.

    Rocket Fuel2017-12-11
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Perfect Work Location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rocket Fuel

    Pros

    work life balance cattered lunch

    Cons

    poor leadership team layoff is common

    Rocket Fuel2017-09-20
  4. Helpful (6)

    "A Great Place to Work and Jumpstart your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Operations Analyst in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rocket Fuel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Smart People - Competitive Salary - Positive Work/Life Balance

    Cons

    - Not every team has a great manager - 401k plan is not as competitive as other large companies

    Advice to Management

    - Pay attention to the folks on your team that drive positive change and put in the hours to make work easier for others. They are often enough the ones who go partially unrecognized and seek opportunities elsewhere

    Rocket Fuel2017-04-19
  5. Helpful (10)

    "A reasonable first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rocket Fuel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. With tight human resources, every engineer starts to own multiple projects. 2. Majority of managements have excellent leadership. 3. Reasonable work-life balance. Except for the on-calls, the working hour/time is flexible.

    Cons

    1. The biggest is low salary. Except for new grads, the corresponding total package is much-much-much less than that from Google, FB, LinkedIn, etc. If RF is really an engineer oriented company, should we pay our employees honestly and decently? 2. Much more shares are given to new hires for attraction, but few if any to the current employees. Maybe our current employees shouldn't feel unfair at all because "the... market has shifted"!! 3. Some people having good relationship with managements got promoted very fast, as causes a feeling of unfairness. (Senior manager? Director? Kidding me!?) Are our annual review mainly based on relationship? I knew a few hardworking employees never got promoted because they are not good at connection. 4. RF keeps losing engineers, and lots of projects don't have owners, or their owners don't have sufficient understanding yet, as causes a few system outages already, and makes our system fragile. (Robustness considers both systems and people maintaining them!!)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please don't think engineers are highly replaceable, and treat them fair and honest! That current employees haven't left is not because that they feel being treated well/fair, but because changing job take some time.

    Rocket Fuel2017-04-30
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Changing Landscape With Good Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rocket Fuel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch, ESPP, Unlimited PTO, Work/Life Balance

    Cons

    Young industry that is constantly changing which has led to layoffs twice in the past 2 years

    Rocket Fuel2017-04-19
  7. Helpful (5)

    "A good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rocket Fuel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - smart, friendly, and supportive co-workers - nice downtown office space - free lunch and snacks - competitive salary - good work/life balance - opportunity to learn highly desirable but sometimes very industry-specific skills - lots of interesting problems to solve daily

    Cons

    - there weren't many opportunities for advancement for me - team leaders were subject matter experts but sometimes would lose sight of the forest for the trees - sometimes hard to get things done because it was hard to figure out who owned what and how to work through the organizational hierarchy to effect change - value proposition was in the technology and AI and not as much in user experience (this could... probably also be a pro for some people)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work. Stay humble.

    Rocket Fuel2017-03-30
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Love this place - and you will too"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Client Solutions Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rocket Fuel

    Pros

    Great benefits/perks, nice people, healthy work life balance, great managers/smart people

    Cons

    Each department seems to have their own agenda so sometimes communicating between the departments is hard

    Advice to Management

    help department communicate with each other more seamlessly for better customer experience

    Rocket Fuel2016-12-13
  9. Helpful (12)

    "New corporate company with too many changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rocket Fuel

    Pros

    Smart people, good technology, most people work hard, great work/life balance, innovative.

    Cons

    Senior Management has no idea what direction they want to take the company. They were constantly changing direction, messaging, C-level management, process etc. They don't think things through, just make hasty decisions and others are left to clean up. When they do make changes they do not provide context or information. Everyone just finds out through the grapevine. Majority of the C-Level management are men.

    Advice to Management

    Think about things before you make changes. I know the original culture/values couldn't remain because the company is now public. But the there is NO culture or support for employees.

    Rocket Fuel2016-10-17
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Accounting & Finance Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounting in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rocket Fuel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    In rebuttal of the negative reviews regarding finance/accounting, those are not an accurate depiction of the entire finance & accounting team. First off, those reviews sounded like it was geared towards one specific bad manager & written by a disgruntled former employee, which definitely did not depict my positive experience working for the very competent & smart managers, asst. controller, controller & CFO. Many... are very experienced and come from a Big 4 & industry background. My overall experience in each month-end close cycle is of a cohesive team that is organized, with each team member working hard & contributing to meet our reporting deadlines. Plus we have fun together & the team culture definitely prioritizes work life balance after busy periods & encourages rest/recovery with many understanding managers that make sure you take PTO (which is on a flexible time off policy). The accounting team specifically does a wonderful job living out one of our core values of "Celebrating People Being Great" demonstrated by the many milestones that we celebrate frequently (anniversaries, birthdays, baby showers, a job well done & etc)

    Show More

    Cons

    -Business strategies & initiatives slow to produce results of growth (in terms of stock price etc) but heading in the right direction

    Advice to Management

    More intensive on-boarding training to learn more about the technology & business offerings.

    Rocket Fuel2016-10-08
Found 29 reviews