Cover image for Rockset
Logo

Rockset

Engaged Employer

Rockset

Add a Review

Rockset Reviews

Updated Aug 18, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 23 of over 24 reviews
4.8
92% Recommend to a Friend
78% Approve of CEO

Found 23 of over 24 reviews

4.8
92%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Rockset CEO Venkat Venkataramani (no image)
Venkat Venkataramani
6 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

557

77 Comments

Tech

572.1K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Rockset~2213192
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about Rockset? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with Rockset employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great people in all functions to work with(in 4 reviews)
  • "everyone is helpful and love the culture(in 3 reviews)
  • "Great Leadership(in 3 reviews)
  • "I get to work with an awesome team daily.(in 3 reviews)
Cons
    There are no cons to display at this time.
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great culture

    Jun 17, 2022 - Sales Development Representative (SDR) 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    everyone is helpful and love the culture

    Cons

    potential funding issues but that's the life of a start up

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Disorganized and Dishonest

    Aug 18, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great technology, smart people, interesting use cases and good comp plans.

    Cons

    The company is a cult of personality that absolutely revolves around the CEO and the Chief Product Officer. As a result, their hands are in everything, micromanaging even the jobs of other management to the extent that they can't effectively do their jobs. The amount of "big brother is watching you" vibe is unreal. Everything is tracked, every call is recorded and reviewed, and feedback is often voiced as "here's what you did wrong." Don't ever be seen disagreeing with the CEO or CPO, or you'll be on the naughty list. There're definitely people playing favorites here. In addition, there's no proper management for super important business functions. For instance, there's still no CFO. There's no COO dedicated to making sure everyone is working effectively. The Sales team has no consistent message or playbook. As a result, a lot of things are extremely disorganized and hectic. People are often not on the same page, and things are partially communicated to only a small portion of people who need to know about them. This makes even simple tasks confusing and difficult, since there is no standard way of doing things. Lastly, the leadership has been dishonest, not only with employees, but also with potential customers. Many of the features advertised on the website either don't exist or are half baked. Top management often sells non-existent features to potential customers, and then cracks the whip on engineering, forcing them to build the features in record time, all the while telling the customer, "we've always had this feature, and it's been tested and used by other customers."

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Rockset Response

    Hey there, First of all, thank you for the feedback. We are sorry you didn't have a great experience at Rockset. Critical feedback like this allows us to get better and we always take them seriously. We are a small team that tries to stay nimble. Our product development and release processes allow us to release a slightly newer version of our product every single week. Unlike traditional enterprise software companies that have 1 or 2 releases in an entire year, we move fast and hustle to get new functionality out quickly. It is a strategic advantage a small startup like us have when we compete against massive incumbents with deep pockets. While it might seem chaotic on the surface, our engineering team has worked tirelessly to make it happen using the wealth of knowledge they have from scaling systems several orders of magnitude larger in their prior lives. We agree with you that this type of fast paced iterative environment is not for everyone. It is unfortunate that you found this environment confusing. Our ability to continuously innovate and iterate quickly is actually one of the biggest reasons we continue to attract top talent across the organization. We are not yet big enough right now (Aug 2022) to have dedicated sales enablement resources or a COO or a CFO. At our scale most of these roles are not yet a full-time job and are best served by someone playing that role part-time or external contractors. Nothing unusual here - just another startup trying to be scrappy. Seems like you thrive in an environment with a lot more structure and we cannot wait for our company to grow up and get there quickly. The only part we strongly disagree in your entire review is about being dishonest. Our <4% annual churn rate and 300+% net dollar retention numbers speak for themselves. So, seems like you are terribly mistaken in this regard and we welcome you to talk to any of our customers directly to hear about their experience with Rockset.

  3. Join the Rockset team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Company to work, best team

    Nov 8, 2021 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Rockset has a team-first value over anything else, which means you are not competing with other co-workers for impact, but instead focusing on getting valuable projects done by collaborating with others. If you just finished writing the code but don't get time to production, no worry, someone will cover your back, and you would do the same thing in return. Product roadmap is clear, we all know what's gonna be built in the next 3 years, and we are super confident to be on the right track.

    Cons

    Intense working env, has to jump back and forth on multiple projects. You have to enjoy the independence not hate it. Think if you are the type of person who is ready to "feed yourself" with new initiatives. Rockset is not in an aggressive growing mode. With more and more Saas startups raising lots of funds rapidly, you may feel less secure that the company is falling behind. My judgement is that it takes years to build a solid Saas product, and you couldn't expect everything happen over one night, but use your judgement, not mine. If you want to get the company to Nasdaq in 1 year, this is not the right place.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    World class team, challenging problems to solve

    Nov 4, 2021 - Marketing in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    At Rockset, the things you work on are very visible throughout the whole team and have product impact. It's really awesome to see what you built/created translates to getting the company closer to a milemark, helping customers, and so on. The other thing that's really great at Rockset is there's a lot of visibility on what engineering, marketing, and product are working on. The team at Rockset really goes above and beyond to help you when you ask for it. Everyone really cares about their work and what they are building. The Rockset team is world-class [I don't say this lightly]. You will learn a lot here and there's so much expertise.

    Cons

    There's not really any major cons- we're a startup, so we may switch directions or approaches fast. I noticed as we're growing, this is less, and less the case. When it happens, the team quickly adapts and we carry on.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great team and growth opportunities

    Apr 19, 2022 - Office Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I'm always learning and have grown + sharpened my career skills. I get to work with an awesome team daily. Time off is encouraged.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Fast Paced High Growth Environment

    Nov 8, 2021 - Sales Development Representative (SDR) in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you are looking to hone your skills on the sales development team, this is a fantastic place to do it. With immediate access to all levels of sales management, as well as management of different departments, it makes it very easy to ask questions and set yourself up for success. It is a fast paced environment like most start ups and the strong growth trajectory opens the door for quick advancement. The smaller teams give Rockset a fantastic culture and tremendous visibility into all facets of the company.

    Cons

    No major cons. I couldn't be happier working here. If you are not looking for an extremely open and/or collaborative environment, then Rockset might not be the fit for you.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Amazing place to work, huge potential

    Mar 18, 2022 - Software Engineer in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - incredibly talented and passionate co-workers - solid work-life balance - huge market potential

    Cons

    - growing quickly - some small growing pains - things move fast - not for everyone

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to grow your career and define the future of data

    Nov 9, 2021 - Senior Product Marketing Manager in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Growth mindset: The company understands that to grow the team has to do things they've never done before. I think the leadership really leans into this and is willing to admit when they're carving a new path or wearing a new hat. Everyone comes together to support that person and make them be successful in the initiative while giving them a high degree of ownership. Willing to take bets: Related to a growth mindset but the company and team is willing to experiment, take bets and lose a few. They'll admit when that happens and apply learnings from the experiments to continue to grow the company. Friendly: The founding team at Rockset is incredibly nice. They take the time to share their own learnings but also use interactions as a way to learn from others at all levels. It's a very collegial environment and people genuinely enjoy bringing their own unique selves. Strong Founding Leadership: As someone whose mid-level in their career, one of my concerns in coming to a startup was having people directly and indirectly that I could learn from to grow my career. The founders and the executive team are seasoned and spend the time to coach and mentor across the company. I have grown immensely since I joined the company and really been able to hone my PMM craft. Supportive: While a startup can be busy, there's always more to do than hands to do it, the company recognizes that people have personal lives and obligations. They are flexible on work schedules and supportive with time off during life-changing events.

    Cons

    Opinionated but in a good way: It's a culture where everyone is striving to move the company forward and is free to share their ideas and how we can best support customers on their real-time analytics journey. That said, while people have opinions, they're willing to morph and build on the ideas of others to create the best approach to a problem or scenario. I find it to be a very empowering culture.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Rockset...rocks

    Nov 8, 2021 - Sales Development Representative (SDR) in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - fast pace - great product that is being well received by the market - flexible (as long as you're getting your work done) - visibility - it's a small team, so the work you do is noticed and appreciated

    Cons

    If you don't like a a fast pace work environment and staying under the radar this is probably not the best place for you.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great culture, so many learning opportunities

    Nov 8, 2021 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Rockset has absolutely brilliant engineers who I am honored to learn from. The environment is open, collaborative, and very goal oriented. It's a fast growing startup and a good place to advance your career.

    Cons

    Working at a startup can sometimes be hectic, but Rockset does a very good job managing work life balance all considered.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 23 Reviews
</>Embed

Rockset Reviews FAQs

Rockset has an overall rating of 4.8 out of 5, based on over 24 reviews left anonymously by employees. 92% of employees would recommend working at Rockset to a friend and 92% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -3% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Rockset employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.8 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Rockset. This rating has improved by 1% over the last 12 months.

92% of Rockset employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Rockset 4.4 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.7 for culture and values and 5.0 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Rockset to be benefits, culture, career development and the cons to be diversity and inclusion, management, senior leadership.

Popular Careers with Rockset Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Rockset? Share Your Experiences

Rockset logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Rockset Photos

+ Add Photo
Rockset photo of: Team
Rockset photo of: Hack Week July 2021
Rockset photo of: Team Dinner
Rockset photo of: Yash &amp; Sudhindra
Rockset photo of: Team Dinner
Rockset photo of: Collaboration
Rockset photo of: Dhruba - CT0 &amp; Co-founder
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Glassdoor has 24 Rockset reviews submitted anonymously by Rockset employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Rockset is right for you.