Rockys Ace Hardware Reviews | Glassdoor

Rockys Ace Hardware Reviews

Updated Oct 31, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Rocco J. Falcone II
13 Ratings
  1. "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Springfield, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Rockys Ace Hardware full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture and values, awesome coworkers and easy work

    Cons

    Retail is not an easy Job

    Rockys Ace Hardware2016-08-03
  2. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rockys Ace Hardware

    Pros

    Fun Team and good discount

    Cons

    the hours are not very fun

    Rockys Ace Hardware2018-10-31
  3. "Learned a lot of useful tips"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in North Andover, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rockys Ace Hardware part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a lot of training and I learned a lot about household fixes. Everyone I worked with was friendly and cared about me.

    Cons

    It is tiring to be on your feet all day. Retail is not for everyone. Some customers can be terrible to deal with, I could send them to the manager, but if I moved up, it could be stressful to listen to all of the customer complaints.

    Advice to Management

    you need to compete with amazon

    Rockys Ace Hardware2017-10-17
  4. "Not a bad part-time gig"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rockys Ace Hardware for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Learn a ton of practical knowledge, hours can be flexible if you're in school, a few good co-workers can make it more than bearable.

    Cons

    It's mostly customer service so you'd better hope the regulars are friendly. Most training is reserved for management so it takes awhile to pick up on things. Experience mostly depends on your manager for better or worse. Upper management is a little too buddy-buddy. Oh and most clientele are middle aged and up so expect some sexism if you're a girl.

    Advice to Management

    The store employees usually know more about what should be done with their own store, if you're only visiting every once in awhile then you really don't know what's practical and what's not.

    Rockys Ace Hardware2017-09-29
  5. "Keep your guard up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Springfield, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rockys Ace Hardware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Paycheck... Not a big check but a check just the same.

    Cons

    Poor Life / Work balance Minimal benefits Little appreciation Executive arrogance is abundant

    Advice to Management

    Learn to recognize value in your employees and take action.

    Rockys Ace Hardware2017-08-31
  6. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rockys Ace Hardware full-time

    Pros

    Nice people, good place to work, lots for an employee to learn, room to grow

    Cons

    Sometimes long hours - but this is retail afterall

    Rockys Ace Hardware2016-09-07
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rockys Ace Hardware

    Pros

    Hours are better than many other retail stores. They offer great training for their managers.

    Cons

    They don't pay enough to be able to get decent people and keep them. Turn over is high even in store level management.

    Advice to Management

    Increase wages and you will increase the overall value of the company. You will have better people who are more willing to provide to notch customer service and much less turnover

    Rockys Ace Hardware2016-05-27
  8. "Great community"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Springfield, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rockys Ace Hardware

    Pros

    With a good attitude and hard work, it is easy to advance within the company. I have seen employees raise their rank like myself. Good benefits. Very good training for staff and a great community within the company.

    Cons

    Retail is not for everyone. Busy work days are on the weekends

    Advice to Management

    Pay more attention to hiring upfront to weed out the bad eggs

    Rockys Ace Hardware2016-05-28
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Ludlow, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Rockys Ace Hardware part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, great management.

    Cons

    Retail hours and job entails weekend shifts

    Rockys Ace Hardware2016-03-12
  10. "Routine tasks and daily openings or closings."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Key Holder in Agawam, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rockys Ace Hardware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good store hours. Local store in town. Large variety or items in stock and always a seasonal change over. Fun atmosphere to work at with big e near by.

    Cons

    Storm responders and extra early mornings on truck days. A lot of store services from keys and paint to propane.

    Advice to Management

    Be courteous of associates and management under you.

    Rockys Ace Hardware2016-02-07
Found 24 reviews