Roehl Transport Class A Truck Driver Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Roehl Transport Class A Truck Driver Reviews

Updated Dec 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

1.3
1%
Recommend to a Friend
2%
Approve of CEO
Roehl Transport CEO Rick Roehl
Rick Roehl
7 Ratings
  1. "Very good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Class A Truck Driver in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are help full and don't treat you like a number.

    Cons

    i did not see much in way of a down side

    Roehl Transport2019-08-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Paid training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Class A Truck Driver 

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great instructor but dont make a mistake, must be perfect from day 1 without experience.

    Cons

    Worst otr trainer, that had 1st time student drive in blizzard.

    Advice to Management

    None cause many people complain but none is herd. Owner keep getting richer and everyone else stay as a puppet.

    Roehl Transport2019-12-10
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Class A Truck Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hometime for 34 Hours but no more

    Cons

    Pay sucks They will cut your miles so you can’t reach next pay grade

    Roehl Transport2019-11-23
  4. Helpful (2)

    "GARRRRRBAAAGEEEEEEE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Class A Truck Driver in Marshfield, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Trucks stay running. Shiny nice colors to lure you in to there basic b class 8 trucks. You don't get miles. You wont get miles. You will go broke.

    Cons

    Driver. Turnover. Is. High. Because. Of. GARBAGE. Pay. Why. Cant. This. Industry. Figure. That. Out. You are a slave on a contract that they do not hold there end of the agreement to.

    Advice to Management

    Hopefully artificial intelligence systems replace fleet "managers" so we don't get abused and lied too. I don't need a glorified telemarketer who used to sell Kirby vacuums to run my trucking career.

    Roehl Transport2019-10-19
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Get your CDL program good, that's it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Class A Truck Driver in Gary, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The training is A+ they really want you to succeed your first 3 months. You can move to any fleet without much trouble. You can get .11 CPM tax free. Benefits aren't bad.

    Cons

    Dispatch will call you during your sleeper time to put loads on you, despite if you're awake enough to take the loads or not. Your dispatcher is not your friend and will only want the loads to get there so they can get the bonuses for early delivery. We dont get anything for that stuff. Just get your CDL A and start looking for other companies. Not enough pay for the stress they put you through.

    Advice to Management

    Care more about your drivers health and wellbeing and actually stand up for them when things go south. We are out on the road away from our families for long periods of times, receiving compassion goes a long way in making sure we are successful.

    Roehl Transport2019-07-30
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Okay if you have the right dispatcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Class A Truck Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time

    Pros

    None that I know of

    Cons

    Hardcore micromanaging cameras in the truck

    Roehl Transport2019-08-21
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Not at all as promised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Class A Truck Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Interesting freight Routes off the beaten path

    Cons

    Not enough miles management doesn't care about drivers Leave you stranded (unpaid) at truck stops on weekends Managers tell untruths Overrated driver training program. ($7000 is absurd!) (Drivers:look at Schneider. Cheaper and better pay!) No personal conveyance when they strand you! Forced freight.

    Advice to Management

    Your fleet managers treat drivers like children. Make them spend time on the road before they manage drivers. Keep your drivers moving on the weekends: don't stand them if you won't allow PC!!! Make your environment less oppressive. My managers frequently said one thing and NEVER delivered. If I knew it would be like this, I never would have left my previous company. This has not been a good experience.

    Roehl Transport2019-06-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Over the road truck driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Class A Truck Driver 

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay Flexible home time

    Cons

    Non prorated contract Low miles

    Roehl Transport2019-03-07
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Poor company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Class A Truck Driver in Marshfield, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some newer trucks if you can survive the dilapidated equipment.

    Cons

    Everything about the compqny is a con, from the nanny or big brother cams in the trucks to the rude management staff and horrible communication throughout the company. The pay is very low. There is no respect for values or family values, and drivers are treated as machines not people. You are treated as a warm body to fill a position not a valued member of a team.

    Advice to Management

    Value the drivers more stop force dispatching and raise pay to a reasonable wage for drivers, stop making office staff (dispatchers, fuel and routing, and recruiters) the highest valued workers because there would be no Roehl Transportation without the Drivers.

    Roehl Transport2018-10-03
  10. Helpful (10)

    "CDL-A Truck Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Class A Cdl Truck Driver in Conley, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free laundry at several terminals. 50% drop and hooks. I encountered three people in the Compant that I felt cared about us. Nobody else did.

    Cons

    Disorganized management with no concern for the drivers. A lot of wasted time. Frequently searching for empty trailers, frequently sent to customers that are closed or without necessary numbers just to be turned away, required me to leave on recaps 3 hours before my 34 hour reset completed, poor communication - frequently ignore messages. Long hold times when calling in. Night dispatch not capable of handling problems. Trucks frequently in the shop and problems recur - don’t get fixed properly. Must work continually to make any money. $40,000 per year max for 70+ hours per week. I was never late, always left as soon as my breaks were over (unless I couldn’t). Really it was an awful experience. Career opportunities only rated three stars because fleet managers were constantly leaving also and there are always job postings. Turnover is high.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get organized, get all management on the same page, take better care of the drivers.

    Roehl Transport2018-06-24
Found 11 reviews