Roehl Transport Driver Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Roehl Transport Driver Reviews

Updated Dec 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.4
40%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Roehl Transport CEO Rick Roehl
Rick Roehl
87 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good Mgmt - Good pay for first time drivers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver in Midwest, WY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Mgmt - Good pay for first time drivers - PAID CDL with one year employment and you can go wherever you want then for any wage desired

    Cons

    Truck always ran out of windshield wiper fluid, but they got better as time went on in fixing that

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work~!

    Roehl Transport2019-10-09
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Paid training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Class A Truck Driver 

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great instructor but dont make a mistake, must be perfect from day 1 without experience.

    Cons

    Worst otr trainer, that had 1st time student drive in blizzard.

    Advice to Management

    None cause many people complain but none is herd. Owner keep getting richer and everyone else stay as a puppet.

    Roehl Transport2019-12-10
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Class A Truck Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hometime for 34 Hours but no more

    Cons

    Pay sucks They will cut your miles so you can’t reach next pay grade

    Roehl Transport2019-11-23
  4. Helpful (2)

    "GARRRRRBAAAGEEEEEEE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Class A Truck Driver in Marshfield, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Trucks stay running. Shiny nice colors to lure you in to there basic b class 8 trucks. You don't get miles. You wont get miles. You will go broke.

    Cons

    Driver. Turnover. Is. High. Because. Of. GARBAGE. Pay. Why. Cant. This. Industry. Figure. That. Out. You are a slave on a contract that they do not hold there end of the agreement to.

    Advice to Management

    Hopefully artificial intelligence systems replace fleet "managers" so we don't get abused and lied too. I don't need a glorified telemarketer who used to sell Kirby vacuums to run my trucking career.

    Roehl Transport2019-10-19
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Fairly Honest Company w/ Typical OTR Problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver in Gary, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I was able to negotiate a one-year pay-rate of 53 cents-per-mile, terminals can have nice lounges, the one in Gary, IN has excellent Greek food, trucks are no older than 3 years and dryvan/reefer trailers are no older than 4 years.

    Cons

    Reefer division had extremely long detention times at an average of 6 hours, detention can be hard to get, the 53cpm introductory rate was set to expire after a year, most folks then ended up getting around 50cpm, driver-facing cameras, overly complicated system for determining payrate that took up seventeen pages of dense text to describe in the employee manual. No paid parking, so lots of parking in questionable spots where they'll tell you to move all the time. NO personal conveyance, so you're forced to choose between breaking the law or sleeping somewhere without access to food, toilets, a shower, and running water. Also: ZERO room to advance. Unless you wanna go flatbed, which has its own downsides.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Want to end your driver shortage? Offer a weekly straight pay, OR bump up the cpm to 50cpm for experienced drivers MINIMUM, and THEN add bonuses on top of that. Also you might want to pay for parking, it reached crisis levels at times in the Northeast. Plenty of sleepless nights without access to facilities because I couldn't legally move without the ability to put the ELD into personal conveyance. And I'm sorry, but having safety add an "Annotation" isn't sufficient legal cover, the liability burden should NOT be on the driver when it comes to obtaining safe, legal overnight parking w/ at a minimum access to a shower, a toilet, clean running water, and at least cold food.

    Show More
    Roehl Transport2019-08-25
  6. "Very good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Class A Truck Driver in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are help full and don't treat you like a number.

    Cons

    i did not see much in way of a down side

    Roehl Transport2019-08-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Review as a current driver."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver Trainer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Training program. Good starting wage.Diverse in Fleets and driving opportunities. Overall respectful to drivers and their needs.

    Cons

    Once you are there for a while,there are NO incentives to stay.No extra pay for longevity.No extra pay for being a million mile safe driver.Absolutely No Incentives to stay once you reach top pay on their scale.They do Everything for the brand new driver and Nothing to those who have been loyal to the company.

    Advice to Management

    Don't become a CDL farm.Dont open your hands wide for beginners and be tight fisted to those who have years of loyalty to stay working for you.Become a company of finishers rather than beginners. HAVE INCENTIVES FOR LONG TERM DRIVERS. REWARD THEM!Alot of areas you are great. But until you take what I emphasized earlier seriously, you will continue to have high turnover and will be a short term Employer for many drivers.

    Show More
    Roehl Transport2019-08-20
  8. "Good place to get your foot in the door of a career in trucking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver Trainer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Help you get your cdl and pays you while you train. Dispatch is helpful and will try to get you as many miles as you can. Safety oriented company Best hometime options that I've been able to find Good van and reefer owner operator lease program Good equipment most trucks and trailers are under 4 years old. Maintenance takes care of your truck. If you're a good driver and not hitting anything dispatch and safety leaves you alone Trucks have APUs or have EPUs. Fridges allowed in trucks. (Have to bring own)

    Show More

    Cons

    Flatbed owner op program needs a overhaul. Safety department can be quick to pull the trigger but if you cover yourself you will be fine. Cameras in trucks.

    Advice to Management

    Overhaul flatbed owner op program.

    Roehl Transport2019-08-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Horrific"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver in Gary, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great equipment, Decent facilities, that's all

    Cons

    Pay, DM/FM's Load planners, DAC reporting no matter how small the accident, Not paid for miles and contract even less, Non Stop relays, mostly short load assignments, but wait there's more!

    Roehl Transport2019-09-06
  10. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Driver 

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good place worth working for

    Cons

    Can’t think of any right now

    Roehl Transport2019-08-01
Found 138 reviews