Roehl Transport OTR Driver Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for OTR Driver

Roehl Transport OTR Driver Reviews

Updated Jul 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.4
48%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Roehl Transport CEO Rick Roehl
Rick Roehl
32 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great Comany"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTR Truck Driver 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Family oriented company, Great people and Fleet Manager keeps me moving

    Cons

    None so far everything been going smoothly

    Roehl Transport2019-04-27
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Good company to start, if you are young."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTR Flatbed Driver in Tyler, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay compared to other starting companies Good hometime for an otr company. Plenty of fleet options Get treated like a family by other drivers Good load variety and locations If wanting to see the nation, i saw 46 states first year.

    Cons

    Training used to be amazing. And still is better then most but could use some improvements If going through GYCDL, 7k contract if you quit, or get fired before 120k miles They mama bear. A lot.

    Advice to Management

    Stop the 6 month training and stop pushing everyone to train

    Roehl Transport2019-07-14
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Unethical"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTR Truck Driver in Marshfield, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The phase 1 training, out of the Appleton, WI terminal, was great. Felt prepared, informed, and passed my CDL. My OTR trainer, in phase 2, also an excellent experience.

    Cons

    Phase 2 training has you out on the road for a minimum of 19 days. I was fortunate to be matched with a knowledgeable, and conscientious, trainer. Sadly, the trainer and the actual work of driving, and visiting customers, were the only bright spots. Training was a harried experience at the beginning, because dispatch scheduled us as a team, instead of trainer/trainee. That meant more than a week of 16 + hour days. My trainer was finally able to wind down the length of the days, but we were still given dispatches with impossible timelines, that would guarantee a domino affect of late arrivals. A lesson to learn in this business, if you’re late for an appointment, you will not receive detention pay when the client retains you over two hours. At the end of phase 2, while coordinating my transition to a solo driver, I was explicitly asked to lie. Roehl does not practice the ethical guidelines they’ve listed in their Driver Reference Guide.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You will not retain quality talent if my experience is the standard at Roehl.

    Roehl Transport2019-07-11
  4. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTR Truck Driver in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nothing .bad to.say excelent company

    Cons

    None very good so far

    Roehl Transport2019-05-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "good start...downhill very fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTR Flatbed Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    get your cdl program, works with drivers personal issues

    Cons

    certain management treating drivers like children (not fleet managers)

    Roehl Transport2019-03-05
  6. Helpful (9)

    "From good to nightmare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - OTR Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Paid training and good equipment

    Cons

    Turned into com artist Did not meet there part of the promises made and terminated me before my obligations were fulfilled charging me to pay back 7000 in training fees. 1 incident not accident my 2nd day in truck which was no damage to equipment then afterwards no tickets, accidents, incidents for 9 months and released and keeping last check and charged to repay 7000 in training fees??Heard a few other stories like mine. Scam artist Will fight this!!!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get honest!!!

    Roehl Transport2019-01-22
  7. Helpful (12)

    "Flatbed OTR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - OTR Flatbed Driver in East Saint Louis, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is really no pros to this company.

    Cons

    The pay is terrible. You have to do a couple weeks just to get a couple of days off. Also they want you to sign a contract don’t do it leave the bonus please. They claim to have national flatbed routes but you’ll only stay in the Midwest. Please don’t be fooled. Way to many companies that’ll pay 1,200-1,600 weekly with home time weekly don’t settle for less.

    Roehl Transport2019-01-16
  8. Helpful (12)

    "Run and run fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTR Driver in Conley, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The only pro was paid training

    Cons

    Fleet managers and planning and customer service have absolutely the worst communication. I’m still in a broke truck even though I’ve lost a bunch of time and money and they claim they can’t find me a new truck but there are tons of them sitting around waiting on people who haven’t technically become an employee yet. I keep getting screwed around on my loads between them being canceled and supposed to be home in 2 days which I don’t see happening at this point. They don’t care about the driver and you can tell just go look at the salaries of office staff the shop and then look at driver pay.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Mr roehl needs to actually pay attention to what the hell is going on in his company and put an end to all the bs. He needs to see that the turnover rate is not sustainable. He also needs to see that drivers aren’t happy because we are getting paid way less than office personnel even though the drivers are the back bone of this company. No one belongs in a position to tell a driver what is safe unless they’ve actually driven and have a cdl.

    Show More
    Roehl Transport2018-11-14
  9. Helpful (1)

    "It is still a great experience. Lots of room fir advancement ."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTR Flatbed Driver in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice secure job it just depends on the person

    Cons

    Non yet, any issue I had was easily resolved

    Advice to Management

    Keep making the drivers a priority and everything will continue to run smoothly

    Roehl Transport2018-10-02
  10. Helpful (30)

    "Started off great! Now not so much..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTR Flatbed Driver in National, WV
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The GYCDL Program was awesome; a little fast paced, yet so is the job... The instructors that I trained under during Phase One are amazing! Very reliable teachers. Answered most all of the questions I along with the other trainees had. The questions they didn’t know the answers to, they found and answered the next day. Phase Two was a lot more stressful for me personally, the Cargo Securement class should have been longer than one day. The OTR trainer I had was ok; I feel like he should have been trained better as an instructor. 1. Great Instructors for those new to the environment. 2. Team members (other drivers) offer their help. 3. Trucks are newer but basic... 4. ELD Compliant

    Show More

    Cons

    As stated above, awesome company leading up to going solo and being assigned a truck... 1. Fleet Manager is okay; we have our differences. Learning to just do as he says. (When I started phase Two i was required to contact him once a day... I distinctly remember him saying for me to be successful him and I need to work together as a team... now that I am solo it is more like he “yells jump” and my response is required to be “how high.” Not a team effort. More like I do as he says or risk retaliation.) 2. Dispatch does not plan times correctly based on routing. Fuel and Routing is ridiculous; (plan @55MPH) then proceeds to route you through every small town not built for trucks with speeds as low as 15MPH. And then has the nerve to blame you for being late. 3. The fleet management personnel are taught to place blame on the driver if anything goes wrong. Regardless of the nature of the problem. (I.e Poor F&R Plan/Unsafe Roads/Unsafe Traffic {being routed through areas during “rush hour”}/.etc) 4. Miles Assigned are not as promised. 5. Loads are forced on drivers (even if logical reason to refuse the load is presented.) 6. Forced to sign contract (miles based) [refer to number 4.] 7. Equipment is rusted beyond repair (securement equip.) 8. Weekend dispatch/Over Night Fleet Managers are 85% useless. (That is if you can actually get through to someone via their automated voip system.) 9. Repeatedly sent to shippers that have a well known history of being a cemetery for HOS. 10. GPS System is often incorrect (wrong exit numbers, road names incorrect, speed alert is wrong 60% of the time) 11. Event Recorders (inward facing is invasion of privacy) 12. Lane Control Alert goes off randomly... (could be on a road with not a single line anywhere for miles but it will repeatedly go off setting off the event recorder.) 13. Bendix System/Collision Mitigating System is overwhelmingly inaccurate. (I’ve had it slam(literally) on the brakes and I was the only vehicle on the road for miles) (no obstructions in road either) Apparently these trucks are scared of shadows... 14. Governed at 65... More of a traffic hazard than safe. especially on the roads with speeds above that. (These trucks struggle to climb a damn hill empty due to being governed.) 15. Everything that goes wrong is the Drivers Fault. 16. Pay is lower than most other companies. (Based on per mile rates)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Not worth the argument. If I didn’t fear losing my job and being forced to pay the current outstanding contract... I’d tell them myself. ...Open Door Policy Doesn’t Protect Against Retaliation...

    Roehl Transport2018-07-07
Found 49 reviews