Roehl Transport Reviews | Glassdoor

Roehl Transport Reviews

Updated January 21, 2019
222 reviews

Filter

Filter


2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Roehl Transport CEO Rick Roehl
Rick Roehl
136 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "I had the opportunity to join Roehl Transport 11 years ago as a Fleet Manager" (in 16 reviews)

  • "Roehl Transports home time fleets are great for drivers who need to be home more" (in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Fleet managers not driver focused" (in 17 reviews)

  • "Time away from home is biggest draw back" (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (8)

    "Truck Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    new trucks, practical miles instead of the zip code, treated with respect, I'm home every weekend and still making $1300 a week on a dedicated account. they trust me with issues I feel unsafe. best maintenance dept. ever experienced nobody even close. hours not days

    Cons

    Wish I had came when first started driving

    Advice to Management

    My manager is great. Treats me like an experienced driver not a rookie

    Roehl Transport Response

    May 16, 2018 – Marketing & Communications Manager

    We really appreciate the feedback - thanks for sharing your thoughts and for being a part of our team!


  2. "It is still a great experience. Lots of room fir advancement ."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTR Flatbed Driver in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - OTR Flatbed Driver in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Nice secure job it just depends on the person

    Cons

    Non yet, any issue I had was easily resolved

    Advice to Management

    Keep making the drivers a priority and everything will continue to run smoothly

    Roehl Transport Response

    Oct 3, 2018 – Marketing & Communications Manager

    Thank you for your 5-star review! We're proud to have you as part of TeamRoehl!

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great starter company,safety oriented"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - National Hometime Fleet in Daytona Beach, FL
    Current Employee - National Hometime Fleet in Daytona Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Very safety oriented and treat drivers well, very flexible with hometime and family emergencies and treat drivers well and like people,will call and check on you and ask you how they can improve which is more than a lot of truck companies care to do, its a great company to start out with as a new driver.they also offer some of the best hometimes out of any company ive found, almost to the point its part time instead of full time

    Cons

    Poor load planning,low pay,micro managing,long load times and poor communication with fleet managers and customers

    Advice to Management

    If i could advise anything after my 3 years with this company its that some fleet managers are vindictive and have poor communication and response time, or no responsiveness at all, the micro managing has been getting worse over the years which is good with new drivers but not the experienced ones that are competent, performance pay progression is unattainable if fleet manager and planning doesnt allow it


  4. "From good to nightmare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - OTR Driver
    Former Employee - OTR Driver
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Paid training and good equipment

    Cons

    Turned into com artist
     Did not meet there part of the promises made and terminated me before my obligations were fulfilled charging me to pay back 7000 in training fees. 1 incident not accident my 2nd day in truck which was no damage to equipment then afterwards no tickets, accidents, incidents for 9 months and released and keeping last check and charged to repay 7000 in training fees??Heard a few other stories like mine. Scam artist Will fight this!!!

    Advice to Management

    Get honest!!!


  5. "Flatbed OTR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - OTR Flatbed Driver in East Saint Louis, IL
    Former Employee - OTR Flatbed Driver in East Saint Louis, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    There is really no pros to this company.

    Cons

    The pay is terrible. You have to do a couple weeks just to get a couple of days off. Also they want you to sign a contract don’t do it leave the bonus please. They claim to have national flatbed routes but you’ll only stay in the Midwest. Please don’t be fooled. Way to many companies that’ll pay 1,200-1,600 weekly with home time weekly don’t settle for less.


  6. "Double standards/ hypocrisy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Truck Driver in Marshfield, WI
    Current Employee - Truck Driver in Marshfield, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Decent equipment, looks good attracts customers and new hires.

    Cons

    Don't let them make you run harder for less money on your pay check

    Advice to Management

    Only hire truck drivers as fleet managers. Don't micro manage people. Admit to truck drivers your pay is low cause you wanna replace us with self driving trucks to make more profit.

    Roehl Transport Response

    Dec 14, 2018 – Marketing & Communications Manager

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. Having drivers in leadership roles is an essential part of our business, which is why our CEO still drives to this day. Our pay plans are structured in a way that... More


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Watch your back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Hard to find any right now. Announce new pay plan but no details in print as usual

    Cons

    Safety will charge avoidable accidents on everything. Never believe drivers. It is always the drivers fault. Lots of requirements that are over DOT. Like 2 pretrip for trainers and students. Must log 15 minutes each even if first pre-trip was observed. BS. FM’s hard to work with planners to not plan loads well. Lots of extra down time especially when they claim they do not know Dock hours of customers. Cameras do not protect you 100’s of camera events behind they talk to you about issues 3-4 weeks after something happens

    Advice to Management

    Learn honesty and trust drivers. Things happen that are incidents not accidents. Blame driver without even telling driver there is a issue

    Roehl Transport Response

    Dec 1, 2018 – Marketing & Communications Manager

    As a driver with at least five years with Roehl, (and it sounds like a trainer too), I can only imagine your frustration. Please share your concerns with your chain of management. You can also share... More

  8. Helpful (5)

    "Run and run fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTR Driver in Conley, GA
    Current Employee - OTR Driver in Conley, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The only pro was paid training

    Cons

    Fleet managers and planning and customer service have absolutely the worst communication. I’m still in a broke truck even though I’ve lost a bunch of time and money and they claim they can’t find me a new truck but there are tons of them sitting around waiting on people who haven’t technically become an employee yet. I keep getting screwed around on my loads between them being canceled and supposed to be home in 2 days which I don’t see happening at this point. They don’t care about the driver and you can tell just go look at the salaries of office staff the shop and then look at driver pay.

    Advice to Management

    Mr roehl needs to actually pay attention to what the hell is going on in his company and put an end to all the bs. He needs to see that the turnover rate is not sustainable. He also needs to see that drivers aren’t happy because we are getting paid way less than office personnel even though the drivers are the back bone of this company. No one belongs in a position to tell a driver what is safe unless they’ve actually driven and have a cdl.

    Roehl Transport Response

    Dec 1, 2018 – Marketing & Communications Manager

    Hello. I can tell you are frustrated. I know that I would be too, if I felt like I wasn’t being seen or heard by our company, and I too might be tempted to vent that frustration in a public sphere... More


  9. "Local"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time

    Pros

    There is the opportunity to be home every night or be gone a couple days.

    Cons

    Sometimes you have to work longer than expected days.

    Roehl Transport Response

    Oct 8, 2018 – Marketing & Communications Manager

    We have really added a lot of home nightly or home several nights a week runs. That's a direct result of our driving teammates sharing their feedback, and it's a credit to our operational teammates... More


  10. "OTR Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time

    Pros

    The solitude and the scenery

    Cons

    The pay is poor for novices and the hour are long

    Roehl Transport Response

    Oct 2, 2018 – Marketing & Communications Manager

    I hope that you take the training you received and, if you are still driving, you are protecting others using the Roehl Way. Thank you for sharing your feedback.