Roehl Transport Reviews

Updated May 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
71%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Roehl Transport CEO Rick Roehl
Rick Roehl
179 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Dispatch will call you during your sleeper time to put loads on you, despite if you're awake enough to take the loads or not(in 25 reviews)

  • "Fleet managers having managerial discretion when they are not actual managers(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Company Driver in Gary, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    So far so good very straightforward and honest

    Cons

    No cons good company to work for

    Continue reading
    Roehl Transport2020-04-06

    Roehl Transport Response

    April 8, 2020

    Thank you so much for your sincere review! Your input is important to us and we are so proud to have you on TeamRoehl!

  2. "onboarding"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver Regional 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    quick hiring decision process for new hire

    Cons

    didn't share all details in advance

    Continue reading
    Roehl Transport2020-05-06

    Roehl Transport Response

    May 13, 2020

    I appreciate the feedback about our onboarding process as it relates to the speed we move to help qualified drivers join our team – that’s especially important during these COVID-19 times when so many drivers are out of work (while Roehl has actually continued to grow!). As far as sharing full details, we put all the job-specific details in writing in our offer letters. If you feel something was missing, please share that feedback through the My Roehl app so we can continue to improve and be the premier destination for professional truck drivers. Thank you for being a member of TeamRoehl!

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Just lackluster, there's better options available"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is decent Industry is strong

    Cons

    Very limited mobility within the company Training is very much sink or swim mentality Resources and help are limited PTO policy is strict (I wasn't able to take a personal day in my first year without getting penalized)

    Continue reading
    Roehl Transport2020-05-14

    Roehl Transport Response

    May 19, 2020

    What concerns me about this review is not that some of the factual statements are inaccurate and incongruent, but that you’ve posted a review as a current employee saying that management doesn’t listen and you have less than a year of experience with TeamRoehl. I strongly encourage you to speak with your manager about your concerns, and if necessary, speak with our Employee Relations Manager. Our Wall of Values includes “Mutual Support and Teamwork” and we offer a lot of training and tools to empower our employees (we have Roehl Youniversity, our online campus that is loaded with courses and extended learning opportunities). Earlier this year we updated our paid time off (PTO) policy for new hires, and that came directly from listening to our employees. Again, I hope you take advantage of the resources available to help you be a successful teammate.

  4. "School of Rock"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President of Sales in Conley, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very detailed and informative scenario.

    Cons

    No cons at this time.

    Roehl Transport2020-03-25

    Roehl Transport Response

    April 1, 2020

    Thanks so much for leaving us such a great review! We're glad to have you as part of TeamRoehl!

  5. "Roehl Transport"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Event Recorder Technician in Marshfield, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The team is welcoming and very supportive.

    Cons

    Stuck at a computer all day.

    Roehl Transport2020-03-17

    Roehl Transport Response

    March 19, 2020

    We appreciate your feedback! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience working with us.

  6. "So far so good"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver in Appleton, WI

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Starting phase 2 is training soon. CDL training was great, good accomodations and instruction, nice equipment and clear expectations

    Cons

    Pay is lower than I'm used to but it is paid training so I can't complain. I am concerned about getting terminated and having to pay $7k or there not being enough miles to make a living.

    Roehl Transport2020-03-06

    Roehl Transport Response

    March 19, 2020

    I don’t know how far along in the training process you are. My recommendation is to give yourself time and focus on learning the job. If you are concerned about your abilities or have other concerns, we have a ton of resources to help you be successful.

  7. "Good starter"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTR Company Driver 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent training program and get paid to get your CDL

    Cons

    Away from family a lot

    Continue reading
    Roehl Transport2020-03-18

    Roehl Transport Response

    March 19, 2020

    Thank you for the feedback and for being my teammate. When you are first starting out in the trucking business, home time and working can be a balancing act. It’s a challenge many drivers face. Roehl offers many home weekly or dedicated opportunities across the country. You can use the My Roehl App to see what is available.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Scam"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time

    Pros

    No pros for this place

    Cons

    Scam Lies Bad training Can't do our own routes

    Roehl Transport2020-04-01

    Roehl Transport Response

    April 3, 2020

    Let’s start with the fact that we put everything in writing, up-front, and we don’t proceed unless our candidates read and agree. Our training is most certainly not “bad” – we’re one of the safest, most successful trucking companies in North America. We’ve been training drivers for 30 years. We have hundreds of million-mile drivers. Finally, we’re a sophisticated business with fuel and routing professionals that actually plan the optimal routes for our freight. Fuel is the second-highest expense for our company, and we’d rather pay our drivers more than increase our fuel costs. You can validate that with our Address-to-Address Mileage Calculations – we’re paying drivers for more of the miles they actually drive.

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good for Truck Driving"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Class A Truck Driver in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They kept me moving and for the most part stuck to my schedule of 5 1/2 on 1 1/2 off. The gave me regular raises per a mile for doing good work Had an excellent manager/dispatcher New and nice trucks

    Cons

    I left not because the company was bad. If I were to be a truck driver, I’d work there. The lifestyle was just not for me.

    Roehl Transport2020-02-14

    Roehl Transport Response

    February 18, 2020

    Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We are glad you enjoyed your time working with us!

  10. "Good Company"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Aircraft Maintenance 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work/Life Balance is great Great culture

    Cons

    None, would recommend to anyone

    Roehl Transport2020-01-30

    Roehl Transport Response

    January 31, 2020

    Thanks so much for the great review! We appreciate your kind words.

Found 283 reviews