Roehl Transport Reviews | Glassdoor

Roehl Transport Reviews

Updated August 11, 2018
209 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Roehl Transport CEO Rick Roehl
Rick Roehl
127 Ratings

209 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "I had the opportunity to join Roehl Transport 11 years ago as a Fleet Manager" (in 16 reviews)

  • "Roehl Transports home time fleets are great for drivers who need to be home more" (in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some fleet managers are good, but others are just complete imbeciles" (in 15 reviews)

  • "Time away from home is biggest draw back" (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (9)

    "Great training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Truck Driver in Gary, IN
    Former Employee - Truck Driver in Gary, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Roehl’s training is among the best. You get paid while you’re trained in their get your CDL program. The instructors actually care about your progress and will bend over backwards to help you. It is a very fast program so you have to be a fast learner. You’re on the hook for $7k so you need to be sure you can do the job for over a year. I was a van national driver for 15 months and was very happy with my miles and paychecks. If you show your fleet manager you are reliable and manage your time you will get the good loads. I was home very consistently on day 12 or 13 and always got 3 days off. It was so consistent I could plan events around when I would get home without even checking with my fleet manager. ( although you should let them know if you have something important you need to be home for)

    Cons

    The starting pay is decent but it caps out fairly low. It’s a good company for starting but may not be for the long run. The equipment is well taken care of but you’ll get the base model tractor without many features. No refrigerators, no standard inverter. If you want an inverter installed you have to pay for one of theirs and it will only run for 2 hours until it is off for 10.

    Advice to Management

    You are paying people to live one the road. They want comfortable equipment with nice features. Drivers will stay longer if they are paid well!

    Roehl Transport Response

    May 16, 2018 – Marketing & Communications Manager

    Thank you for the feedback.


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Look for a better company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time

    Pros

    GYCDL program was good, but it was done through a third party - so can't even give Roehl credit for that.

    Cons

    Management micro-manages and loves to play the blame game. Driver retention is awful. Did not feel like i was part of the 'family'. In-truck cameras. Pay sucks

    Advice to Management

    Make more effort to keep your employees.

    Roehl Transport Response

    Aug 15, 2018 – Marketing & Communications Manager

    While I don't know your specific situation, I do have a couple of clarifying questions.
    1. The GYCDL program is entirely Roehl's training program. We may use non-Roehl facilities and other resources... More

  3. Helpful (6)

    "Started off great! Now not so much..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTR Flatbed Driver in National, WV
    Current Employee - OTR Flatbed Driver in National, WV
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The GYCDL Program was awesome; a little fast paced, yet so is the job... The instructors that I trained under during Phase One are amazing! Very reliable teachers. Answered most all of the questions I along with the other trainees had. The questions they didn’t know the answers to, they found and answered the next day. Phase Two was a lot more stressful for me personally, the Cargo Securement class should have been longer than one day. The OTR trainer I had was ok; I feel like he should have been trained better as an instructor.

    1. Great Instructors for those new to the environment.
    2. Team members (other drivers) offer their help.
    3. Trucks are newer but basic...
    4. ELD Compliant

    Cons

    As stated above, awesome company leading up to going solo and being assigned a truck...

    1. Fleet Manager is okay; we have our differences. Learning to just do as he says. (When I started phase Two i was required to contact him once a day... I distinctly remember him saying for me to be successful him and I need to work together as a team... now that I am solo it is more like he “yells jump” and my response is required to be “how high.” Not a team effort. More like I do as he says or risk retaliation.)

    2. Dispatch does not plan times correctly based on routing. Fuel and Routing is ridiculous; (plan @55MPH) then proceeds to route you through every small town not built for trucks with speeds as low as 15MPH. And then has the nerve to blame you for being late.

    3. The fleet management personnel are taught to place blame on the driver if anything goes wrong. Regardless of the nature of the problem. (I.e Poor F&R Plan/Unsafe Roads/Unsafe Traffic {being routed through areas during “rush hour”}/.etc)

    4. Miles Assigned are not as promised.

    5. Loads are forced on drivers (even if logical reason to refuse the load is presented.)

    6. Forced to sign contract (miles based) [refer to number 4.]

    7. Equipment is rusted beyond repair (securement equip.)

    8. Weekend dispatch/Over Night Fleet Managers are 85% useless. (That is if you can actually get through to someone via their automated voip system.)

    9. Repeatedly sent to shippers that have a well known history of being a cemetery for HOS.

    10. GPS System is often incorrect (wrong exit numbers, road names incorrect, speed alert is wrong 60% of the time)

    11. Event Recorders (inward facing is invasion of privacy)

    12. Lane Control Alert goes off randomly... (could be on a road with not a single line anywhere for miles but it will repeatedly go off setting off the event recorder.)

    13. Bendix System/Collision Mitigating System is overwhelmingly inaccurate. (I’ve had it slam(literally) on the brakes and I was the only vehicle on the road for miles) (no obstructions in road either) Apparently these trucks are scared of shadows...

    14. Governed at 65... More of a traffic hazard than safe. especially on the roads with speeds above that. (These trucks struggle to climb a damn hill empty due to being governed.)

    15. Everything that goes wrong is the Drivers Fault.

    16. Pay is lower than most other companies. (Based on per mile rates)

    Advice to Management

    Not worth the argument.

    If I didn’t fear losing my job and being forced to pay the current outstanding contract... I’d tell them myself.

    ...Open Door Policy Doesn’t Protect Against Retaliation...


  4. Helpful (5)

    "CDL-A Truck Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Class A Cdl Truck Driver in Conley, GA
    Current Employee - Class A Cdl Truck Driver in Conley, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Free laundry at several terminals. 50% drop and hooks. I encountered three people in the Compant that I felt cared about us. Nobody else did.

    Cons

    Disorganized management with no concern for the drivers. A lot of wasted time. Frequently searching for empty trailers, frequently sent to customers that are closed or without necessary numbers just to be turned away, required me to leave on recaps 3 hours before my 34 hour reset completed, poor communication - frequently ignore messages. Long hold times when calling in. Night dispatch not capable of handling problems. Trucks frequently in the shop and problems recur - don’t get fixed properly. Must work continually to make any money. $40,000 per year max for 70+ hours per week. I was never late, always left as soon as my breaks were over (unless I couldn’t). Really it was an awful experience. Career opportunities only rated three stars because fleet managers were constantly leaving also and there are always job postings. Turnover is high.

    Advice to Management

    Get organized, get all management on the same page, take better care of the drivers.

    Roehl Transport Response

    Jun 28, 2018 – Marketing & Communications Manager

    Hello, I'm sorry your experience didn't meet your expectations, and I encourage you to communicate through your chain of leadership so it can improve! I'm going to callout one of things you said: the... More


  5. Helpful (2)

    "JUST ROLL PAST ROEHL TRANSPORT AND DON'T THINK TWICE!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional Truck Driver in Conley, GA
    Current Employee - Professional Truck Driver in Conley, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Paid rental car and hotel accommodation during orientation and $10.00 meal ticket for breakfast or dinner. Not to mention, nice equipment.

    Cons

    They don't pay their professional truck drivers on time or if ever at all. Constantly disputing your weekly pay, period . They are in the business to pick up and drop trailers, daily, for FREE and see no wrong, as to why they don't pay their professional truck drivers.
    After my fourth load my paycheck says ZERO net pay. I called my driver manager and asked "where's my paycheck"? Response, call your driver manager. Nothing but a BIG SPIN AT ROEHL TRANSPORT INC & nobody seems to know nothing when it comes to payroll. This is by far the worst trucking company and such a waste of time last five (5) weeks of he'll and basically worked for FREE with ZERO NET PAY.
    Thank you Roehl Transport for ZERO NET PAY!

    Advice to Management

    PAY YOUR DRIVERS AND STOP MAKING FALSE PROMISES AS YOU HAVE NO MILES TO GIVE YOUR DRIVERS, NO 10,000, 00 BONUS, AND ZERO NET PAY!


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Invests in Employee Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Specialist in Marshfield, WI
    Current Employee - Administrative Specialist in Marshfield, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    A culture of employee development (drivers and non-drivers)
    Recognize and utilize employee strengths
    One mission, one team atmosphere

    Cons

    Can not think of anything

    Roehl Transport Response

    May 16, 2018 – Marketing & Communications Manager

    Thank you for sharing your feedback and for being a part of TeamRoehl!


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Driver Employment Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    great company ! The people are amazing, always there to support you. Good pay!

    Cons

    PTO isn't very good. Hard to get days off

    Advice to Management

    more PTO

    Roehl Transport Response

    May 17, 2018 – Marketing & Communications Manager

    Thank you for the five-star review! We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Still going strong - more than five years in with the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Marshfield, WI
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Marshfield, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    - company is stable, forward thinking and built on values
    - leadership explains our mission and demonstrates the aforementioned values
    - I've been able to do some very neat things as a part of Roehl.
    - Despite our size (more than 2500 employees), there is really a family atmosphere.
    - I absolutely love connecting with my teammates, especially drivers. We are doing great work in a very challenging space.

    Cons

    - I've been pushed to be my best in my role at Roehl. I recognize that, at times, this makes me uncomfortable. I also think it's actually more of a positive than a negative.
    - Trucking is a tough business. Some trucking companies are not built on values; they are not like Roehl, but that doesn't stop some people from forming a biased opinion about our company.

    Roehl Transport Response

    May 16, 2018 – Marketing & Communications Manager

    Thank you for the feedback.


  9. Helpful (3)

    "Truck Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    new trucks, practical miles instead of the zip code, treated with respect, I'm home every weekend and still making $1300 a week on a dedicated account. they trust me with issues I feel unsafe. best maintenance dept. ever experienced nobody even close. hours not days

    Cons

    Wish I had came when first started driving

    Advice to Management

    My manager is great. Treats me like an experienced driver not a rookie

    Roehl Transport Response

    May 16, 2018 – Marketing & Communications Manager

    We really appreciate the feedback - thanks for sharing your thoughts and for being a part of our team!


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Roehl is a great company to work for. Safety is a value here. Great equipment. Opportunities for advancement and a career.

    Cons

    None compared to other companies.

    Roehl Transport Response

    Jun 28, 2018 – Marketing & Communications Manager

    Thank you for this review and feedback!


Showing 209 of 211 reviews
Reset Filters