Roehl Transport Reviews | Glassdoor

Roehl Transport Reviews

Updated May 9, 2018
205 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Roehl Transport CEO Rick Roehl
Rick Roehl
125 Ratings

205 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "I had the opportunity to join Roehl Transport 11 years ago as a Fleet Manager" (in 16 reviews)

  • "Roehl Transports home time fleets are great for drivers who need to be home more" (in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some fleet managers are good, but others are just complete imbeciles" (in 15 reviews)

  • "Time away from home is biggest draw back" (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Truck Driver in Gary, IN
    Former Employee - Truck Driver in Gary, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Roehl’s training is among the best. You get paid while you’re trained in their get your CDL program. The instructors actually care about your progress and will bend over backwards to help you. It is a very fast program so you have to be a fast learner. You’re on the hook for $7k so you need to be sure you can do the job for over a year. I was a van national driver for 15 months and was very happy with my miles and paychecks. If you show your fleet manager you are reliable and manage your time you will get the good loads. I was home very consistently on day 12 or 13 and always got 3 days off. It was so consistent I could plan events around when I would get home without even checking with my fleet manager. ( although you should let them know if you have something important you need to be home for)

    Cons

    The starting pay is decent but it caps out fairly low. It’s a good company for starting but may not be for the long run. The equipment is well taken care of but you’ll get the base model tractor without many features. No refrigerators, no standard inverter. If you want an inverter installed you have to pay for one of theirs and it will only run for 2 hours until it is off for 10.

    Advice to Management

    You are paying people to live one the road. They want comfortable equipment with nice features. Drivers will stay longer if they are paid well!

    Roehl Transport Response

    May 16, 2018 – Marketing & Communications Manager

    Thank you for the feedback.


  2. "Invests in Employee Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Specialist in Marshfield, WI
    Current Employee - Administrative Specialist in Marshfield, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    A culture of employee development (drivers and non-drivers)
    Recognize and utilize employee strengths
    One mission, one team atmosphere

    Cons

    Can not think of anything

    Roehl Transport Response

    May 16, 2018 – Marketing & Communications Manager

    Thank you for sharing your feedback and for being a part of TeamRoehl!

  3. "Driver Employment Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    great company ! The people are amazing, always there to support you. Good pay!

    Cons

    PTO isn't very good. Hard to get days off

    Advice to Management

    more PTO

    Roehl Transport Response

    May 17, 2018 – Marketing & Communications Manager

    Thank you for the five-star review! We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback.


  4. "Still going strong - more than five years in with the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Marshfield, WI
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Marshfield, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    - company is stable, forward thinking and built on values
    - leadership explains our mission and demonstrates the aforementioned values
    - I've been able to do some very neat things as a part of Roehl.
    - Despite our size (more than 2500 employees), there is really a family atmosphere.
    - I absolutely love connecting with my teammates, especially drivers. We are doing great work in a very challenging space.

    Cons

    - I've been pushed to be my best in my role at Roehl. I recognize that, at times, this makes me uncomfortable. I also think it's actually more of a positive than a negative.
    - Trucking is a tough business. Some trucking companies are not built on values; they are not like Roehl, but that doesn't stop some people from forming a biased opinion about our company.

    Roehl Transport Response

    May 16, 2018 – Marketing & Communications Manager

    Thank you for the feedback.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Truck Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    new trucks, practical miles instead of the zip code, treated with respect, I'm home every weekend and still making $1300 a week on a dedicated account. they trust me with issues I feel unsafe. best maintenance dept. ever experienced nobody even close. hours not days

    Cons

    Wish I had came when first started driving

    Advice to Management

    My manager is great. Treats me like an experienced driver not a rookie

    Roehl Transport Response

    May 16, 2018 – Marketing & Communications Manager

    We really appreciate the feedback - thanks for sharing your thoughts and for being a part of our team!


  6. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Roehl is a great company to work for. Safety is a value here. Great equipment. Opportunities for advancement and a career.

    Cons

    None compared to other companies.


  7. "A wonderful company with great values."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver Employment Specialist in Marshfield, WI
    Current Employee - Driver Employment Specialist in Marshfield, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    I have been employed with Roehl Transport for almost ten years. I am a Driver Employment Specialist and I have contact with many individuals that join our driving team.

    From an office employee standpoint, Roehl is top notch. I have worked in numerous positions within the company and I have been encouraged by management to continue to advance my career at Roehl. I am often provided with in house training to sharpen my skill set, and they also offer tuition reimbursement so that I may grow academically as well.

    The individuals that I hire will often follow up with me after they start their driving career at Roehl. The feedback that I receive from these individuals is how Roehl makes them feel like more than just a number. We care if they succeed and we value the work that they do. In addition, the equipment that our drivers are issued is very new and well maintained. As a grand finale, safety is our cornerstone value and our teammates know that we just won't compromise for anything less than the best in that area.

    Cons

    There is continuous improvement that happens at Roehl, so if there ever is a downside, if you convey the issues, there is usually a way to correct the problems and move past them.

    Roehl Transport Response

    May 16, 2018 – Marketing & Communications Manager

    Great feedback and review. Thank you so much!

  8. "Beware!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Truck Driver in Gary, IN
    Former Employee - Truck Driver in Gary, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    They make you pay for everything. $228 for a lock. I pass transponders.

    Cons

    Cameras in trucks. $5,000 payback if you don't get the required 75,000 miles. $500 If you leave before orientation. Read the paperwork thoroughly before you sign it.


  9. Helpful (6)

    "National Flatbed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - National Flatbed Driver in Peoria, AZ
    Current Employee - National Flatbed Driver in Peoria, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good starter company, steady work so far.

    Cons

    Time away from home is biggest draw back. Want to make money say good bye to family and spend very little time at home. Don't expect a home life.

    Qualcomm is dated and terrible for GPS Navigation, buy your own.

    Benefits are 80/20 and expensive. Be prepared to pay close to 200 a week for benefits for family. Driver I believe is just 90 alone.

    Advice to Management

    Pay us more.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great starting company for drivers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time

    Pros

    Great company cares about its drivers. If you have a good fleet manager you're good to go. Nice flexible home time.

    Cons

    Pay not as much as other companies.


Showing 205 of 207 reviews
Reset Filters