Roehl Transport OTR Truck Driver - Dry Van National Reviews | Glassdoor

Roehl Transport Reviews

Updated Jan 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
70%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Roehl Transport CEO Rick Roehl
Rick Roehl
173 Ratings
  1. Helpful (9)

    "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTR Driver Trainer in Marshfield, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent equipment, communication with fleet managers excellent, hardly any downtime. Respectful of requests to avoid NYC (I understand it's only a request). Wonderful home time very flexible. CDL training was excellent. Roehl has kept.every promise they have made to me thus far and I've honored my end as well.

    Cons

    Overall pay is kinda low

    Advice to Management

    Send preplan to the driver as soon as its assigned. Dont wait till the empty call. An idea of what I'm doing next before I'm sitting at the customer empty figuring it out would be appricated.

    Roehl Transport2019-11-05
  2. "Great place to get started"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Trust Analyst in Marshfield, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company and my dispatcher valued my safety. That was very important to me. If I didn't feel comfortable with either the load, the equipment, or some regulation grey area, my dispatcher always worked with me to get it right. I always got home when I needed to and never had a problem getting time off. I vary rarely sat around waiting for my next assignment. This was a great place to get my CDL and get on the road.

    Cons

    The trucks weren't always the newest. I drove one good truck and two older ones. I broke down a few times more than I thought was reasonable. I guess the pay could have been more, but if you're just starting out, it wasn't terrible.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Thank you for allowing me to work with you.

    Roehl Transport2020-01-13
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructor in Gary, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They care and want you to succeed.

    Cons

    Poor onboarding process not much structure.

    Advice to Management

    tell us about things we do well not mostly the things we don't

    Roehl Transport2020-01-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Paid training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Class A Truck Driver 

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great instructor but dont make a mistake, must be perfect from day 1 without experience.

    Cons

    Worst otr trainer, that had 1st time student drive in blizzard.

    Advice to Management

    None cause many people complain but none is herd. Owner keep getting richer and everyone else stay as a puppet.

    Roehl Transport2019-12-10
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Class A Truck Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hometime for 34 Hours but no more

    Cons

    Pay sucks They will cut your miles so you can’t reach next pay grade

    Roehl Transport2019-11-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Would be zero if I could"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Roehl Transport

    Pros

    GYCDL is great program and As soon as done with GYCDL, just get out

    Cons

    Planners are the worst people here who don't care about your family or home time if you have an honest FM then it's fine otherwise they will try to prove that you're lying but failed with me because I had proof of their lies.

    Advice to Management

    Tell your FMs and planners to stop lying.

    Roehl Transport2019-11-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good Mgmt - Good pay for first time drivers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver in Midwest, WY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Mgmt - Good pay for first time drivers - PAID CDL with one year employment and you can go wherever you want then for any wage desired

    Cons

    Truck always ran out of windshield wiper fluid, but they got better as time went on in fixing that

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work~!

    Roehl Transport2019-10-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Terrific Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver Employment Specialist in Marshfield, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I was drawn to this company because it's family owned and has great values. There are many employees who've been here for several years and are really excited and enthusiastic about what they do. I certainly feel as if I'm part of a team here, as I have a lot people I can lean on for advise and support when I need it. I come to work every day and get the opportunity to take to people all over the country and help them find a new career.

    Show More

    Cons

    Haven't run into any thing negative in my time here.

    Roehl Transport2019-09-19
  10. Helpful (10)

    "The Roehl Way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructor in Conley, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Honesty- Roehl has been open and honest from day 1. I'm approaching 3 yrs with the company and its been the best experience ever. As with anywhere, if you put the hard work and dedicate yourself to being the best at what you do, your efforts will pay off.

    Cons

    The one downside with Roehl as far as drivers go is the fact that you earn HOME time. Not so bad right? Its unpaid. So what have you earned? If you can't afford to sit at home for a couple of days that's tough. If its earned time off, it should be compensated for. Look into offering paid time off to show drivers you appreciate the hard work that's put in.

    Advice to Management

    Paid time off for drivers

    Roehl Transport2019-08-19
  11. Helpful (1)

    "Great Values and Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Marshfield, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Full benefits including retirement package, PTO days, work culture is great, managers are very knowledgeable, incentive based productivity at work.

    Cons

    It is very profit driven company because of the cut throat industry, but you leave feeling like you accomplished a lot. Work days fly by.

    Advice to Management

    Year 1 of work is a grind with the lower amount of PTO days you can earn

    Roehl Transport2019-09-17
Found 273 reviews