Roehl Transport Employee Reviews about "dispatch"

Updated Nov 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Roehl Transport CEO Rick Roehl
Rick Roehl
206 Ratings
Pros
  • "Run hard and enjoy the fast track to pay as a new driver(in 33 reviews)

  • "Can change fleets or fleet managers if your unhappy(in 19 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Needs better pay and quicker dispatch(in 25 reviews)

  • "Some Fleet managers can ruin your experience here(in 20 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "dispatch"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Job

      Nov 10, 2020 - Driver in Gary, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      An okay company to start

      Cons

      Needs better pay and quicker dispatch

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Roehl Transport Response

      Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate it!

    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good place to get your foot in the door of a career in trucking

      Aug 19, 2019 - Driver Trainer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Help you get your cdl and pays you while you train. Dispatch is helpful and will try to get you as many miles as you can. Safety oriented company Best hometime options that I've been able to find Good van and reefer owner operator lease program Good equipment most trucks and trailers are under 4 years old. Maintenance takes care of your truck. If you're a good driver and not hitting anything dispatch and safety leaves you alone Trucks have APUs or have EPUs. Fridges allowed in trucks. (Have to bring own)

      Cons

      Flatbed owner op program needs a overhaul. Safety department can be quick to pull the trigger but if you cover yourself you will be fine. Cameras in trucks.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Roehl Transport Response

      Marketing & Communications Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughtful review! It's a pleasure to have you as part of TeamRoehl!

    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Get your CDL program good, that's it.

      Jul 29, 2019 - Class A Truck Driver in Gary, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The training is A+ they really want you to succeed your first 3 months. You can move to any fleet without much trouble. You can get .11 CPM tax free. Benefits aren't bad.

      Cons

      Dispatch will call you during your sleeper time to put loads on you, despite if you're awake enough to take the loads or not. Your dispatcher is not your friend and will only want the loads to get there so they can get the bonuses for early delivery. We dont get anything for that stuff. Just get your CDL A and start looking for other companies. Not enough pay for the stress they put you through.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Unethical

      Jul 11, 2019 - OTR Truck Driver in Marshfield, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The phase 1 training, out of the Appleton, WI terminal, was great. Felt prepared, informed, and passed my CDL. My OTR trainer, in phase 2, also an excellent experience.

      Cons

      Phase 2 training has you out on the road for a minimum of 19 days. I was fortunate to be matched with a knowledgeable, and conscientious, trainer. Sadly, the trainer and the actual work of driving, and visiting customers, were the only bright spots. Training was a harried experience at the beginning, because dispatch scheduled us as a team, instead of trainer/trainee. That meant more than a week of 16 + hour days. My trainer was finally able to wind down the length of the days, but we were still given dispatches with impossible timelines, that would guarantee a domino affect of late arrivals. A lesson to learn in this business, if you’re late for an appointment, you will not receive detention pay when the client retains you over two hours. At the end of phase 2, while coordinating my transition to a solo driver, I was explicitly asked to lie. Roehl does not practice the ethical guidelines they’ve listed in their Driver Reference Guide.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS. HERE'S WHY...

      Feb 28, 2019 - Regional Driver in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Driver orientation is the only legitimate point regarding this company. But it comes with an unjustified and potentially damaging cost.

      Cons

      Fleet managers having managerial discretion when they are not actual managers. They are dispatchers and are not part of the hiring process and should not be a liaison to Human Resources, acting as an alternative to such, or any other departments within the company. Since everyone in dispatch are classified as managers, there are no supervisors or HR reps at any of the terminal locations. PLEASE NOTE: This Company participates in predatory practices in the form of their debt contractual agreements used in the hiring process of new employees and apply this practice to their orientation class. DO NOT SIGN THESE CONTRACTS UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES!! Once you sign you are automatically in debt to Roehl, and they can terminate you without cause, especially if they deem you an unfavorable employee. They WILL draft your final paycheck immediately following termination. From recruiters to dispatchers, the employees at this company will lie to you about everything, and are not forthcoming and transparent. They will also interfere with your pay, delay detention pay, dishonor home time requests, and subject you to unprovoked hostility, intentionally poor communication interactions and hostile work environment because they know they have you on the hook with a contract. This is in part how they make their money. They will sell the so-called debt contract to a collections agency. They will also alter your HOS, force loads regardless of safety concerns, AND WILL USE HIRERIGHT AS A REVENGE TACTIC FOR ALL TERMINATED EMPLOYEES. This company also engages in coercion, which is a federal violation of FMCSA.

      Continue reading
      22 people found this review helpful

      Roehl Transport Response

      Marketing & Communications Manager

      Gee, if this is true, we wouldn’t work here either. Fortunately what you list as facts are far from the truth. But don’t take our word for it. Ask our 2,000 + driving teammates who recently nominated Roehl as one of the best fleets to drive for. Ask the hundreds of one, two, three, four and even 5 million mile safe drivers employed at Roehl. Ask the dozens of our teammates who will be honored soon at our annual Awards Banquet where we celebrate Driver Success. And we back up everything we offer in writing to our prospective drivers in their offer letters. Roehl has grown from a one truck operation in 1962 to one of the safest and largest trucking companies in 2019. Our success is built on the values of Safety, Honesty and Driver Success. For over 15 years, Roehl has been named a Top Pay Carrier by the National Transportation Institute. We were recently named one of the best mid-sized employers to work for. We are company built by a driver and led by a driver. Everything we do centers on our drivers. If half of what you say in your review is true, we’d have never experienced the success we have. We stand on that success.

    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      once was, no more

      Dec 21, 2017 - OTR Truck Driver in Gary, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Trucks are maintained for the most part.

      Cons

      1. trucks are maintained, with the exception of heat. once ran 3 weeks in the dead of winter with no bunk heat. wasn't fixed until 500+ dollars of fuel went to waste by idling the truck to use cab heat overnight. ran in a different truck with the same issue except with ac in the summer down south. 2. "No forced-dispatch -ish" : meaning they don't force you to run the load or run at all. but if you don't want to run, you don't have to, you just can't stay in the truck and will be resigning from your position. 3. Hometime - go OTR national and earn an average of 1 day off per 6 days out on the road. stay out for 2 months and request a load to get you home and you will be sent the opposite direction. not once. not twice. but many consecutive times your request will be made lower priority than ANYTHING in the company. 4. Average load vs. Average pay : average load for OTR national fleet driver is around 350-400 miles. *** "Average pay for OTR drivers(directly quoted from their fleet operations manager) is about $16.50 per hour after all numbers are accounted for." *** drove for them for 18 months, averaged $10.50 per hour over the duration of my employment with them. 5. Safety department. The company "cares" about safety, but will argue to no end with you about their sly attempts at altering and syncing logs from the office to the truck while you sleep. They will break 14-hour clock laws and regulations in order to succeed a sale, meaning the driver will work (off clock) to ensure the load is complete before going to sleep for the night, and will still be expected to but up 'n at 'em 10 hours after the end of their 14 clock(give or take 15 minutes for restroom, changing, and coffee in the morning) - which boils down to the driver getting 4 hours of sleep and referring to #2 in this description. 6. Efficiency: the company completely ignores the driver's natural ability to be the most efficient person at their job. you WILL run THROUGH chicago during rush hour, reguardless of the availability of routes around. you will NOT shutdown early outside of chicago to avoid the rush hour waste of hos(hours of service), reguardless of your 14 clock only having an hour remaining. 7. Hours of service resets(34 hour reset) are pretty strictly avoided. You WILL wait 32 hours for a load during an industry slump in the middle of nowhere with no wifi, and 2 hours before getting a fresh 70 clock you WILL take a 50 mile load to keep moving and making money, reguardless of only getting an hour back for the following day. How's that for the "Safe Seven" Roehl? Onward, it's a good company to give your heart and soul to if you never expect a return. Not a good, not even a mediocre company, if you plan for career progression, or basic human understanding. Contracts for schooling, a job, a truck purchase, or even a retirement account can and WILL be held and if broken, the company(Roehl) will obtain every cent possible back from you, even earned wages.

      Continue reading
      20 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Truck Driver

      Oct 23, 2017 - OTR Truck Driver in Gary, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good hometime and safe company

      Cons

      Dispatch leaves you hanging and a lot of pay discrepancies. Keep an eye on your pay stubs.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Driver oriented company

      Jun 25, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Milwaukee, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very driver oriented. I've been here 10 years, I've been OTR, I've been local. I've always been treated with respect. I had problems with one dispatcher, Roehl made it right.

      Cons

      Pay raises are hard to come by. As a local, don't expect one. The one place that irritates me is pay. Yes, I get paid well, but we should be getting annual reviews and raises. OTR, regional, dedicated are offered raises based on preformance, however the catch is amount of loads and miles. Drivers can't control that. Some dispatchers along with the owners love to micro manage. Roehl is taking full advantage of technology.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Poor Choice

      Jun 6, 2017 - OTR Truck Driver in Gary, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      New equipment Freightliners and Internationals

      Cons

      Terrible dispatch and fuel and routing solutions. Slow to pay missing trips. they go through driver managers like i go through socks. No home time and forced dispatch.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Awful experience

      Apr 22, 2017 - Truck Driver in Madison, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good training company. My advice to new drivers is work for this company and then get out. They will treat you like crap if you work for them more than a year. They want you to resign because they get money from the Government for training drivers. So if you resign then they have an excuse to bring in new drivers. They will deliberately make your life miserable so that you hurry up and quit and open up a space for a new driver.

      Cons

      Terrible, belligerent, ignorant, and lying dispatchers out of the Gary terminal. Making $300/week. Bad directions in the Qualcomm. The management treats the drivers like crap and sees that they get paid crap. No benefits.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 28 English Reviews

    Work at Roehl Transport? Share Your Experiences

    Roehl Transport logo
    or