KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Roehl Transport

Engaged Employer

Roehl Transport

Add a Review

Roehl Transport Employee Reviews about "dispatch"

Updated Feb 28, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 of over 409 reviews

3.6
74%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Roehl Transport CEO Rick Roehl
Rick Roehl
246 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "500 a week for cdl training(in 25 reviews)
  • "If you have a good fleet manager you're good to go.(in 13 reviews)
  • "Safety is HUGE and if you feel driving conditions are unsafe they will not push you to make delivery(in 11 reviews)
  • "Great Training program.(in 11 reviews)
  • "The good people that work there are great.(in 10 reviews)
Cons
  • "Low pay but to be expected for a starter company.(in 30 reviews)
  • "Very restrictive, bad communication, maintenance usually sucks, especially at the Gary terminal.(in 8 reviews)
  • "Stressful, high call volume, bad management, just a number(in 7 reviews)
  • "Benefits are 80/20 and expensive.(in 6 reviews)
  • "The same as any over the road driving job; long hours and bad pay for what is demanded of you as a driver.(in 5 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Roehl Transport and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "dispatch"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Rough Start but good overall

    Feb 28, 2021 - Class A Truck Driver in Marshfield, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    While working here I did have very good fleet managers that were attentive to my needs as a driver. Being able to be paid weekly. There is a good amount of company terminals and drop yards in the midwest that make this job easier.

    Cons

    While working there I had multiple miscommunications between the overnight dispatch and my regular fleet managers that resulted in cancelled or rescheduled loads. I would also have times where I wait for hours until the planners have another load available. There were multiple times during my employment where there was low freight and not enough loads for the week. If you are a company driver there is forced dispatch and you have to have a good reason to try to decline the load.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Roehl Transport Response

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We're sorry to hear of the issues you describe here, and we appreciate your feedback on areas of improvement.

  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Job

    Nov 10, 2020 - Driver in Gary, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    An okay company to start

    Cons

    Needs better pay and quicker dispatch

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Roehl Transport Response

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate it!

  3. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Get your CDL program good, that's it.

    Jul 29, 2019 - Class A Truck Driver in Gary, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The training is A+ they really want you to succeed your first 3 months. You can move to any fleet without much trouble. You can get .11 CPM tax free. Benefits aren't bad.

    Cons

    Dispatch will call you during your sleeper time to put loads on you, despite if you're awake enough to take the loads or not. Your dispatcher is not your friend and will only want the loads to get there so they can get the bonuses for early delivery. We dont get anything for that stuff. Just get your CDL A and start looking for other companies. Not enough pay for the stress they put you through.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Unethical

    Jul 11, 2019 - OTR Truck Driver in Marshfield, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The phase 1 training, out of the Appleton, WI terminal, was great. Felt prepared, informed, and passed my CDL. My OTR trainer, in phase 2, also an excellent experience.

    Cons

    Phase 2 training has you out on the road for a minimum of 19 days. I was fortunate to be matched with a knowledgeable, and conscientious, trainer. Sadly, the trainer and the actual work of driving, and visiting customers, were the only bright spots. Training was a harried experience at the beginning, because dispatch scheduled us as a team, instead of trainer/trainee. That meant more than a week of 16 + hour days. My trainer was finally able to wind down the length of the days, but we were still given dispatches with impossible timelines, that would guarantee a domino affect of late arrivals. A lesson to learn in this business, if you’re late for an appointment, you will not receive detention pay when the client retains you over two hours. At the end of phase 2, while coordinating my transition to a solo driver, I was explicitly asked to lie. Roehl does not practice the ethical guidelines they’ve listed in their Driver Reference Guide.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS. HERE'S WHY...

    Feb 28, 2019 - Regional Driver in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Driver orientation is the only legitimate point regarding this company. But it comes with an unjustified and potentially damaging cost.

    Cons

    Fleet managers having managerial discretion when they are not actual managers. They are dispatchers and are not part of the hiring process and should not be a liaison to Human Resources, acting as an alternative to such, or any other departments within the company. Since everyone in dispatch are classified as managers, there are no supervisors or HR reps at any of the terminal locations. PLEASE NOTE: This Company participates in predatory practices in the form of their debt contractual agreements used in the hiring process of new employees and apply this practice to their orientation class. DO NOT SIGN THESE CONTRACTS UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES!! Once you sign you are automatically in debt to Roehl, and they can terminate you without cause, especially if they deem you an unfavorable employee. They WILL draft your final paycheck immediately following termination. From recruiters to dispatchers, the employees at this company will lie to you about everything, and are not forthcoming and transparent. They will also interfere with your pay, delay detention pay, dishonor home time requests, and subject you to unprovoked hostility, intentionally poor communication interactions and hostile work environment because they know they have you on the hook with a contract. This is in part how they make their money. They will sell the so-called debt contract to a collections agency. They will also alter your HOS, force loads regardless of safety concerns, AND WILL USE HIRERIGHT AS A REVENGE TACTIC FOR ALL TERMINATED EMPLOYEES. This company also engages in coercion, which is a federal violation of FMCSA.

    Continue reading
    23 people found this review helpful

    Roehl Transport Response

    Marketing & Communications Manager

    Gee, if this is true, we wouldn’t work here either. Fortunately what you list as facts are far from the truth. But don’t take our word for it. Ask our 2,000 + driving teammates who recently nominated Roehl as one of the best fleets to drive for. Ask the hundreds of one, two, three, four and even 5 million mile safe drivers employed at Roehl. Ask the dozens of our teammates who will be honored soon at our annual Awards Banquet where we celebrate Driver Success. And we back up everything we offer in writing to our prospective drivers in their offer letters. Roehl has grown from a one truck operation in 1962 to one of the safest and largest trucking companies in 2019. Our success is built on the values of Safety, Honesty and Driver Success. For over 15 years, Roehl has been named a Top Pay Carrier by the National Transportation Institute. We were recently named one of the best mid-sized employers to work for. We are company built by a driver and led by a driver. Everything we do centers on our drivers. If half of what you say in your review is true, we’d have never experienced the success we have. We stand on that success.

  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    once was, no more

    Dec 21, 2017 - OTR Truck Driver in Gary, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Trucks are maintained for the most part.

    Cons

    1. trucks are maintained, with the exception of heat. once ran 3 weeks in the dead of winter with no bunk heat. wasn't fixed until 500+ dollars of fuel went to waste by idling the truck to use cab heat overnight. ran in a different truck with the same issue except with ac in the summer down south. 2. "No forced-dispatch -ish" : meaning they don't force you to run the load or run at all. but if you don't want to run, you don't have to, you just can't stay in the truck and will be resigning from your position. 3. Hometime - go OTR national and earn an average of 1 day off per 6 days out on the road. stay out for 2 months and request a load to get you home and you will be sent the opposite direction. not once. not twice. but many consecutive times your request will be made lower priority than ANYTHING in the company. 4. Average load vs. Average pay : average load for OTR national fleet driver is around 350-400 miles. *** "Average pay for OTR drivers(directly quoted from their fleet operations manager) is about $16.50 per hour after all numbers are accounted for." *** drove for them for 18 months, averaged $10.50 per hour over the duration of my employment with them. 5. Safety department. The company "cares" about safety, but will argue to no end with you about their sly attempts at altering and syncing logs from the office to the truck while you sleep. They will break 14-hour clock laws and regulations in order to succeed a sale, meaning the driver will work (off clock) to ensure the load is complete before going to sleep for the night, and will still be expected to but up 'n at 'em 10 hours after the end of their 14 clock(give or take 15 minutes for restroom, changing, and coffee in the morning) - which boils down to the driver getting 4 hours of sleep and referring to #2 in this description. 6. Efficiency: the company completely ignores the driver's natural ability to be the most efficient person at their job. you WILL run THROUGH chicago during rush hour, reguardless of the availability of routes around. you will NOT shutdown early outside of chicago to avoid the rush hour waste of hos(hours of service), reguardless of your 14 clock only having an hour remaining. 7. Hours of service resets(34 hour reset) are pretty strictly avoided. You WILL wait 32 hours for a load during an industry slump in the middle of nowhere with no wifi, and 2 hours before getting a fresh 70 clock you WILL take a 50 mile load to keep moving and making money, reguardless of only getting an hour back for the following day. How's that for the "Safe Seven" Roehl? Onward, it's a good company to give your heart and soul to if you never expect a return. Not a good, not even a mediocre company, if you plan for career progression, or basic human understanding. Contracts for schooling, a job, a truck purchase, or even a retirement account can and WILL be held and if broken, the company(Roehl) will obtain every cent possible back from you, even earned wages.

    Continue reading
    20 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Truck Driver

    Oct 23, 2017 - OTR Truck Driver in Gary, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good hometime and safe company

    Cons

    Dispatch leaves you hanging and a lot of pay discrepancies. Keep an eye on your pay stubs.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Driver oriented company

    Jun 25, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very driver oriented. I've been here 10 years, I've been OTR, I've been local. I've always been treated with respect. I had problems with one dispatcher, Roehl made it right.

    Cons

    Pay raises are hard to come by. As a local, don't expect one. The one place that irritates me is pay. Yes, I get paid well, but we should be getting annual reviews and raises. OTR, regional, dedicated are offered raises based on preformance, however the catch is amount of loads and miles. Drivers can't control that. Some dispatchers along with the owners love to micro manage. Roehl is taking full advantage of technology.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Poor Choice

    Jun 6, 2017 - OTR Truck Driver in Gary, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    New equipment Freightliners and Internationals

    Cons

    Terrible dispatch and fuel and routing solutions. Slow to pay missing trips. they go through driver managers like i go through socks. No home time and forced dispatch.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Awful experience

    Apr 22, 2017 - Truck Driver in Madison, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good training company. My advice to new drivers is work for this company and then get out. They will treat you like crap if you work for them more than a year. They want you to resign because they get money from the Government for training drivers. So if you resign then they have an excuse to bring in new drivers. They will deliberately make your life miserable so that you hurry up and quit and open up a space for a new driver.

    Cons

    Terrible, belligerent, ignorant, and lying dispatchers out of the Gary terminal. Making $300/week. Bad directions in the Qualcomm. The management treats the drivers like crap and sees that they get paid crap. No benefits.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 26 Reviews

Popular Careers with Roehl Transport Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Roehl Transport? Share Your Experiences

or

Roehl Transport Photos

+ Add Photo
Roehl Transport photo of: Sunset shot again
Roehl Transport photo of: We'll Get You There.
Roehl Transport photo of: flatbedders parked with mountains behind them
Roehl Transport photo of: Van parked at Flaming Gorge, UT
Roehl Transport photo of: Flatbed truck at sunset
Roehl Transport photo of: Our drivers are leaders. Our leader is a driver.
Roehl Transport photo of: Throwback Roehl truck with tanker
See All Photos