Roehl Transport Employee Reviews about "fleet managers"

Updated Nov 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Roehl Transport CEO Rick Roehl
Rick Roehl
211 Ratings
Pros
  • "Run hard and enjoy the fast track to pay as a new driver(in 33 reviews)

  • "Can change fleets or fleet managers if your unhappy(in 19 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Needs better pay and quicker dispatch(in 25 reviews)

  • "Some Fleet managers can ruin your experience here(in 20 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "fleet managers"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Excellent Company

      Nov 5, 2019 - OTR Driver Trainer in Marshfield, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent equipment, communication with fleet managers excellent, hardly any downtime. Respectful of requests to avoid NYC (I understand it's only a request). Wonderful home time very flexible. CDL training was excellent. Roehl has kept.every promise they have made to me thus far and I've honored my end as well.

      Cons

      Overall pay is kinda low

      Continue reading
      19 people found this review helpful

      Roehl Transport Response

      Marketing & Communications Manager

      Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review with us. We will be sharing your words with the team!

    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Roehl paid for my school, paid me a salary while in the school and paid me while I was out with my trainer.

      Apr 12, 2019 - SE Regional Owner Operator in Conley, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Training, they will pay for your CDL School (no out of pocket) and they will pay you while you're in CDL school. If you live up to your contract you never pay a dime for training. A lot of fleet options and hometime options. Honest upper management, decent starting pay and owner operator pay. Can change fleets or fleet managers if your unhappy. They do try to make changes to benefit the drivers themselves and always try to improve things for us. Decent miles even for Regional routes. They try to keep you here if you're a good driver. They strive to be a very safe company.

      Cons

      Where you live usually will determine which fleet you can join and how often they can get you home. Lease program is not a good option for truck purchase with large balloon payments at the end. Some Fleet managers can ruin your experience here. Sometimes communication is not very good especially if your FM does not work weekends. Some driver trainers are not interested in actually training students, but the money the make trying to team drive with a student.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Roehl Transport Response

      Marketing & Communications Manager

      Thanks so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We encourage you to reach out to your leadership with any specific concerns so that we can help develop a plan for your success. We appreciate your comments!

    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great starter company,safety oriented

      Jan 14, 2019 - National Hometime Fleet in Daytona Beach, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very safety oriented and treat drivers well, very flexible with hometime and family emergencies and treat drivers well and like people,will call and check on you and ask you how they can improve which is more than a lot of truck companies care to do, its a great company to start out with as a new driver.they also offer some of the best hometimes out of any company ive found, almost to the point its part time instead of full time

      Cons

      Poor load planning,low pay,micro managing,long load times and poor communication with fleet managers and customers

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Run and run fast

      Nov 14, 2018 - OTR Driver in Conley, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The only pro was paid training

      Cons

      Fleet managers and planning and customer service have absolutely the worst communication. I’m still in a broke truck even though I’ve lost a bunch of time and money and they claim they can’t find me a new truck but there are tons of them sitting around waiting on people who haven’t technically become an employee yet. I keep getting screwed around on my loads between them being canceled and supposed to be home in 2 days which I don’t see happening at this point. They don’t care about the driver and you can tell just go look at the salaries of office staff the shop and then look at driver pay.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful

      Roehl Transport Response

      Marketing & Communications Manager

      Hello. I can tell you are frustrated. I know that I would be too, if I felt like I wasn’t being seen or heard by our company, and I too might be tempted to vent that frustration in a public sphere rather than working with my manager. I hope you’ll take my suggestions in the spirit in which they are offered – using our values of Driver Success, Mutual Support and Teamwork and Integrity. Here are a couple of things to remember and consider, and after you’ve read them, I hope you’ll take the time to contact your Fleet Manager or Fleet Operations Manager and develop a plan for your success. I’m glad you appreciate the paid CDL training, and congratulations on being accepted into our program. You might not know this: our acceptance rate is quite low. Second, we continue to work on our communications between individuals and departments to increase our efficiency. While I cannot speak for your specific situation, I can say that a core component of Driver Success is respecting your time. With regards to your truck, two things stand out. Despite the fact that our trucks are all basically two years old or less and we have a robust preventative maintenance program, trucks do still have issues. But, when they do, we measure the time the truck is in the shop in minutes while most other companies measure that time in days. You also mentioned that trucks are waiting around for people who are not employees. We prep trucks for new experienced driving teammates during the week. Those teammates typically start on a Thursday. And keep in mind that, just like you, every driver in our Get Your CDL program is hired on the first day – they are all employees. When someone is ready, we get them the equipment they need to do their jobs. I don’t have the insight you seem to have about office employee salaries. I do know that the top 50% of our driving teammates make more than $62,000 a year, and we have drivers making more than $80,000 a year. In addition to that, Roehl has raised driver wages numerous times in 2018, and we recently introduced a new pay plan that more closely resembles those that experienced drivers are familiar with. We offer performance-based pay plans because we believe performance is a choice and we believe that the best drivers should also be the highest paid. Finally, our leader, Rick Roehl, is both our CEO and a driver. Rick maintains his CDL and still pulls loads to stay close to the work our driving teammates do and to what our customers expect. Suggesting he doesn’t know what is happening with our company reveals you have limited or no knowledge of how our company works or how he leads. And it is that leadership that has produced one of the nation’s safest, most successful trucking companies. Again, I hope you will communicate with your managers and encourage you to develop a plan for your success as a part of TeamRoehl.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Comany

      Apr 27, 2019 - OTR Truck Driver 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Family oriented company, Great people and Fleet Manager keeps me moving

      Cons

      None so far everything been going smoothly

      2 people found this review helpful

      Roehl Transport Response

      Marketing & Communications Manager

      Thanks so much for the great review! We're so glad you're part of TeamRoehl.

    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS. HERE'S WHY...

      Feb 28, 2019 - Regional Driver in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Driver orientation is the only legitimate point regarding this company. But it comes with an unjustified and potentially damaging cost.

      Cons

      Fleet managers having managerial discretion when they are not actual managers. They are dispatchers and are not part of the hiring process and should not be a liaison to Human Resources, acting as an alternative to such, or any other departments within the company. Since everyone in dispatch are classified as managers, there are no supervisors or HR reps at any of the terminal locations. PLEASE NOTE: This Company participates in predatory practices in the form of their debt contractual agreements used in the hiring process of new employees and apply this practice to their orientation class. DO NOT SIGN THESE CONTRACTS UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES!! Once you sign you are automatically in debt to Roehl, and they can terminate you without cause, especially if they deem you an unfavorable employee. They WILL draft your final paycheck immediately following termination. From recruiters to dispatchers, the employees at this company will lie to you about everything, and are not forthcoming and transparent. They will also interfere with your pay, delay detention pay, dishonor home time requests, and subject you to unprovoked hostility, intentionally poor communication interactions and hostile work environment because they know they have you on the hook with a contract. This is in part how they make their money. They will sell the so-called debt contract to a collections agency. They will also alter your HOS, force loads regardless of safety concerns, AND WILL USE HIRERIGHT AS A REVENGE TACTIC FOR ALL TERMINATED EMPLOYEES. This company also engages in coercion, which is a federal violation of FMCSA.

      Continue reading
      22 people found this review helpful

      Roehl Transport Response

      Marketing & Communications Manager

      Gee, if this is true, we wouldn’t work here either. Fortunately what you list as facts are far from the truth. But don’t take our word for it. Ask our 2,000 + driving teammates who recently nominated Roehl as one of the best fleets to drive for. Ask the hundreds of one, two, three, four and even 5 million mile safe drivers employed at Roehl. Ask the dozens of our teammates who will be honored soon at our annual Awards Banquet where we celebrate Driver Success. And we back up everything we offer in writing to our prospective drivers in their offer letters. Roehl has grown from a one truck operation in 1962 to one of the safest and largest trucking companies in 2019. Our success is built on the values of Safety, Honesty and Driver Success. For over 15 years, Roehl has been named a Top Pay Carrier by the National Transportation Institute. We were recently named one of the best mid-sized employers to work for. We are company built by a driver and led by a driver. Everything we do centers on our drivers. If half of what you say in your review is true, we’d have never experienced the success we have. We stand on that success.

    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great training

      May 9, 2018 - Truck Driver in Gary, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Roehl’s training is among the best. You get paid while you’re trained in their get your CDL program. The instructors actually care about your progress and will bend over backwards to help you. It is a very fast program so you have to be a fast learner. You’re on the hook for $7k so you need to be sure you can do the job for over a year. I was a van national driver for 15 months and was very happy with my miles and paychecks. If you show your fleet manager you are reliable and manage your time you will get the good loads. I was home very consistently on day 12 or 13 and always got 3 days off. It was so consistent I could plan events around when I would get home without even checking with my fleet manager. ( although you should let them know if you have something important you need to be home for)

      Cons

      The starting pay is decent but it caps out fairly low. It’s a good company for starting but may not be for the long run. The equipment is well taken care of but you’ll get the base model tractor without many features. No refrigerators, no standard inverter. If you want an inverter installed you have to pay for one of theirs and it will only run for 2 hours until it is off for 10.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful

      Roehl Transport Response

      Marketing & Communications Manager

      Thank you for the feedback.

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A good company with a few serious flaws

      Feb 17, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Roehl is dedicated to safety and maintaining their equipment. They will work with drivers who request additional training; such as backing and tight quarters maneuvering. They will also work to try and get you home when you request. The pay seems competitive with other companies and the dispatchers (aka fleet managers) are generally helpful and considerate.

      Cons

      I drive a flatbed and find that the amount of time it takes for load securement and tarping is not worth the additional two cents per mile. Roehl expects their drivers to follow their routing, but the process is defective. The driver receives a list of cryptic instructions through the truck PC. This route is supposed to be transcribed to paper and then followed. The truck is equiped with a GPS that the company can use to determine where you are. Trying to read these instructions in heavy traffic and/or in the dark is dangerous. Why they do not take advantage of the existing technology and tell the driver when s/he needs to turn and which lane to be in would be a great improvement.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good company to start your career

      Jul 12, 2015 - Cdl A Driver in Gary, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great trucks, great fleet manager, good home time, treated me great while on dispatch. Very patient with me as this was my first company after CDL school. Very good medical, dental, vision, etc. I paid 35 dollars a week for medical alone which was great and deductables were I believe around $1500

      Cons

      I quit while on medical leave. Got harassed by a not so nice female about paperwork. I did all they asked of me but she was different than the others I had been dealiing with. She threatened me with my job if I didn't get this one page filled out by my Dr that refused to sign an exact back to work date. I am not sure when I'll be able to return to drive. I am receiving no pay right now from anyone. I want to also mention that their pay isn't up to snuff and no fuel bonuses. Both of the above were the reasons I quit. I busted my hump and didn't complain while there and the woman treated me like crap on leave.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      good start...downhill very fast

      Mar 4, 2019 - OTR Flatbed Driver 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      get your cdl program, works with drivers personal issues

      Cons

      certain management treating drivers like children (not fleet managers)

      2 people found this review helpful

      Roehl Transport Response

      Marketing & Communications Manager

      Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re pleased to hear that you had a positive experience with our Get Your CDL program and appreciate your time at Roehl. We encourage you to connect with your fleet manager about the issues you describe. Respect is on our Wall of Values because we want every member of TeamRoehl to feel they are treated with courtesy and consideration.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 37 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Roehl Transport Job Seekers

    Truck Driver
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    OTR Truck Driver - Dry Van National
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Roehl Transport? Share Your Experiences

    Roehl Transport logo
    or