Roehl Transport "fleet managers" Reviews | Glassdoor

Roehl Transport Employee Reviews about "fleet managers"

Updated Nov 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
67%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Roehl Transport CEO Rick Roehl
Rick Roehl
173 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Dispatch will call you during your sleeper time to put loads on you, despite if you're awake enough to take the loads or not(in 25 reviews)

  • "Fleet managers having managerial discretion when they are not actual managers(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "fleet managers"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTR Driver Trainer in Marshfield, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent equipment, communication with fleet managers excellent, hardly any downtime. Respectful of requests to avoid NYC (I understand it's only a request). Wonderful home time very flexible. CDL training was excellent. Roehl has kept.every promise they have made to me thus far and I've honored my end as well.

    Cons

    Overall pay is kinda low

    Advice to Management

    Send preplan to the driver as soon as its assigned. Dont wait till the empty call. An idea of what I'm doing next before I'm sitting at the customer empty figuring it out would be appricated.

    Roehl Transport2019-11-05
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great Comany"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTR Truck Driver 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Family oriented company, Great people and Fleet Manager keeps me moving

    Cons

    None so far everything been going smoothly

    Roehl Transport2019-04-27
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Roehl paid for my school, paid me a salary while in the school and paid me while I was out with my trainer."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SE Regional Owner Operator in Conley, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Training, they will pay for your CDL School (no out of pocket) and they will pay you while you're in CDL school. If you live up to your contract you never pay a dime for training. A lot of fleet options and hometime options. Honest upper management, decent starting pay and owner operator pay. Can change fleets or fleet managers if your unhappy. They do try to make changes to benefit the drivers themselves... and always try to improve things for us. Decent miles even for Regional routes. They try to keep you here if you're a good driver. They strive to be a very safe company.

    Show More

    Cons

    Where you live usually will determine which fleet you can join and how often they can get you home. Lease program is not a good option for truck purchase with large balloon payments at the end. Some Fleet managers can ruin your experience here. Sometimes communication is not very good especially if your FM does not work weekends. Some driver trainers are not interested in actually training students, but the... money the make trying to team drive with a student.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Reevaluate your driver trainers after 6 months, watch the success of their students closely to make sure they are actually being trained properly. Add a true lease purchase program with affordable weekly payments and a 1.00 buyout like many other companies are already doing. Try to make the path to truck ownership easier for your drivers. If KLLM and Transport America can do it I know Roehl can.

    Roehl Transport2019-04-12
  4. Helpful (16)

    "AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS. HERE'S WHY..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Driver in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Driver orientation is the only legitimate point regarding this company. But it comes with an unjustified and potentially damaging cost.

    Cons

    Fleet managers having managerial discretion when they are not actual managers. They are dispatchers and are not part of the hiring process and should not be a liaison to Human Resources, acting as an alternative to such, or any other departments within the company. Since everyone in dispatch are classified as managers, there are no supervisors or HR reps at any of the terminal locations. PLEASE NOTE: This... Company participates in predatory practices in the form of their debt contractual agreements used in the hiring process of new employees and apply this practice to their orientation class. DO NOT SIGN THESE CONTRACTS UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES!! Once you sign you are automatically in debt to Roehl, and they can terminate you without cause, especially if they deem you an unfavorable employee. They WILL draft your final paycheck immediately following termination. From recruiters to dispatchers, the employees at this company will lie to you about everything, and are not forthcoming and transparent. They will also interfere with your pay, delay detention pay, dishonor home time requests, and subject you to unprovoked hostility, intentionally poor communication interactions and hostile work environment because they know they have you on the hook with a contract. This is in part how they make their money. They will sell the so-called debt contract to a collections agency. They will also alter your HOS, force loads regardless of safety concerns, AND WILL USE HIRERIGHT AS A REVENGE TACTIC FOR ALL TERMINATED EMPLOYEES. This company also engages in coercion, which is a federal violation of FMCSA.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You are the very reason why there is a driver shortage. You ignore treating drivers as actual employees and do not apply federal labor laws and/or rights to them. Instead you view them as contractual obligations. ALL of your employees should have access to Human Resources reps on site, but they don't. You blatantly engage in a greedy predatory practice of willfully and unjustly applying $7000 of phantom debts to new... employees for a one week new hire orientation. Absolutely ridiculous!! Who charges newly hired employees for orientation??? You are the ONLY so-called company do such a despicable thing. Consciously using Hireright to ruin and damage all employees terminated in an effort to suppress and render subjects inability for employment makes you THE worst company doing business. You should be investigated, audited and shut down

    Show More
    Roehl Transport2019-02-28
  5. Helpful (1)

    "good start...downhill very fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTR Flatbed Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    get your cdl program, works with drivers personal issues

    Cons

    certain management treating drivers like children (not fleet managers)

    Roehl Transport2019-03-05
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Great starter company,safety oriented"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - National Hometime Fleet in Daytona Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very safety oriented and treat drivers well, very flexible with hometime and family emergencies and treat drivers well and like people,will call and check on you and ask you how they can improve which is more than a lot of truck companies care to do, its a great company to start out with as a new driver.they also offer some of the best hometimes out of any company ive found, almost to the point its part time instead... of full time

    Show More

    Cons

    Poor load planning,low pay,micro managing,long load times and poor communication with fleet managers and customers

    Advice to Management

    If i could advise anything after my 3 years with this company its that some fleet managers are vindictive and have poor communication and response time, or no responsiveness at all, the micro managing has been getting worse over the years which is good with new drivers but not the experienced ones that are competent, performance pay progression is unattainable if fleet manager and planning doesnt allow it

    Roehl Transport2019-01-15
  7. Helpful (12)

    "Run and run fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTR Driver in Conley, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The only pro was paid training

    Cons

    Fleet managers and planning and customer service have absolutely the worst communication. I’m still in a broke truck even though I’ve lost a bunch of time and money and they claim they can’t find me a new truck but there are tons of them sitting around waiting on people who haven’t technically become an employee yet. I keep getting screwed around on my loads between them being canceled and supposed to be home in 2... days which I don’t see happening at this point. They don’t care about the driver and you can tell just go look at the salaries of office staff the shop and then look at driver pay.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Mr roehl needs to actually pay attention to what the hell is going on in his company and put an end to all the bs. He needs to see that the turnover rate is not sustainable. He also needs to see that drivers aren’t happy because we are getting paid way less than office personnel even though the drivers are the back bone of this company. No one belongs in a position to tell a driver what is safe unless they’ve... actually driven and have a cdl.

    Show More
    Roehl Transport2018-11-14
  8. Helpful (10)

    "Great training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Truck Driver in Gary, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Roehl’s training is among the best. You get paid while you’re trained in their get your CDL program. The instructors actually care about your progress and will bend over backwards to help you. It is a very fast program so you have to be a fast learner. You’re on the hook for $7k so you need to be sure you can do the job for over a year. I was a van national driver for 15 months and was very happy with my miles and... paychecks. If you show your fleet manager you are reliable and manage your time you will get the good loads. I was home very consistently on day 12 or 13 and always got 3 days off. It was so consistent I could plan events around when I would get home without even checking with my fleet manager. ( although you should let them know if you have something important you need to be home for)

    Show More

    Cons

    The starting pay is decent but it caps out fairly low. It’s a good company for starting but may not be for the long run. The equipment is well taken care of but you’ll get the base model tractor without many features. No refrigerators, no standard inverter. If you want an inverter installed you have to pay for one of theirs and it will only run for 2 hours until it is off for 10.

    Advice to Management

    You are paying people to live one the road. They want comfortable equipment with nice features. Drivers will stay longer if they are paid well!

    Roehl Transport2018-05-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great starting company for drivers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time

    Pros

    Great company cares about its drivers. If you have a good fleet manager you're good to go. Nice flexible home time.

    Cons

    Pay not as much as other companies.

    Roehl Transport2018-02-03
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Awful company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    OTR Flatbed Driver in Marshfield, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Roehl Transport for less than a year

    Pros

    Can't think of any - may be the school, but that's done by a third party

    Cons

    Lack of miles, low pay, weak fleet managers who don't care about their drivers, misinformation all the time, bad scheduling, arriving for a drop and no one there

    Advice to Management

    Be truthful and upfront in your recruitment about the realistic mileage you can expect

    Roehl Transport2018-02-07
Found 37 reviews