Roehl Transport "home time" Reviews | Glassdoor

Roehl Transport Employee Reviews about "home time"

Updated Nov 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
67%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Roehl Transport CEO Rick Roehl
Rick Roehl
173 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Dispatch will call you during your sleeper time to put loads on you, despite if you're awake enough to take the loads or not(in 25 reviews)

  • "Fleet managers having managerial discretion when they are not actual managers(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "home time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTR Driver Trainer in Marshfield, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent equipment, communication with fleet managers excellent, hardly any downtime. Respectful of requests to avoid NYC (I understand it's only a request). Wonderful home time very flexible. CDL training was excellent. Roehl has kept.every promise they have made to me thus far and I've honored my end as well.

    Cons

    Overall pay is kinda low

    Advice to Management

    Send preplan to the driver as soon as its assigned. Dont wait till the empty call. An idea of what I'm doing next before I'm sitting at the customer empty figuring it out would be appricated.

    Roehl Transport2019-11-05
  2. "Would be zero if I could"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Roehl Transport

    Pros

    GYCDL is great program and As soon as done with GYCDL, just get out

    Cons

    Planners are the worst people here who don't care about your family or home time if you have an honest FM then it's fine otherwise they will try to prove that you're lying but failed with me because I had proof of their lies.

    Advice to Management

    Tell your FMs and planners to stop lying.

    Roehl Transport2019-11-20
  3. Helpful (9)

    "The Roehl Way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructor in Conley, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Honesty- Roehl has been open and honest from day 1. I'm approaching 3 yrs with the company and its been the best experience ever. As with anywhere, if you put the hard work and dedicate yourself to being the best at what you do, your efforts will pay off.

    Cons

    The one downside with Roehl as far as drivers go is the fact that you earn HOME time. Not so bad right? Its unpaid. So what have you earned? If you can't afford to sit at home for a couple of days that's tough. If its earned time off, it should be compensated for. Look into offering paid time off to show drivers you appreciate the hard work that's put in.

    Advice to Management

    Paid time off for drivers

    Roehl Transport2019-08-19
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Hood company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver in Marshfield, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, home time, managers, terminals, friendly. Stayed out with roehl 2 -3 months at a time pulling reefer brought in 75k year 2 and was set for more year 3. Run hard and enjoy the fast track to pay as a new driver

    Cons

    Auto shift trucks are taking over

    Roehl Transport2019-06-29
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Over the road truck driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Class A Truck Driver 

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay Flexible home time

    Cons

    Non prorated contract Low miles

    Roehl Transport2019-03-07
  6. Helpful (16)

    "AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS. HERE'S WHY..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Driver in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Driver orientation is the only legitimate point regarding this company. But it comes with an unjustified and potentially damaging cost.

    Cons

    Fleet managers having managerial discretion when they are not actual managers. They are dispatchers and are not part of the hiring process and should not be a liaison to Human Resources, acting as an alternative to such, or any other departments within the company. Since everyone in dispatch are classified as managers, there are no supervisors or HR reps at any of the terminal locations. PLEASE NOTE: This... Company participates in predatory practices in the form of their debt contractual agreements used in the hiring process of new employees and apply this practice to their orientation class. DO NOT SIGN THESE CONTRACTS UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES!! Once you sign you are automatically in debt to Roehl, and they can terminate you without cause, especially if they deem you an unfavorable employee. They WILL draft your final paycheck immediately following termination. From recruiters to dispatchers, the employees at this company will lie to you about everything, and are not forthcoming and transparent. They will also interfere with your pay, delay detention pay, dishonor home time requests, and subject you to unprovoked hostility, intentionally poor communication interactions and hostile work environment because they know they have you on the hook with a contract. This is in part how they make their money. They will sell the so-called debt contract to a collections agency. They will also alter your HOS, force loads regardless of safety concerns, AND WILL USE HIRERIGHT AS A REVENGE TACTIC FOR ALL TERMINATED EMPLOYEES. This company also engages in coercion, which is a federal violation of FMCSA.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You are the very reason why there is a driver shortage. You ignore treating drivers as actual employees and do not apply federal labor laws and/or rights to them. Instead you view them as contractual obligations. ALL of your employees should have access to Human Resources reps on site, but they don't. You blatantly engage in a greedy predatory practice of willfully and unjustly applying $7000 of phantom debts to new... employees for a one week new hire orientation. Absolutely ridiculous!! Who charges newly hired employees for orientation??? You are the ONLY so-called company do such a despicable thing. Consciously using Hireright to ruin and damage all employees terminated in an effort to suppress and render subjects inability for employment makes you THE worst company doing business. You should be investigated, audited and shut down

    Show More
    Roehl Transport2019-02-28
  7. Helpful (12)

    "Flatbed OTR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - OTR Flatbed Driver in East Saint Louis, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is really no pros to this company.

    Cons

    The pay is terrible. You have to do a couple weeks just to get a couple of days off. Also they want you to sign a contract don’t do it leave the bonus please. They claim to have national flatbed routes but you’ll only stay in the Midwest. Please don’t be fooled. Way to many companies that’ll pay 1,200-1,600 weekly with home time weekly don’t settle for less.

    Roehl Transport2019-01-16
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great starting company for drivers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time

    Pros

    Great company cares about its drivers. If you have a good fleet manager you're good to go. Nice flexible home time.

    Cons

    Pay not as much as other companies.

    Roehl Transport2018-02-03
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Not a bad job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dedicated Driver in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay good benifits friendly

    Cons

    Not enough home time only 1 full day off

    Advice to Management

    None

    Roehl Transport2017-10-31
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Driver flatbed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Professional Truck Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good miles and Becky fleet manager is awesome

    Cons

    Rail road you... i havent done drugs they did 4 tests on me in two months and i failed tge last one. They fired me for the positive test. I told them i would redo a test immediately and they said no. There is no way i failed. I got another job less than a week later did the test and passed so the test is not valid!!! Also the pay and home time is not good as well.

    Advice to Management

    Trust your employees and listen!!!

    Roehl Transport2017-11-21
Found 31 reviews