Roehl Transport Employee Reviews about "home time"

Updated Sep 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Roehl Transport CEO Rick Roehl
Rick Roehl
206 Ratings
Pros
  • "Run hard and enjoy the fast track to pay as a new driver(in 33 reviews)

  • "Can change fleets or fleet managers if your unhappy(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "Needs better pay and quicker dispatch(in 25 reviews)

  • "Some Fleet managers can ruin your experience here(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "home time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (19)

    "Excellent Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTR Driver Trainer in Marshfield, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent equipment, communication with fleet managers excellent, hardly any downtime. Respectful of requests to avoid NYC (I understand it's only a request). Wonderful home time very flexible. CDL training was excellent. Roehl has kept.every promise they have made to me thus far and I've honored my end as well.

    Cons

    Overall pay is kinda low

    Continue reading

    Roehl Transport Response

    November 7, 2019Marketing & Communications Manager

    Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review with us. We will be sharing your words with the team!

  2. "Not too bad"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Class A Truck Driver 

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time

    Pros

    they were willing to work with me as a new driver and stressed safety

    Cons

    Weren't too great on home time.

    Roehl Transport Response

    September 15, 2020

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate your input.


  3. Helpful (2)

    "Will throw you under the bus when it hits the fan"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Truck Driver in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Will help you get your CDL, but prepare...money will be tight

    Cons

    Says will get you home time and never does Tells you to follow their routing to the T, for fuel and cost purposes. But when routing takes you down a street a truck never had any business being on, will tell you that you should have found alternative routing. Has no integrity

    Continue reading

    Roehl Transport Response

    July 30, 2020

    First, when you came to Roehl you earned a paycheck while you were getting your CDL. That’s certainly different than if you had gone to a truck driving school, where you wouldn’t have been earning (plus you would have owed tuition). Second, Roehl offers some of the best home time options in trucking, and we literally measure home time like we do on-time deliveries. Based on your location, you were likely on our Flatbed National Fleet (so drive 11-14 days and then be home 3). Of course, you had the option to stay out longer and then stay home longer. The idea that Roehl “Will throw you under the bus when it hits the fan” along with your statement about your routing suggests you that you may not have used the resources you were provided nor driven the Roehl Way. Two of our values are Safety & Driver Success, and we provide responsiveness, care and solutions to help drivers meet their professional and personal goals, including 24/7 support, details in Ship Advisor and Final Mile directions. Plus, Roehl drivers have the knowledge that they, as the driver of the truck, make the call on safety. That’s Driving the Roehl Way, and that’s what leaders do.

  4. Helpful (11)

    "The Roehl Way"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructor in Conley, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roehl Transport full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Honesty- Roehl has been open and honest from day 1. I'm approaching 3 yrs with the company and its been the best experience ever. As with anywhere, if you put the hard work and dedicate yourself to being the best at what you do, your efforts will pay off.

    Cons

    The one downside with Roehl as far as drivers go is the fact that you earn HOME time. Not so bad right? Its unpaid. So what have you earned? If you can't afford to sit at home for a couple of days that's tough. If its earned time off, it should be compensated for. Look into offering paid time off to show drivers you appreciate the hard work that's put in.

    Continue reading

    Roehl Transport Response

    August 23, 2019Marketing & Communications Manager

    Thanks for your feedback! We will share your feedback with the team.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Hood company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver in Marshfield, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, home time, managers, terminals, friendly. Stayed out with roehl 2 -3 months at a time pulling reefer brought in 75k year 2 and was set for more year 3. Run hard and enjoy the fast track to pay as a new driver

    Cons

    Auto shift trucks are taking over

    Roehl Transport Response

    July 2, 2019Marketing & Communications Manager

    We appreciate you sharing your feedback! We appreciate your input!

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Would be zero if I could"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Roehl Transport

    Pros

    GYCDL is great program and As soon as done with GYCDL, just get out

    Cons

    Planners are the worst people here who don't care about your family or home time if you have an honest FM then it's fine otherwise they will try to prove that you're lying but failed with me because I had proof of their lies.

    Continue reading

    Roehl Transport Response

    December 2, 2019Marketing & Communications Manager

    The Get Your CDL Program is the very best in the business %E2%80%93 there%E2%80%99s no better place to learn to be a safe and successful truck driver than with Roehl Transport. I encourage you to contact our Employee Relations Manager with your feedback about your fleet manager so we can understand the situation.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Over the road truck driver"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Class A Truck Driver 

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay Flexible home time

    Cons

    Non prorated contract Low miles

  8. Helpful (22)

    "AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS. HERE'S WHY..."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Driver in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Driver orientation is the only legitimate point regarding this company. But it comes with an unjustified and potentially damaging cost.

    Cons

    Fleet managers having managerial discretion when they are not actual managers. They are dispatchers and are not part of the hiring process and should not be a liaison to Human Resources, acting as an alternative to such, or any other departments within the company. Since everyone in dispatch are classified as managers, there are no supervisors or HR reps at any of the terminal locations. PLEASE NOTE: This Company participates in predatory practices in the form of their debt contractual agreements used in the hiring process of new employees and apply this practice to their orientation class. DO NOT SIGN THESE CONTRACTS UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES!! Once you sign you are automatically in debt to Roehl, and they can terminate you without cause, especially if they deem you an unfavorable employee. They WILL draft your final paycheck immediately following termination. From recruiters to dispatchers, the employees at this company will lie to you about everything, and are not forthcoming and transparent. They will also interfere with your pay, delay detention pay, dishonor home time requests, and subject you to unprovoked hostility, intentionally poor communication interactions and hostile work environment because they know they have you on the hook with a contract. This is in part how they make their money. They will sell the so-called debt contract to a collections agency. They will also alter your HOS, force loads regardless of safety concerns, AND WILL USE HIRERIGHT AS A REVENGE TACTIC FOR ALL TERMINATED EMPLOYEES. This company also engages in coercion, which is a federal violation of FMCSA.

    Continue reading

    Roehl Transport Response

    March 5, 2019Marketing & Communications Manager

    Gee, if this is true, we wouldn’t work here either. Fortunately what you list as facts are far from the truth. But don’t take our word for it. Ask our 2,000 + driving teammates who recently nominated Roehl as one of the best fleets to drive for. Ask the hundreds of one, two, three, four and even 5 million mile safe drivers employed at Roehl. Ask the dozens of our teammates who will be honored soon at our annual Awards Banquet where we celebrate Driver Success. And we back up everything we offer in writing to our prospective drivers in their offer letters. Roehl has grown from a one truck operation in 1962 to one of the safest and largest trucking companies in 2019. Our success is built on the values of Safety, Honesty and Driver Success. For over 15 years, Roehl has been named a Top Pay Carrier by the National Transportation Institute. We were recently named one of the best mid-sized employers to work for. We are company built by a driver and led by a driver. Everything we do centers on our drivers. If half of what you say in your review is true, we’d have never experienced the success we have. We stand on that success.

  9. Helpful (13)

    "Flatbed OTR"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - OTR Flatbed Driver in East Saint Louis, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is really no pros to this company.

    Cons

    The pay is terrible. You have to do a couple weeks just to get a couple of days off. Also they want you to sign a contract don’t do it leave the bonus please. They claim to have national flatbed routes but you’ll only stay in the Midwest. Please don’t be fooled. Way to many companies that’ll pay 1,200-1,600 weekly with home time weekly don’t settle for less.

  10. Helpful (13)

    "Good company to start your career"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cdl A Driver in Gary, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Roehl Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great trucks, great fleet manager, good home time, treated me great while on dispatch. Very patient with me as this was my first company after CDL school. Very good medical, dental, vision, etc. I paid 35 dollars a week for medical alone which was great and deductables were I believe around $1500

    Cons

    I quit while on medical leave. Got harassed by a not so nice female about paperwork. I did all they asked of me but she was different than the others I had been dealiing with. She threatened me with my job if I didn't get this one page filled out by my Dr that refused to sign an exact back to work date. I am not sure when I'll be able to return to drive. I am receiving no pay right now from anyone. I want to also mention that their pay isn't up to snuff and no fuel bonuses. Both of the above were the reasons I quit. I busted my hump and didn't complain while there and the woman treated me like crap on leave.

    Continue reading
Viewing 1 - 10 of 33 English Reviews

Work at Roehl Transport? Share Your Experiences

Roehl Transport logo
or