KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Roehl Transport

Engaged Employer

Roehl Transport

Add a Review

Roehl Transport Employee Reviews about "management"

Updated Aug 5, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 of over 419 reviews

3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Roehl Transport CEO Rick Roehl
Rick Roehl
247 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great training especially in Marshfield.(in 28 reviews)
  • "If you have a good fleet manager you're good to go.(in 15 reviews)
  • "Safety is HUGE and if you feel driving conditions are unsafe they will not push you to make delivery(in 11 reviews)
  • "The good people that work there are great.(in 10 reviews)
  • "Great Training program.(in 9 reviews)
Cons
  • "Low pay but to be expected for a starter company.(in 33 reviews)
  • "Benefits are 80/20 and expensive.(in 8 reviews)
  • "Very restrictive, bad communication, maintenance usually sucks, especially at the Gary terminal.(in 8 reviews)
  • "Stressful, high call volume, bad management, just a number(in 7 reviews)
  • "The same as any over the road driving job; long hours and bad pay for what is demanded of you as a driver.(in 6 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Roehl Transport and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    good start...downhill very fast

    Mar 4, 2019 - OTR Flatbed Driver 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    get your cdl program, works with drivers personal issues

    Cons

    certain management treating drivers like children (not fleet managers)

    2 people found this review helpful

    Roehl Transport Response

    Marketing & Communications Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re pleased to hear that you had a positive experience with our Get Your CDL program and appreciate your time at Roehl. We encourage you to connect with your fleet manager about the issues you describe. Respect is on our Wall of Values because we want every member of TeamRoehl to feel they are treated with courtesy and consideration.

  2. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Probably same as most companies

    May 7, 2016 - OTR Truck Driver - Dry Van National 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent training program and trainers Safety is the number one priority Employee website/app is filled with information that is useful Coworkers OTR are friendly Good Pay system Equipment is well maintained 401 and other benefits

    Cons

    Likely this does not apply to all but it is my experience... I have lost all trust for my FM Difficult to contact FM via phone A lot of deceiving info from FM and upper management Many lies trying to justify 2000 mile weeks Going back on their words Problems or questions regarding pay, miles and home time are not resolved in a timely manner and are often not addressed and forgotten about Personal needs/issues (within reason) are not a priority Night dispatchers answers for everythin is 'wait h til am when your FM gets in' Co-Pilot navigation system in the trucks are not up to date, inaccurate and more a nuisance then an asset yet are expected to use it still Good loads are often taken away and given to drivers that are leasing a truck(even after dispatched) FM believes that if you have 3 hrs on your clock, that you can drive for the entire 3 hrs. Not realizing parking may be limited and you might have to shut down after 2 hrs of driving National drivers who are out for a month at a time are low man on totem pole when come to loads and getting home on time

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    A wonderful company with great values.

    Apr 5, 2018 - Driver Employment Specialist in Marshfield, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been employed with Roehl Transport for almost ten years. I am a Driver Employment Specialist and I have contact with many individuals that join our driving team. From an office employee standpoint, Roehl is top notch. I have worked in numerous positions within the company and I have been encouraged by management to continue to advance my career at Roehl. I am often provided with in house training to sharpen my skill set, and they also offer tuition reimbursement so that I may grow academically as well. The individuals that I hire will often follow up with me after they start their driving career at Roehl. The feedback that I receive from these individuals is how Roehl makes them feel like more than just a number. We care if they succeed and we value the work that they do. In addition, the equipment that our drivers are issued is very new and well maintained. As a grand finale, safety is our cornerstone value and our teammates know that we just won't compromise for anything less than the best in that area.

    Cons

    There is continuous improvement that happens at Roehl, so if there ever is a downside, if you convey the issues, there is usually a way to correct the problems and move past them.

    1 person found this review helpful

    Roehl Transport Response

    Marketing & Communications Manager

    Great feedback and review. Thank you so much!

  4. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Started off great! Now not so much...

    Jul 6, 2018 - OTR Flatbed Driver in National, WV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The GYCDL Program was awesome; a little fast paced, yet so is the job... The instructors that I trained under during Phase One are amazing! Very reliable teachers. Answered most all of the questions I along with the other trainees had. The questions they didn’t know the answers to, they found and answered the next day. Phase Two was a lot more stressful for me personally, the Cargo Securement class should have been longer than one day. The OTR trainer I had was ok; I feel like he should have been trained better as an instructor. 1. Great Instructors for those new to the environment. 2. Team members (other drivers) offer their help. 3. Trucks are newer but basic... 4. ELD Compliant

    Cons

    As stated above, awesome company leading up to going solo and being assigned a truck... 1. Fleet Manager is okay; we have our differences. Learning to just do as he says. (When I started phase Two i was required to contact him once a day... I distinctly remember him saying for me to be successful him and I need to work together as a team... now that I am solo it is more like he “yells jump” and my response is required to be “how high.” Not a team effort. More like I do as he says or risk retaliation.) 2. Dispatch does not plan times correctly based on routing. Fuel and Routing is ridiculous; (plan @55MPH) then proceeds to route you through every small town not built for trucks with speeds as low as 15MPH. And then has the nerve to blame you for being late. 3. The fleet management personnel are taught to place blame on the driver if anything goes wrong. Regardless of the nature of the problem. (I.e Poor F&R Plan/Unsafe Roads/Unsafe Traffic {being routed through areas during “rush hour”}/.etc) 4. Miles Assigned are not as promised. 5. Loads are forced on drivers (even if logical reason to refuse the load is presented.) 6. Forced to sign contract (miles based) [refer to number 4.] 7. Equipment is rusted beyond repair (securement equip.) 8. Weekend dispatch/Over Night Fleet Managers are 85% useless. (That is if you can actually get through to someone via their automated voip system.) 9. Repeatedly sent to shippers that have a well known history of being a cemetery for HOS. 10. GPS System is often incorrect (wrong exit numbers, road names incorrect, speed alert is wrong 60% of the time) 11. Event Recorders (inward facing is invasion of privacy) 12. Lane Control Alert goes off randomly... (could be on a road with not a single line anywhere for miles but it will repeatedly go off setting off the event recorder.) 13. Bendix System/Collision Mitigating System is overwhelmingly inaccurate. (I’ve had it slam(literally) on the brakes and I was the only vehicle on the road for miles) (no obstructions in road either) Apparently these trucks are scared of shadows... 14. Governed at 65... More of a traffic hazard than safe. especially on the roads with speeds above that. (These trucks struggle to climb a damn hill empty due to being governed.) 15. Everything that goes wrong is the Drivers Fault. 16. Pay is lower than most other companies. (Based on per mile rates)

    Continue reading
    30 people found this review helpful

    Roehl Transport Response

    Marketing & Communications Manager

    Please do follow up with your concerns. Your fleet manager and the company wants you be to a safe, successful professional truck driver.

  5. 3.0
    Former Employee

    A very unprofessional place to work.

    Aug 25, 2011 - Fleet Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The drivers were very professional. The co-workers were very friendly.

    Cons

    Upper management were not approachable and appeared to not care about the 'little people'. They were not supported of your homelife.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Pros

    Management values drivers and appreciates. Quality training CEO cares.

    Cons

    Pay could be better Inconsistent pay at times.

    1 person found this review helpful

    Roehl Transport Response

    Thanks so much for taking a moment to leave us your review! We're so glad to have you on TeamRoehl.

  7. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Awful experience

    Apr 22, 2017 - Truck Driver in Madison, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good training company. My advice to new drivers is work for this company and then get out. They will treat you like crap if you work for them more than a year. They want you to resign because they get money from the Government for training drivers. So if you resign then they have an excuse to bring in new drivers. They will deliberately make your life miserable so that you hurry up and quit and open up a space for a new driver.

    Cons

    Terrible, belligerent, ignorant, and lying dispatchers out of the Gary terminal. Making $300/week. Bad directions in the Qualcomm. The management treats the drivers like crap and sees that they get paid crap. No benefits.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Information Technology Group

    Dec 25, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great team to work with Management cares about employees and the future growth of team Learning opportunities encouraged

    Cons

    Small team, frequent on call support

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to work

    Oct 28, 2015 - Fleet Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My fellow fleet managers are always willing to jump in and help regardless of what zip code they are in. Executive leadership looks for high performers and rewards them as well as offers opportunities for personal and career growth. Positive atmosphere. Open door policy with upper management, everyone is friendly and approachable. The culture is infectious and I enjoy every day at work. We meet regularly at our specific terminals to work on ways to get better and help our drivers be more successful. I admire how involved Rick Roehl and all of the upper management is in improving our processes and making changes to promote driver success. No comment or concern ever falls on deaf ears.

    Cons

    There are always ways a company can improve. Nothing major stands out, however if I do have concerns see above open door policy.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Management needs people skills

    Mar 25, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Miles are decent for the most part They try to get you home Drivers are friendly towards other drivers Most trainers are good

    Cons

    Management lies and has excuses Planners do not know how to plan They send you somewhere and then have no load to get out of the area Operations managers think they are kings

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 40 Reviews

Popular Careers with Roehl Transport Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Roehl Transport? Share Your Experiences

or

Roehl Transport Photos

+ Add Photo
Roehl Transport photo of: Sunset shot again
Roehl Transport photo of: We'll Get You There.
Roehl Transport photo of: flatbedders parked with mountains behind them
Roehl Transport photo of: Van parked at Flaming Gorge, UT
Roehl Transport photo of: Flatbed truck at sunset
Roehl Transport photo of: Our drivers are leaders. Our leader is a driver.
Roehl Transport photo of: Throwback Roehl truck with tanker
See All Photos