KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Roehl Transport

Engaged Employer

Roehl Transport

Add a Review

Roehl Transport Employee Reviews about "people"

Updated Jun 14, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 46 of over 415 reviews

3.6
72%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Roehl Transport CEO Rick Roehl
Rick Roehl
245 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "500 a week for cdl training(in 23 reviews)
  • "If you have a good fleet manager you're good to go.(in 15 reviews)
  • "Great Training program.(in 12 reviews)
  • "Safety is HUGE and if you feel driving conditions are unsafe they will not push you to make delivery(in 11 reviews)
  • "The good people that work there are great.(in 10 reviews)
Cons
  • "Low pay but to be expected for a starter company.(in 34 reviews)
  • "Very restrictive, bad communication, maintenance usually sucks, especially at the Gary terminal.(in 8 reviews)
  • "Stressful, high call volume, bad management, just a number(in 7 reviews)
  • "Benefits are 80/20 and expensive.(in 6 reviews)
  • "The same as any over the road driving job; long hours and bad pay for what is demanded of you as a driver.(in 6 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Roehl Transport and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Changing the trucking business

    Oct 22, 2015 - Marketing Manager in Marshfield, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Multiple locations, large company with lots of expertise and success in trucking, continual investments in people (training, seminars, coaching, skills development), equipment, facilities. People care about each other and they care about the company mission. Safety is the cornerstone value, and that permeates the company's culture, which is very positive. I love the energy that many of my teammates have - there's a real sense that we're doing something different in trucking - I think we're giving trucking a new name. That, because we're an industry leader, we're actually shaping how other trucking companies do business. I also really like how, because of my job, I get to be connected with people who are driving all over America. I'm facebook friends with many, many drivers, and I love seeing where they go and what they do. If you're looking for a company that will help you develop, professionally and personally, Roehl's a great choice. If you want to drive a truck for one of the nation's safest carriers, Roehl is for you. If you want to be a part of something special that is built on values, Roehl is for you. Overall, Roehl's an excellent company - in the transportation business and beyond.

    Cons

    In the last three years, because of planful cultural change, team integrations and mutual support and accountability, there's a greater sense of working together toward clearly identified goals. The goals mean more striving to reach them, and that can cause stress. It's refreshing that instead of back-biting, people are looking out for each other. I suppose that it's a testament to the fact that teams are coming together. That's an amazing thing, and in a dynamic business like trucking, pretty rare. Also, there's so much to do that I find it a challenge to balance my work and life - though that's more on my shoulders than the company's.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    A decent Company to work for

    Aug 20, 2016 - OTR Truck Driver in Madison, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Most of the people I interacted with were genuine and cooperative to work with. I always got a fair response when I had to deal with upper management.

    Cons

    A lot of turn over in Fleet Managers, causing the need to renegotiate with each one about prior agreements made. No one seems to take notes for a file or a load as issues arise causing one to have to re-explain issues over with each new person you talk to.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Overall a very good company

    Jun 4, 2012 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I learned A LOT while working here. This was my first job out of college and I really enjoyed it. It was a fast paced environment with a big learning curve. All the people that I worked with were very nice and helped whenever I needed it. My manager was wonderful to work with as well. I felt like whenever I had needs or concerns they were properly addressed and in a timely manner. They paid my expenses for my interview as well as some moving expenses. Very professional.

    Cons

    They had a wage freeze when I was hired in, but I was not told that. I worked very hard for them in the 2 years that I worked there but was never given a raise but they would buy more trucks or land or other things to keep the business growing. The other two managers that were directly above me were horrible and very unprofessional. I feel as though I got lucky with my experience here due to my boss being the better of the three.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Micromanage to dead

    Jan 9, 2015 - OTR Truck Driver - Dry Van National in Charleston, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Their equipment are in good condition. Not having someone over your shoulders while doing your job. The opportunity to travel.

    Cons

    They try to micromanage everything instead of letting professional drivers do our job. If they are wrong they never take responsibility but always places blame on driver. They have no respect for the people who are the life blood of their business.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Terrific Place to Work

    Sep 19, 2019 - Driver Employment Specialist in Marshfield, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I was drawn to this company because it's family owned and has great values. There are many employees who've been here for several years and are really excited and enthusiastic about what they do. I certainly feel as if I'm part of a team here, as I have a lot people I can lean on for advise and support when I need it. I come to work every day and get the opportunity to take to people all over the country and help them find a new career.

    Cons

    Haven't run into any thing negative in my time here.

    1 person found this review helpful

    Roehl Transport Response

    Thanks for the great review. We really appreciate the awesome feedback!

  6. 3.0
    Former Employee

    A very unprofessional place to work.

    Aug 25, 2011 - Fleet Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The drivers were very professional. The co-workers were very friendly.

    Cons

    Upper management were not approachable and appeared to not care about the 'little people'. They were not supported of your homelife.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Good

    Jul 22, 2021 - Broker 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people and place to work

    Cons

    At times undervalued for what you do

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Roehl Transport Response

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate your input!

  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Not what I expected

    Mar 31, 2021 - Truck Driver in Gary, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Training was good theybreally work with you if you are struggling in certain aspects They will give you a trainer possibly 1 on 1 if you really need help with shifting, backing etc

    Cons

    Fleet managers need to be more intune with the people that they are working with.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Roehl Transport Response

    Hello. I’m sorry your experience didn’t match what you were expecting. We have a series of videos that describe the “keys to success” and our program really is designed to help new drivers be successful – because when invest so much in our teammates, we really want you to be thrive! When you were going through our Get Your CDL Program, you had the very best training in trucking, and you got paid while you were learning. After you started doing the job, you had a Fleet Training Manager – their jobs are specifically created to work with new-to-driving teammates to help them succeed. Once you had your own Fleet Manager, her or she would have been very willing to work with you to continue to develop your skills. As you noted, your training was really good, and I hope you’ll use that to Drive the Roehl Way.

  9. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Low Pay, Disorganized, Safe*

    Jan 29, 2022 - Class A Cdl Truck Driver in Saint Johns, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They preach safety religiously. Drivers for the most part buy in. The good people that work there are great. And they stand out. New well maintained equipment.

    Cons

    GYCDL program starts at 11 dollars an hour. Wont receive pay until three weeks after start date. GYCDL in Gary Indiana ran by out of touch boomers who don't know how to teach and will openly spew bigotry. A culture of "make stuff up if we don't know the answer" prevails in their GYCDL instructors, Fleet Managers, and Recruiters. Low pay compared to industry standard once you're on the road.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Roehl Transport Response

    First, our on-the-job training program to get a CDL is unlike any other program because drivers are hired on their first day and their job is to get their CDL. Roehl is currently paying $612 a week while training to get a CDL. People can certainly go somewhere else to get a CDL where they wouldn’t be paid and would likely incur truck driving school tuition. If you want to be a successful professional truck driver, there’s no better place than Roehl. Roehl instructors, who are also successful drivers (most of whom are also former trainers) teach the Roehl Way of Protective Driving, the industry’s most advanced safe driving program. In fact, Roehl recently won their 4th ATA President’s Trophy, the industry’s highest safety honor. Roehl’s been training new truck drivers for over 30 years, and we’ve been successful for over 60. We know how to be successful, and more importantly, how to help drivers be successful.

  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good starter company, plenty of room for advancement

    Dec 25, 2011 - Truck Driver in Marshfield, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent home time, good miles, I get between 2200 and 3500 average. overall good people to work for ( if you use your head and dont make stupid mistakes

    Cons

    Need better routes and stop blameing drivers for low fuel mileage( if you send me from NY to Pesecola Fl all the way down through the mountains with 44k...the mileage will be low!

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 46 Reviews

Popular Careers with Roehl Transport Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Roehl Transport? Share Your Experiences

or

Roehl Transport Photos

+ Add Photo
Roehl Transport photo of: Sunset shot again
Roehl Transport photo of: We'll Get You There.
Roehl Transport photo of: flatbedders parked with mountains behind them
Roehl Transport photo of: Van parked at Flaming Gorge, UT
Roehl Transport photo of: Flatbed truck at sunset
Roehl Transport photo of: Our drivers are leaders. Our leader is a driver.
Roehl Transport photo of: Throwback Roehl truck with tanker
See All Photos