Rolls-Royce "working environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Rolls-Royce Employee Reviews about "working environment"

Updated Oct 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
79%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Rolls-Royce CEO Warren East
Warren East
520 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Lack of transparency sometimes from senior management on why decisons are made(in 29 reviews)

  • "Overly complex processes and slow decision making(in 28 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "working environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Mechanical Engineering Co-op"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern in Indianapolis, IN

    I have been working at Rolls-Royce for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent work environment and challenging projects.

    Cons

    Sometimes a lot of down time for an intern.

    Rolls-Royce2017-11-24
  2. "Excellent place to work (for now)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Meteorology Technician in Oakland, CA

    I have been working at Rolls-Royce full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay, excellent benefits, good working environment

    Cons

    Excessive bureaucracy, current company instability, facility closures (including my workplace soon)

    Advice to Management

    Reduce bureaucracy

    Rolls-Royce2019-03-28
  3. "Good place to settle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rolls-Royce full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Rolls-Royce is a fairly relaxed work environment. Most everybody is kind and the company is willing to work with you to to find what you're passionate about

    Cons

    Pay is not the greatest

    Rolls-Royce2019-04-09
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Women need not apply"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supplier Quality in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rolls-Royce full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Agile work environment. Starbucks on site.

    Cons

    Still the good ole boys club.

    Advice to Management

    Most females who endure being paid less than the males and who also receive no respect from their Manager’s are more productive and efficient than male co-workers. Rolls Royce allows talent to walk out the door for this reason. Other companies recognize and compensate females for their contributions. Rolls Royce Indianapolis does not.

    Rolls-Royce2019-03-31
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Summer Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rolls-Royce

    Pros

    agile work environment, flexible working hours, exciting product

    Cons

    high stress product, not a "young atmosphere"

    Advice to Management

    Hard to move quickly in this culture. Very much "you must check these boxes before moving on" rather than how well you do on your job. I believe this is an HR problem rather than management problem.

    Rolls-Royce2017-10-16
  6. "Manufacturing engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rolls-Royce full-time

    Pros

    Nice colleague and fantastic working environment

    Cons

    Uncompetitive salary and it's difficult to have the opportunity to develop career

    Rolls-Royce2017-02-13
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Small office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rolls-Royce

    Pros

    Small office, intimidate work environment.

    Cons

    Small office, low pay, limited growth.

    Rolls-Royce2016-09-29
  8. "Design Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Engineer in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rolls-Royce full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Relaxed work environment, Good benefits package, and no layoffs.

    Cons

    No room for advancement,No diversity , and process heavy.

    Rolls-Royce2016-09-01
  9. "Project Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Project Engineer in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rolls-Royce

    Pros

    Nice bosses and employees. Good work environment and facilities. Good cafeteria. Access to company info and data is quick and easy. Company seemed involved and caring concerning employees happiness.

    Cons

    Lots of bureaucracy. Dealing with the headquarters in England made for very early morning of late afternoon phone conferences and delays in decision making. Too many layers of decision-making.

    Advice to Management

    Give more autonomy to the Indy operations and engineering.

    Rolls-Royce2016-07-18
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Summer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Management Intern in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Rolls-Royce for less than a year

    Pros

    Comfortable work environment and good work life balance. I wasn't dragging work home with me after the work day was done.

    Cons

    Slow moving, no agility, a lot of micromanaging. Takes ages to get anything done because of the hoops to jump through.

    Advice to Management

    Let your midlevel managers make decisions without having to question everything they do since you promoted them to that level. If they don't pan out then move on with someone else.

    Rolls-Royce2016-04-21
Found 80 reviews