Ronald McDonald House Reviews | Glassdoor

Ronald McDonald House Reviews

Updated Jun 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 147 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Marty Coyne Jr.
42 Ratings
Pros
  • "Helping families during a stressful time by providing a place to stay, hot meals and a loving staff(in 11 reviews)

  • "Positive work environment, enjoyed working on the online auction, dogs in the workplace are always a plus(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "No room for growth even with expanding business(in 7 reviews)

  • "Pay not the greatest, Hard to get on 1st shift full time(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Night Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ronald McDonald House part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent mission to serve people

    Cons

    Great company to work for

    Advice to Management

    None

    Ronald McDonald House2019-04-06
  2. "Not a place you'd work long time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Service Agent in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ronald McDonald House part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Met some great families

    Cons

    Management is awful and they are always short staffed -- if you have an emergency and need a shift covered, no one will help

    Ronald McDonald House2019-06-27
  3. "Amazing Mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I worked at Ronald McDonald House full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great to work for an organization doing such great work for families.

      Cons

      Small staff with high employee retention so there isn’t a lot of room for formal advancement

      Ronald McDonald House2019-04-26
    • "Development Officer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Development Officer in Chattanooga, TN

      I worked at Ronald McDonald House full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I can only speak for my local chapter. I loved working for this organization. Upper management was supportive of my career goals and the work life balance was incredible. I remain close to my former coworkers.

      Cons

      I would have liked to have more feedback on my personal performance and measurable goals.

      Ronald McDonald House2019-04-22
    • "Great work culture - RMHC OR & SW WA\"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Guest Service Coordinator in Portland, OR
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Ronald McDonald House full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      -wonderful PTO package (18 days PTO a year) -I feel supported every day -I leave work feeling like I made a difference in peoples' lives -great advancement opportunities

      Cons

      -Pay is a little bit lower than for-profit companies but the wages are still competitive

      Advice to Management

      -Make sure that workers are taking their breaks ( a lot of people skip their breaks to work harder)

      Ronald McDonald House2019-03-31
    • "Great Team, Great Mission"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - House Manager 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ronald McDonald House full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Amazing experience thanks to a great team, and well established mission

      Cons

      Not very flexible, long hours

      Ronald McDonald House2019-03-23
    • "Misleading management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Guest Service Associate in Denver, CO
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ronald McDonald House part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Helping families of sick children.

      Cons

      Forced to work hours past scheduled shift until relief shows, so etimes being around 12:15am when they should have been there at 11pm. No room for growth even with expanding business. Hours are never certain, always up in the air. Cannot have a second job while working here as staying late has effected other job.

      Advice to Management

      Communicate better with employees. Tell them first if they will be required to stay hours late each week instead of hiding those facts.

      Ronald McDonald House2019-02-28
    • "Great place to work and know you are making a difference in someone's life."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Manager in Indianapolis, IN
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ronald McDonald House full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Helping families during a stressful time by providing a place to stay, hot meals and a loving staff.

      Cons

      Division of offices, location and parking.

      Ronald McDonald House2019-02-25
    • "Great company, great mission."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Guest Relations in Valhalla, NY

      I have been working at Ronald McDonald House part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Amazing team! Loved working here.

      Cons

      Long shifts at times (in bad weather, on holidays).

      Ronald McDonald House2019-02-25
    • "Fun, rewarding; good for college students"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Guest Services Manager in Rogers, AR
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Ronald McDonald House part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Lots of down time, highly rewarding, free snacks

      Cons

      Few hours and no possibility for full time

      Ronald McDonald House2019-02-20
    Found 147 reviews