Roots Canada Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Roots Canada Manager Reviews

Updated Sep 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Roots Canada CEO Jim Gabel (no image)
Jim Gabel
3 Ratings
  1. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay, good benefits and great products

    Cons

    Management doesn't really listen to the field

    Roots Canada2019-09-02
  2. "Great Canadian Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roots Canada full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    flexible, growth opportunities, great employee discount, good benefits,

    Cons

    extremely physical, work evenings, company is going through transitions and could use improvements

    Continue reading
    Roots Canada2019-06-06
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Lots of opportunities to move up, if you put up with a lot."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roots Canada full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good discount. Lots of opportunities to move up if you work hard.

    Cons

    Not enough support from upper management. Company vision unclear, head office often appears disorganized/chaotic. Lack of accountability from head office.

    Continue reading
    Roots Canada2019-04-11
  4. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My training from Roots taught me how to be a good employee and has led to my success later in

    Cons

    Compensation is non-existent. No commission, Team sales objectives are set by head office and are a mess

    Roots Canada2019-03-19
  5. "Messy management experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    50-70% discount of everything without leather bags

    Cons

    No extra training. Always messy.

    Roots Canada2018-10-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Winnipeg, MB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discount was okay. DM was really nice. A few good team members, able to get some results done. Scheduling was good.

    Cons

    Hours of standing around waiting for a customer. Labeled as a number not a human. Having two different brands under one roof is nothing but complicated for both customer and employees. Out of the entire team I worked with, only two members were able to provide a solid work ethic, the rest treated the store as a drama show. Worst retail experience I have ever been apart of.

    Continue reading
    Roots Canada2017-08-09
  7. "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Manager in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roots Canada for more than a year

    Pros

    great management team, nonstressful environmant

    Cons

    room to advance in a smaller market

    Continue reading
    Roots Canada2017-05-07
  8. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Store Manager in West Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great products and Clothing allowance

    Cons

    Management Style is reflective of minor situations

    Continue reading
    Roots Canada2017-04-07
  9. Helpful (2)

    "In with the in crowd"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ecological, humanitarian product production. Some great managers to work with - creative and fun people! Head office people were accessible and cooperative.

    Cons

    Too much unnecessary administrative work gets in the way of doing your job! When your shift is full of having to complete daily "get to know you" staff games and hourly reports, little time is left for actually completing tasks or selling product. Mid-shift staff meetings don't facilitate the workflow - they interrupt it. Cliquey. Through the grapevine, I frequently heard confidential personal information about people who were higher than me - e.g. who at head office was being let go and why, which managers were getting wrote up for what errors, who was having marital problems. I should not be privy to such information. Personnel issues were poorly dealt with. Instead of being confronted and corrected right away, staff members who were problematic or in need of further training were endured then suddenly fired or laid off for unrelated reasons. Attempts to address serious staff issues (employee harassment, assault, illness) were de-escalated and dismissed. Promises made to new staff members upon hiring (eg. bonuses, raises, relocation to a different store after training) were not followed up on, resulting in job dissatisfaction being common and poor retention of good employees. Employees who went "above and beyond" were taken for granted and not offered raises or promotions.

    Continue reading
    Roots Canada2017-02-27
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roots Canada full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Overall the team at Roots is fantastic! The culture and integrity of the company are alive and vibrant among the field leaders. Roots has created a very solid customer base by providing quality products and it shows in the passion customers have when they enter a Roots store.

    Cons

    Within the last few years the leadership at corporate has undergone several changes, somewhat impacting the field.

    Continue reading
    Roots Canada2016-12-01
Found 23 reviews