Roots Canada Retail Sales Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Retail Sales Associate

Roots Canada Retail Sales Associate Reviews

Updated 5 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
Roots Canada CEO Jim Gabel (no image)
Jim Gabel
0 Ratings
  1. "Decent work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Markham, ON

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great experience to learn about Canadian culture

    Cons

    Should focus on providing diversified work-culture.

    Roots Canada2019-09-05
  2. "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Roots Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment, the pay is decent, and benefits are great as well.

    Cons

    Shifts start to die down after Christmas season so don't expect to get the desired hours you want. Also depends on which location you work at.

    Roots Canada2019-08-02
  3. "Easy retail work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
    Recommends

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time

    Pros

    Made some of my best friends there with employees A lot of downtime

    Cons

    Management can be immature at times, I worked at 2 different stores and felt like the managers took my personal life as something they were always entitled too.

    Roots Canada2019-04-07
  4. "USA East Coast Location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Roots Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Team was friendly Laidback environment

    Cons

    Corporate has a lack of vision concerning US locations Products are more expensive than they are worth, making sales targets unrealistic

    Roots Canada2018-11-27
  5. "Management is super friendly."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Banff, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The other employees were extremely nice and patient when I first started. When I applied in-store they asked how much you'd like to get paid and they will normally listen to what you request. An amazing perk to working here is that you get 50% off of clothing and if I can recall correctly 30% off shoes and bags (but don't take my word). They were fairly good with allowing you vacation time and understood when you... couldn't make it in if you were sick or something had come up. Overall it was a great job to start off with. (Just a side note one of your shifts will consist of learning about their bags, i.e. how they're made, why they are different from other bags on the market, etc.)

    Show More

    Cons

    The main reason I quit was due to the fact that I was working 8-hour shifts both Saturday and Sunday, leaving me no time for myself. Since I am still a student. I asked them once about perhaps changing one of my shifts to the weekdays, however, they said that they really need the help on the weekends. It to a point where it just became too stressful and I was so drained from the Sunday night closing shift, that I... had so little energy for school on Monday. Plus your first shift is just filling out a mountain of paperwork, which isn't that bad but it took forever.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I love this company, the products and the employees are always very welcoming and friendly.

    Roots Canada2018-09-03
  6. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of fun coworkers and customers are generally nice

    Cons

    Not much everything was adequate

    Advice to Management

    Good job

    Roots Canada2018-04-26
  7. "Roots Grandview location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Burnaby, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Their 50% of benefit on clothing, accessories- candy, maple syrup, hats - of 30%

    Cons

    -Unhealthy competition played a huge part. -Tiring setting. I worked for 3 years, the average leaving rate was like 90%. -Favoritism was also involved, managers would neglect the employees that actually work hard to benefit the company. The managers don't watch over each employee. Words for managers basically do a huge part. (they are easily manipulated) - Employees weren't trained at all. Some in that location... speak their own language LOUDLY on a busy floor. - No chance of a better position. - No leadership involved in managements - Many Chinese customers get discriminated including chinese employees - No bonuses

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Dear Head office, Stop hiring managers that are discriminating and naturally shouldn't even be managers in the first place.

    Roots Canada2018-02-14
  8. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Retail Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada

    Pros

    - friendly atmosphere - busy environment - overtime pay

    Cons

    - minimum wage - very early or late shift hours

    Advice to Management

    increase wages or benefits

    Roots Canada2017-02-05
  9. "Great place for students - but not seasonal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive wage, good work environment, great discount (50% off on everything) and products are high quality. I worked at the eaton centre location so it was always busy!

    Cons

    Management sucks - can't take ANY time off in December or they make you resign from the job. The whole month is a "blackout" season

    Advice to Management

    Be more flexible with scheduling

    Roots Canada2016-11-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Disrespect does not get results"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Retail Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Roots Canada

    Pros

    Co-workers were fabulous, met a wide range of customers, discount was good, women's lifestyle product was fun to outfit customers in

    Cons

    Low pay, no career opportunities, lack of hours/not being given any shifts, too aggressive about sales goals opposed to gaining a forever customer

    Advice to Management

    Absolutely ZERO communication amongst management, disorganized with new hires, was given no training on specialty products, was penalized/retaliated against after giving my two weeks notice.

    Roots Canada2016-09-19
Found 11 reviews