Roots Canada Reviews | Glassdoor

Roots Canada Reviews

Updated Aug 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 249 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Jim Gabel
20 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Have to meet sales goals everyday even though you don't receive commission(in 13 reviews)

  • "Lack of accountability from head office(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "I like it but I'm a college student."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Roots Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I get paid $13.50 which is way better than the Virginia minimum wage of 7.50. I get 50% off everything which is great. I work with other college students so it's fun.

    Cons

    There's no benefits for part time workers. We can't use the discount online.

    Roots Canada2019-01-23
  2. "Much Ado about NOTHING"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Roots Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relatively generous pay scale.

    Cons

    Bad management. They MICROMANAGE. An hourly critique of sales per customer, units sold, percentages, etc etc. Quotas are HIGH, goals are unrealistic. You cannot FORCEV a customer to purchase MORE than they like, or can AFFORD, simply to meet your sales goals per hour! It is a stressful and demeaning work structure. You are constantly watched and made to feel like a trained animal performing on demand. How EXCITED can...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    LIGHTEN UP. treat your staff like YOU would like to be treated. Remember that sales associates have feelings too! Goals and figures are important, but so is having a staff that happy and feels useful. Being humble and POSITIVE yields better results than being condescending and abrubt.

    Roots Canada2019-06-03
  3. Helpful (3)

    "This company is sinking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    50% off clothing, 20% off sale.

    Cons

    This company is terribly run. They have been floundering in Canada then were bought out three years ago. They have since moved to the states where they have expanded too quickly with no structure. The upper management is pathetic. They’re communication is reactive at best and aren’t open to hearing employee solutions. DMs don’t communicate enough with store staff. People in shops are stretched thin with no support....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the people in the shops. They have more hands on experience with sales and know what will drive business. Ask them for their help THEN LISTEN.

    Roots Canada2019-01-13
  4. "Worked in one of the U.S Stores. Managers were as flexible as possible with scheduling."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Store Associate 

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Small store, easy to keep organized. Quality merchandise.

    Cons

    Not a big sense of company culture outside the in-store staff.

    Advice to Management

    Be market appropriate. The styles we sold in our store weren't always season or weather appropriate. Also, there wasn't much awareness of the brand in the U.S, so invest in marketing beyond Canada.

    Roots Canada2017-07-11
  5. "Key Holder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Keyholder 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The discount is very rewarding if you are a fan of quality leather bags and leather shoes. Most leather products are made in Canada, which ensures high quality and satisfaction for consumers. There is extreme brand loyalty, which makes meeting sales goals much easier. There are no sales quotas, just goals, which are rewarded when met. There are often weekly incentive programs occurring with generous rewards.

    Cons

    The quality of their clothing has deteriorated a bit, as they began outsourcing their clothing production in recent years. Long-time consumers recognize this deterioration and are very vocal about their distaste. One of the CEOs is a bit difficult to please. Most employees are terrified of him. The other is quite pleasant. Good cop, bad cop type situation.

    Roots Canada2014-03-01
  6. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Team Lead 

    I have been working at Roots Canada part-time

    Pros

    great atmosphere great clothing always a good time

    Cons

    long hours, hard to move up

    Roots Canada2019-08-08
  7. "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Roots Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment, the pay is decent, and benefits are great as well.

    Cons

    Shifts start to die down after Christmas season so don't expect to get the desired hours you want. Also depends on which location you work at.

    Roots Canada2019-08-02
  8. "Great Coworkers, Great atmosphere, not so amazing upper management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Lead in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You meet a lot of great people who are both coworkers and customers. The brand does the selling for itself and there is no commission based incentives. You get discounts on the comfiest clothing and great leather products.

    Cons

    The power trips are abundant from management. Moving up in the company is almost solely based on who you know/how much they like you vs. actually being good at the job.

    Advice to Management

    Care for your employees, even if they are just 1-2 month seasonal staff.

    Roots Canada2019-07-29
  9. "Amazing company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Brampton, ON

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I really enjoyed the people I was working with

    Cons

    People steal very often and sales targets are very high

    Roots Canada2019-07-22
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Not a bad job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Team Lead 

    I worked at Roots Canada full-time

    Pros

    Solid structure, there's specific outlines for everything

    Cons

    Management can be a bit biased

    Roots Canada2019-07-08
Found 249 reviews