Roots Canada Sales Associate, Cashier Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Sales Associate, Cashier

Roots Canada Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 255 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Roots Canada CEO Jim Gabel (no image)
Jim Gabel
21 Ratings
  1. "I like it but I'm a college student."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Roots Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I get paid $13.50 which is way better than the Virginia minimum wage of 7.50. I get 50% off everything which is great. I work with other college students so it's fun.

    Cons

    There's no benefits for part time workers. We can't use the discount online.

    Roots Canada2019-01-23
  2. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay, good benefits and great products

    Cons

    Management doesn't really listen to the field

    Roots Canada2019-09-02
  3. "Great in winter (not so much in summer)."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Washington, DC

    I have been working at Roots Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - 50% discount on all items, including leather goods. - good quality and comfortable clothing

    Cons

    Even with the discount, the clothes are expensive.

    Advice to Management

    Know your market. No one wants to spend $80 on a sweatshirt in the middle of a hot and humid DC summer. Bring more of the "made in Canada" line to the US stores.

    Roots Canada2019-08-22
  4. "Much Ado about NOTHING"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Roots Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relatively generous pay scale.

    Cons

    Bad management. They MICROMANAGE. An hourly critique of sales per customer, units sold, percentages, etc etc. Quotas are HIGH, goals are unrealistic. You cannot FORCEV a customer to purchase MORE than they like, or can AFFORD, simply to meet your sales goals per hour! It is a stressful and demeaning work structure. You are constantly watched and made to feel like a trained animal performing on demand. How EXCITED... can one be over high priced sweat pants and caps? There is an arrogance about The entire tone of the company is that of Arrogance and superiority.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    LIGHTEN UP. treat your staff like YOU would like to be treated. Remember that sales associates have feelings too! Goals and figures are important, but so is having a staff that happy and feels useful. Being humble and POSITIVE yields better results than being condescending and abrubt.

    Roots Canada2019-06-03
  5. Helpful (3)

    "This company is sinking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    50% off clothing, 20% off sale.

    Cons

    This company is terribly run. They have been floundering in Canada then were bought out three years ago. They have since moved to the states where they have expanded too quickly with no structure. The upper management is pathetic. They’re communication is reactive at best and aren’t open to hearing employee solutions. DMs don’t communicate enough with store staff. People in shops are stretched thin with no... support. The turn over is incredible. There’s also no brand recognition. Sales are down and sales people are the ones suffering the most. Salaries and hourly ARE NOT competitive. The company takes no responsibility and puts everything on the shoulders of store people, yet they won’t listen to their suggestions. Canada and USA markets are not the same. There needs to be restructuring done to accommodate USA market.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the people in the shops. They have more hands on experience with sales and know what will drive business. Ask them for their help THEN LISTEN.

    Roots Canada2019-01-13
  6. "Worked in one of the U.S Stores. Managers were as flexible as possible with scheduling."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Store Associate 

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Small store, easy to keep organized. Quality merchandise.

    Cons

    Not a big sense of company culture outside the in-store staff.

    Advice to Management

    Be market appropriate. The styles we sold in our store weren't always season or weather appropriate. Also, there wasn't much awareness of the brand in the U.S, so invest in marketing beyond Canada.

    Roots Canada2017-07-11
  7. "Key Holder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Keyholder 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The discount is very rewarding if you are a fan of quality leather bags and leather shoes. Most leather products are made in Canada, which ensures high quality and satisfaction for consumers. There is extreme brand loyalty, which makes meeting sales goals much easier. There are no sales quotas, just goals, which are rewarded when met. There are often weekly incentive programs occurring with generous rewards.

    Cons

    The quality of their clothing has deteriorated a bit, as they began outsourcing their clothing production in recent years. Long-time consumers recognize this deterioration and are very vocal about their distaste. One of the CEOs is a bit difficult to please. Most employees are terrified of him. The other is quite pleasant. Good cop, bad cop type situation.

    Roots Canada2014-03-01
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great brand going through exciting change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roots Canada full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company is investing in the infrastructure and stores and e-commerce to set it up for long term growth

    Cons

    It is hectic and processes are still be developed as the company shifts from founder led to a good public company

    Advice to Management

    Talk to the staff as much as possible about the company’s plans and where staff can contribute

    Roots Canada2019-09-09
  9. "OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Roots Canada full-time

    Pros

    it was okay place to work

    Cons

    management was awful, didn't care about employees

    Roots Canada2019-09-19
  10. "Decent work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Markham, ON

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great experience to learn about Canadian culture

    Cons

    Should focus on providing diversified work-culture.

    Roots Canada2019-09-05
Found 255 reviews