Roots Canada Reviews | Glassdoor

Roots Canada Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 255 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Roots Canada CEO Jim Gabel (no image)
Jim Gabel
21 Ratings
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Team Lead 

    I have been working at Roots Canada part-time

    Pros

    great atmosphere great clothing always a good time

    Cons

    long hours, hard to move up

    Roots Canada2019-08-08
  2. "Decent job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time

    Pros

    Good discount and easy job.

    Cons

    Bad management and slow paced.

    Roots Canada2019-08-22
  3. "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Roots Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment, the pay is decent, and benefits are great as well.

    Cons

    Shifts start to die down after Christmas season so don't expect to get the desired hours you want. Also depends on which location you work at.

    Roots Canada2019-08-02
  4. "Great Coworkers, Great atmosphere, not so amazing upper management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Lead in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You meet a lot of great people who are both coworkers and customers. The brand does the selling for itself and there is no commission based incentives. You get discounts on the comfiest clothing and great leather products.

    Cons

    The power trips are abundant from management. Moving up in the company is almost solely based on who you know/how much they like you vs. actually being good at the job.

    Continue reading
    Roots Canada2019-07-29
  5. "Amazing company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Brampton, ON

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I really enjoyed the people I was working with

    Cons

    People steal very often and sales targets are very high

    Roots Canada2019-07-22
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Not a bad job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Team Lead 

    I worked at Roots Canada full-time

    Pros

    Solid structure, there's specific outlines for everything

    Cons

    Management can be a bit biased

    Roots Canada2019-07-08
  7. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coutomer Executive in Canda, Zaire
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roots Canada full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I do like to talk Coutomer to convince, and give good service, where they will be happy,

    Cons

    I have experience is apereal in india

    Continue reading
    Roots Canada2019-06-30
  8. "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Roots Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -flexible, friendly coworkers, fun environment to work in

    Cons

    -we don't have enough hours, less shifts

    Roots Canada2019-06-26
  9. "Great workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roots Canada part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and good staff

    Cons

    Low hours at certain times

    Roots Canada2019-06-15
  10. "Do you think these kind of places ever change?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I did meet a lot of people from around the world, the clothing and products are high quality, so I did feel confident in my sales ability. Regarding what I wrote in the cons, I did meet some amazing people here.

    Cons

    Poisonous work culture. I almost committed suicide when I worked here because of the bullying. This was around 5 years ago and I don't work there anymore, but I still think of those days and how negative it was with the gossip. It did significantly better once some instigators left, but I think part of it was also the pressure that head office puts onto key holders/management or something, because I could see how people who were normal became like different people in this work place. It was my first and only time I experienced workplace bullying outside of high school.

    Continue reading
    Roots Canada2019-07-18
Found 255 reviews