Roots Canada Sales Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

Roots Canada Sales Associate Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Roots Canada CEO Jim Gabel (no image)
Jim Gabel
3 Ratings
  1. "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Roots Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -flexible, friendly coworkers, fun environment to work in

    Cons

    -we don't have enough hours, less shifts

    Roots Canada2019-06-26
  2. "Do you think these kind of places ever change?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I did meet a lot of people from around the world, the clothing and products are high quality, so I did feel confident in my sales ability. Regarding what I wrote in the cons, I did meet some amazing people here.

    Cons

    Poisonous work culture. I almost committed suicide when I worked here because of the bullying. This was around 5 years ago and I don't work there anymore, but I still think of those days and how negative it was with the gossip. It did significantly better once some instigators left, but I think part of it was also the pressure that head office puts onto key holders/management or something, because I could see how... people who were normal became like different people in this work place. It was my first and only time I experienced workplace bullying outside of high school.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't really know what to say, I don't think it's normal what I experienced because I've worked several other jobs and never had this kind of treatment. I feel I can finally leave a review of my experience working for this company now that it has been many years later so I've been more distanced from it. Even though there is/was an employee help line at the store that I was able to use, it's kind of like as useful... as when someone in highschool is being bullied/whispered about/drama and counselors cannot do much to help.

    Show More
    Roots Canada2019-07-18
  3. "Loved it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Niagara Falls, ON

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discounts were an absolute lifesaver

    Cons

    Poor Management at the store level

    Roots Canada2019-06-10
  4. "Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good employee discounts, supporting supervisor

    Cons

    No commission, high employee turnover

    Roots Canada2019-04-22
  5. "Easy retail work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
    Recommends

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time

    Pros

    Made some of my best friends there with employees A lot of downtime

    Cons

    Management can be immature at times, I worked at 2 different stores and felt like the managers took my personal life as something they were always entitled too.

    Roots Canada2019-04-07
  6. "just a great job overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    everyone was so friendly and there was not much internal politics

    Cons

    being on your feet all day

    Roots Canada2019-04-05
  7. "Cool place to work, but manager sets the tone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good discount Positive environment among employees Clear methodology in the way things operate Emphasis on working as a team Found it easy to meet sales goals but was not terrified if I didn't hit my target

    Cons

    Worked at two locations in same district with VERY different managers One was hyper critical and a very poor communicator, I was constantly fearful I would be fired Other was extremely well respected and kind but kept me as a sales associate despite giving me management level responsibility and expecting me to work up to 40 hours as a part-time employee in school

    Advice to Management

    Be honest and realistic with what you expect of employees

    Roots Canada2019-03-12
  8. "Poor Management, Great team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Montreal, QC

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The team is really fun and young which makes going to work very fun. The company does also do a decent amount to train its employees and gives a good discount to employees.

    Cons

    The manager was very disorganized and as a result would make working as a part time employee a nightmare. Would often forget holidays and doesn't allow switching shifts or changing the schedule. I've heard the scheduling is very last minute now. The district manager was a lot older and clearly has stopped caring about her job. People don't get appropriately promoted and there is very little reward.

    Roots Canada2019-02-21
  9. "Part-time Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Roots Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible for those who are working other jobs or occupied with school. Great when working during holiday peak season. Part-time staff are given "full-time" hours and can work as many as 7 days a week. During the period from January to July, business is slow and the staff is given the most of 2 shifts a week which equates to about 10-12 hours.

    Cons

    Need more consistent hours for part-time workers.

    Advice to Management

    Need more consistent hours for part-time workers!!

    Roots Canada2019-02-08
  10. "Seasonal sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Roots Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Chill environment, nice managers, super friendly co-workers

    Cons

    uptight about schedule, manipulative and superficial sales techniques

    Roots Canada2018-11-29
Found 90 reviews