Roots Canada Sales Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

Roots Canada Sales Associate Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Roots Canada CEO Jim Gabel (no image)
Jim Gabel
3 Ratings
  1. "USA East Coast Location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Roots Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Team was friendly Laidback environment

    Cons

    Corporate has a lack of vision concerning US locations Products are more expensive than they are worth, making sales targets unrealistic

    Roots Canada2018-11-27
  2. "Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Yorkville, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roots Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Good management, flexible schedule, professional work environment

    Cons

    -Constant corporate changes, slow growth opportunities

    Advice to Management

    -Allow all employees to grow

    Roots Canada2018-10-29
  3. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Regina, SK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Roots Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Clean and professional company that is very good to work for.

    Cons

    Working with customers is not for everyone.

    Roots Canada2018-09-26
  4. Helpful (4)

    "POOR working enviroment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    they have good discount which helps you with the dress code since you have to wear there expensive clothing

    Cons

    management is a mess no room for growth unless they're kind of racist (at least my location was) very high sales goal and nooo commission strict dress code

    Advice to Management

    listen to what your employees have to say. happy employees create a happy work environment which in the long run attracts more sales

    Roots Canada2018-09-22
  5. "Management is super friendly."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Banff, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The other employees were extremely nice and patient when I first started. When I applied in-store they asked how much you'd like to get paid and they will normally listen to what you request. An amazing perk to working here is that you get 50% off of clothing and if I can recall correctly 30% off shoes and bags (but don't take my word). They were fairly good with allowing you vacation time and understood when you... couldn't make it in if you were sick or something had come up. Overall it was a great job to start off with. (Just a side note one of your shifts will consist of learning about their bags, i.e. how they're made, why they are different from other bags on the market, etc.)

    Show More

    Cons

    The main reason I quit was due to the fact that I was working 8-hour shifts both Saturday and Sunday, leaving me no time for myself. Since I am still a student. I asked them once about perhaps changing one of my shifts to the weekdays, however, they said that they really need the help on the weekends. It to a point where it just became too stressful and I was so drained from the Sunday night closing shift, that I... had so little energy for school on Monday. Plus your first shift is just filling out a mountain of paperwork, which isn't that bad but it took forever.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I love this company, the products and the employees are always very welcoming and friendly.

    Roots Canada2018-09-03
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great hours amazing employee discount Awesome management team friendly coworkers The sales isn't terribly competitive

    Cons

    Sometimes the scheduling isn't consistent

    Advice to Management

    I hope they revamp some of their clothing designs.

    Roots Canada2018-06-14
  7. "Wonderful company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Halifax, NS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roots Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Roots is a great company. The staff are treated well and often known personally by corporate employees - The discount is awesome, and you get extra discounts during a lot of events. - The product is really well made. A lot is made in Canada, and the factories used for outsourcing are heavily regulated. - Obviously location dependent, but the staff is like family! I've never been closer to a group of co-workers... in my life, management included.

    Show More

    Cons

    - It's not a good first retail job. You're expected to maintain displays of expensive clothing, so the standard for folding is really high (which is a good thing, just maybe not for somebody without experience!) - It can be intimidating to sell $300+ bags and $500+ jackets. You're expected to know a lot and be able to talk to customers about it. - The hours are minimal from January until July, and pretty low... again during September.

    Show More
    Roots Canada2018-06-13
  8. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Oakville, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Roots Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discount they give is 50% (Both gifts and personal purchases)

    Cons

    Current location has people who freak out over nothing and lets stress get to them.

    Roots Canada2018-05-10
  9. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of fun coworkers and customers are generally nice

    Cons

    Not much everything was adequate

    Advice to Management

    Good job

    Roots Canada2018-04-26
  10. "Honestly not the best place to work at."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Roots Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wage, flexibility, customers, that is pretty much it.

    Cons

    Horrible management, unorganised, all the employees fight and steal for customers. If you don't speak mandarin, do not even bother applying. Managers force you to sell and interfere with customers. I constantly see customers becoming annoyed immediately after 5 employees ask them "Hi, are you looking for anything, have you heard about....". Even as a customer I do not recommend shopping there. So much overtime too..., always got to stay 2 hours after closing.

    Show More
    Roots Canada2018-05-03
Found 90 reviews